We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Barony Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Evans, GA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went to the Marriott Barony Beach Club on a special Time Share Sales deal. We got to spend 3 nights for the cost of under a one night rate. For this rate, we had to give them 90+ minutes of our time. If we didn't already have a time share (with a different company) we would seriously consider a Marriott time share. The properties are always so nice.
The Barony Club is wonderful. The grounds are nice, the pools are nice and the staff are nice. We stayed in the garden side of the resort. Even though it was a longer walk to the beach, I really liked the buildings, pool and grounds around the garden buildings. The main beach front properties are very nice with a heated outdoor pool, a heated indoor pool, shuffle board, corn hole and a pool grill/bar. The resort has activities planned every day for young and old. We were there in April. The temperature was gorgeous. I can't wait to go back. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for joining us in April at Marriott's Barony Beach! We are happy your family enjoyed their time at the resort and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    116
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
222
84
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We are a MVCI owner at Cypress Harbour and exchanged into here for Easter break last week. We ended up in Building 91 (the section behind the Westin). Although our initial reaction to that building assignment was not positive, we could not have been happier in 91 after all.. It actually has a much better open feel to it than the narrow "canyon" that is what the main units are on in the main part of the resort. It's actually sunny in the courtyard in the afternoon versus what is almost day-long shade on the main courtyard. The advertising pictures are a bit deceiving that show the beach views; and the resort does have a goofy layout with the Westin in the middle of the two sections of the property.... however....having said this...make no mistake, this is a First Class MVCI location, with especially outstanding bar staff at All Yall's beach bar and grill ..kudos especially to Courtney, Todd, and Megan.. they are a great team.

Front office staffers Alex and Brian also bent over backwards to address the poor Wi Fi performance in Buliding 91, which frankly was the result of a bad design by their internet provider Hargray... Hargray techie came out to my unit, but not much they could have done due to bad radio placement, so if you need Wi-Fi in Building 91, bring your own My-Fi hotspot unit or do your computer/tablet work outdoors in the courtyard.

All amenities were in tip-top shape and all of the maintenance was up-to-date. All staff members were very friendly. Plenty of lounge chairs at the pool, some with canvas sun shades... rental chairs and umbrellas on the beach were a bit pricey, but that's not under Marriott's control. Barony also has several rental beach cabanas in front of the main pool area that grant you a 10% discount at the beach bar, so it's a great value..just remember to book exactly 24 hours before to snag one.. they go fast.

Interval International Rep on-site was also very helpful with a tipsheet on II exchanges, so pay attention to the weekly schedule when she's on-site if you have any questions or issues with Interval.

Could not have asked for anything more from Barony Beach and their great staff.. We will submit for another exchange into there in the very near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's Barony Beach! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us including the spacious villa and All Y'alls Grill! It is also great to hear your kind words for so many associates who assisted you during your stay. We hope you will return soon and thank you for your TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kutztown
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We came here with family. It has everything. Beautiful beach, pools- great courtyard to see when sitting on terrace. We will return in the future. Suites are great- kitchen-dining area LR area 2 baths,2Bdrms. Check out their website.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We are glad to hear your family had a great time at Marriott's Barony Beach! Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We always enjoy the Marriott Vacation Clubs and the Barony Beach met our expectations. Although we were a party of 4 adults, we noticed how much fun young families with young kids enjoy the facilities. Although the pools are somewhat geared for kids, adults enjoyed the atmosphere as well. The Barony Beach is a little far from Sea Pines (if that's what you want), the location is quiet and away from the crowds on the island.

Room Tip: The "Beach Club" as opposed to the "Garden Club" are closer to the main pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review John! We are happy to hear your party enjoyed the pools and activities at Marriott's Barony Beach. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is the 8th time I've been back to Barony Beach and in most ways, it is a stellar resort. The beach is footsteps away for walking, swimming, biking or just enjoying the view. Some positive changes: There is now a small restaurant down by the pool (instead of the hamburger shack) which serves up our favorite frozen drinks. They have also really upped their game for activities at the resort, especially for kids. There is now a firepit and they have upgraded their barbecue facilities. The suites haven't changed much, but the furniture is starting to show some wear. (We understand there will be a huge retrofit next year for the interiors of the units.)

The not so good changes: They have now packed in so many beach chairs around all the pool areas you can barely move. Maybe during the summer this is necessary, but it felt very cramped. I'm not sure what happened to their internet, but it is painfully slow (reminiscent of dial-up days) If you need to skype into a business meeting, be prepared for technical difficulties. I know I should be vacationing while I'm here, but I need an hour or so a day when I know I can reliably connect back in, and the internet was only reliable at about 2 AM.

Room Tip: We bought in for oceanfront, which is lovely, but unless you bought in or traded in for ocean front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club! It is great to hear this is your eighth visit with us in Hilton Head Island! Your feedback about the pool chairs is appreciated and will be shared with the recreation team The resort is also working on upgrading the internet in the near future to keep up with our guest's needs. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your ninth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Spent three nights here recently. Staff was super, super helpful in getting golf and hotel reservations, and taking care of every need. The location is good and close to the beach, although we didn't have much beach weather. Amenities are somewhat limited, but with so much to do on the island, it was no matter. Plenty of pools and a nice lockeroom facilities which can come in handy. The suites were spacious and comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen. I would certainly return here when visiting Hilton Head.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, restaurant, and lobby, ask for the beach side. If you want th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the great TripAdvisor review Frank! We look forward to your next stay with us at Marriott's Barony Beach Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Barony Beach Club and are big Marriott fans. The two bedroom suite was large, clean, and exceptional. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and clean. Our room was cleaned daily, but very late in the day. We were disappointed to receive a room in a distant building separated by the Weston resort. The Westin resort sits between two sides of the resort. The distant 9100 and 9200 buildings overlook a very fun kid's pool area. We did have some pool noise late one night from a party group, but it was not a problem. Unfortunately, it rained most of our vacation. The heated pool near the main building was not very warm. The indoor pool is small and nothing special, but the kids enjoyed the basketball hoop. The hours for the kids' pool slide this time of year are very limited (noon to 3:00 PM). The beach, although we could not go due to the rain, is very wide and looked clean and nice. The pictures on TripAdvisor make the resort grounds seem bigger and better than it actually appears. I expected much more from the grounds based on the images (think Hawaii... not). Parking is convenient and located under each building (nice with all the rain), but parking a large SUV was a hassle some nights due to limited large spaces and poles. Tennis is an extra fee. Bikes can be rented for a fee. The first night, I regret the resort staff accused us of not returning a DVD we never rented and left messages and charged the DVD to the room (and it appeared as a 0 charge on our final bill after we were told it was removed completely). Subsequently, a bar charge we never made was approved to my credit card by the hotel. I was told that was only an authorization and the front office staff was not very nice about it; we never visited the bar during our stay and we were actually at Harbortown all day. The bar charge did not appear on my final bill. I was upset to see the DVD rental appear on the bill, but it was a zero charge. I'm not sure we will return and may try another Marriott on the island next time.

Room Tip: If you have young kids, as for a room around the Kids' pool (9100 or 9200 buildings). For best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Bill! While it is great your family had an enjoyable experience, we apologize for the few problems that took away from your visit. Your feedback regarding the charges will be shared with the front office team as this is not a normal occurrence. Please feel free to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384 should you need additional assistance with your invoice. Thank you again for your TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Barony Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.