We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Barony Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Westfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff, well maintained rooms and grounds! We return here every year because of the wonderful Barony! Love the fairly recent additions of the water park and upgraded poolside bar/restaurant and the freshly redone boardwalks. Enjoyable and very family friendly, we also enjoy the many activities for all ages. We missed the marketplace this year but the new kids activity room will be great!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club! We too can't wait for the new activities center to debut at the resort. It is our pleasure to be your home away from home and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    134
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
253
104
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, TN
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hadn't been back to Barony in a couple of years and have just been reminded why we fell in love with the place initially. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but the amenities in and around the property are wonderful. A couple of beautiful days at the beach just out the back door--improved pools all over the property...soothing hot tubs and courtyard games to pass the time.
JUST COMFORTABLE!

Room Tip: Ocean view in the two back buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are glad to hear you decided to visit again! Our team appreciates your five-star TripAdvisor review and hope you can return soon to Marriott's Barony Beach Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel was great the room was spotless and comfortable. Parking was a little difficult at night but nothing major. We had one night where power was reduced in the rooms due to a blown fure or small fire we never got the full details but we saw fire trucks outside of our building. Afterwards everything was up and running in a couple of hours which was not bad for a property this size. Overall we were extremely pleased and would like to visit this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for the great review Jesse! We are happy you enjoyed your villa while visiting the resort and hope you will join us again soon at Marriott's Barony Beach Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Mariott's Barony Beach located at the "heal" of the island is a great location right on the beach next door to the Westin Hotel.
Great 2 BR condos with the great service you come to expect from Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of your recent stay! We can't wait to host you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Barony Beach Club is an amazing resort that knows how to treat their guests. Every staff member we encountered, from the security guard when checking in to ground crew were professional, pleasant an helpful. The front desk staff was terrific when checking in and also when we stopped there with question when we went to the gym. The gym is well appointed and the locker rooms were great and have a sauna and steam room.

The grounds are meticulously maintained and you can hear light music throughout the day from speakers throughout the property. Many sitting areas outside along with games and grills.It was to cold for the pool but they looked clean and tempting.

The rooms were similar to other Marriot time shares. This is a good thing as they are large, clean and well equipped. The jet tub is always appreciated and kitchen is well stocked.

Location can't be beat. Right on the beach. Walk by the pool, through the gate and you are on sand. Can't ask for more than that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club! As a loyal Tripadvisor contributor, your comments mean a lot to our team. We hope you can visit us again soon on your next trip to Hilton Head Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The grounds are nice, clean and decorated. However, access to the ocean was through a questionable back road around another resort. The two bedroom suite was nice, but nothing impressive. The rooms and grounds at marriott surfwatch just have a nice step up from this location. We still were not right on the beach at surfwatch, so it was not about the location, just more about the access.
The pool at Barony was not as nice as Surfwatch either. The Barony indoor pool is right off the check in area with glass windows looking in and eating or sitting areas all around the outside and inside of the pool area. It feels like you are swimming on tv for everyone to see.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Barony Beach Club. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations on your most recent stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you can visit any one of the Marriott Vacation Club resorts on your next vacation in Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The pros and cons of over stay.

Pros:
1. The desk staff was very polite and very professional.
2. The facilities were well maintained; it was a wonderful location to have a great vacation, with many things to do even on a rainy day!
3. The beach front property was definitely a plus! Also, the gymnasium, the pools, the fire pits, the on-site spa and restaurant were marvelously done and exceeded our needs!

Cons:
1. Our personal concierge did not meet our needs. We called our personal concierge several times to no avail. We were unable to take golfing lessons or dine at a five star restaurant; but the on-site concierge did send us to a two star jazz dinner club (Ruby Lee); good music and a good server, but everything else was marginal. Very poor seating arrangements; as ministers we didn't appreciate having to sit at the bar the entire time when we made a reservation for a table for two.
2. The wireless internet at Barony took over five minutes to connect and disconnected within five minutes throughout our stay (an internet specialist was assigned to our case but they never correct the problems). Because of the internet problems I was unable to complete an internet assignment.
3. We requested a beachfront room and/or a room in any building on the 4th or 5th floor and we were booked into a disappointing room on the second floor in a corner unit.
4. There is a lack of security on the property. The gate guards were absent on most days and the garden front/courtyard rooms had an open gate policy without guards the entire stay.

Rev. Dr. M. M. McPhearson

Room Tip: If you stay at this property, make sure you book directly with Marriott for a better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Barony Beach Club! While we are happy you had a great vacation, our team apologizes for the problems that took away from your stay. Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate areas so we may address the issues accordingly. We hope you can visit us again on your next trip to Hilton Head Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Barony Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.