We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Villas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Barony Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Garden Villas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in the garden villas which are not directly on the ocean but tucked behind the Westin next door. Both buildings, Jasmine (slightly closer to the main building) and Gardenia, face a nice pool area with waterslide, splash pad, pool, and hot tub. There is a recreation area with games, TVs, and grills. Bikes could be rented for $15/day or $30/week. The villas are spacious, clean, and modern. The walk to the beach was 5-10 minutes and they had a golf cart shuttle that came by regularly. There are additional pools and an outdoor restaurant by the oceanfront buildings. There is an indoor pool, spa, and market there too. Although I missed not having an oceanfront view, I would stay in the garden villas again.

Room Tip: The Jasmine building is closer to the beach than the Gardenia building. Both have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    130
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
246
100
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our second year that we have stayed at this location. We spent an entire week here. As a timeshare owner at this location we were guaranteed the ocean front two bedroom villa. These villas seem hard to get if you are not an owner. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and come with a full kitchen, dining table, whirlpool tub, washer and dryer and separate shower room.
The Barony has 3 outdoor pools and 1 indoor pool. Also 4 hot tubs.
Onsite is a pool/ bar with good choice of food choices, kids menu, Sunday brunch, and daily food specials. Oh and Tons of cocktail options! Also onsite is a marketplace and full spa that caters to adults and kids.
Activities are different everyday and include workout classes, kids crafts, slip and slide, magic, movies. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Starting summer at Barony Beach resort with the family, perfect! We come a couple times a year and always say the same thing, "this place is perfect". We have been here a week, leaving tomorrow and have only been off campus to get groceries and to dinner once.

There are planned activities that we somewhat take advantage of, it's always great to know there is something going on. The pools are great and now they have handicapped lifts. My daughter is in a wheelchair and this really makes getting her in and out of the pools and hot tubs very easy!! They also have a beach wheelchair that you can use at no charge. Whoever decided to add that to the list, thank you!

The rooms are great - all two bedrooms, two bath, plenty of room, there is even a fold out couch. The kitchen is good sized and well stocked. Fantastic porch - we spent a lot of time there. Love the outdoor grills and cover area. It makes it very easy to eat in.

The staff is very friendly and very helpful. The grounds are always beautiful. Great gym and spa, nice restaurant, perfect beach view, from main pool and hot tub, this place has everything we look for in a family resort.

My wife and I come here sometimes by ourselves and it's great for couples too, better in the off season. There are a ton of kids in the main pool, but that's how it is in season.

We have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view, we get beach view in the off season, but the garden view is beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Like Dewel L, we got put in the back of the property because this isn't our "home" property. But we found the area well landscaped and didn't mind the walk to the beach at all. The noise of the gardners in the morning was a drag....for the amount of good those blowers do, they could do just as well with rakes. Our place was comfortable and appointed well enough for our needs. We didn't really spend all that much time indoors. It's a lovely beach and the staff was very pleasant. It's hard not to compare it to your own "home" property when you probably get better accomodations but I think this was a really good place for families, especially with little ones.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hilton head is marvelous and staying at Marriott's Barony makes it perfect. On the ocean with beautiful pools and landscaping it is a vacation delight. Golf is close and the weather was great. Highly recommended for families or couples

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been a Marriott owner for over a decade and have never been upset with our accomodations until now. This is the strangest layout of a property I have ever seen. We asked for oceanfront but those go to the owners there which I understand. What I do not understand is how they could build the "Garden Villas" BEHIND the Westin Hotel? In those buildings you have a view of the kid theme pool and the front of the Westin Hotel. To get to the beach you have to walk around the building, across the road that goes into the Westin, and then all the way through the main Barony property. P.S. the "Beach Club" there is the OFFICE, sounds nice but there in no beach club there.
In addition to that when we checked in it smelled of mold. I found a very wet spot in the carpet and it turns out that the dishwasher had been leaking for who knows how long. They came and fixed the leak but did not offer to move us to another unit and instead we were left with a blower trying to dry out the carpet.
The sheets are cheap, the towels are cheap, and the entire unit needs updating which is strange because they told us they just went through a major renovation.
Only one small pool is heated? Why would you have 3 pools and only heat 1?
You will also have the pleasure of leaf blowers every morning from about 8 - 9 not to mention the cars and trucks going into the Westin.
If you have a Marriott ownership DO NOT request this place. Pick another Marriott on HHI.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As Marriott owners of four Aruba timeshares, we exchanged a week with Interval International for the Barony. Very smart. We were contacted by the concierge, Debra Bell, a couple weeks prior to our arrival. She is a gem. As we are here for our anniversary, she. Told us to contact the front desk for an oceanfront villa. We called and were told that oceanfront villas are few and usually reserved by owners. Much to out delight we were given an oceanfront. The resort is great. The villas are clean as a pin and spacious. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. As an example, we brought bikes but forgot locks. I asked the front desk and said to see Amos who gave us a lock. Indoor heated and outdoor heated pool and cold pools too. We will be back, Barony, hopefully more than once. BTW, Hilton Head Island has no neon lights and a ton go bike trails. Make sure you have a GPS as all stores are hidden by lots of trees.

Room Tip: As the grounds are beautiful any villa would be a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Barony Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.