We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Barony Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxing vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful trip to the Barony Beach! We stayed at the Mariott Monarch last time and there was no comparison. The Barony is much nicer. The location in the Port Royal Plantation is even more convenient than Sea Pines. It is right on the beach, even the far buildings aren't that far. The biggest problem was the construction at the Westin if you were in those garden buildings. It was pretty chilly all week, so we didn't use the pools, but they were perfect family pools. Zero depth, fountains.. The heated pool was closed the first couple of days, but then reopened. There were 3 hot tubs close to us and our teen kids used them all. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The marketplace had snacks, drinks and Pizza Hut. Prices were reasonable We had lunch at the outdoor Y'all Grill a couple of times. Very good and not too expensive. They had a lot of activities to choose from for all ages. Of course renting bikes was the best one of all. Our young adults enjoyed the tour of the island that Miss Nettie put on. The only slight negative, was the smell in our room. We tried to air it out as often as we could. Must be the dampness from the ocean. Overall, a perfect trip.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view! If they can, you will get it. Three people said we probably would not be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    125
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
240
94
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This timeshare resort lives up to Marriott's overall standards. Check in was smooth and staff was friendly and helpful. Indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs were clean and well placed though indoor pool was viewable from the lobby so not so private. Rooms were well kept and well provisioned. The resort charges for towel changes and there was no midweek cleaning. No ice machines for extra ice. Landscapes were nice. Beach was sandy and pleasant with easy access and great for strolling or jogs. Beach bar had good food and prices did not seem unreasonable with specials all through the week. Lots of activities were available and well run. We especially liked the chili cookoff. Good location near shopping and golf. Grocery stores nearby. Several grills are available and easy to use.

Room Tip: beach front is best but garden views are fine. ask the resort if any construction is planned during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

So why do you close the heated pool for maintenance? In March if you run Barony Beach! With ocean water so warm in July and August, you need to be sure you have the heated pool ready to offer as an alternative then. Two mornings of our three night stay, the eager housekeeping person cheerily rang to wake us up before 8:30...but than as they say at the beach, "Have a margarita, it's 5:30 somewhere!"

The garden villa's are separated from the main hotel, and all site amenities by construction at the Westin Hotel next door and a maze of jolly chilled kiddy-land water areas, that are so well secured that I had to have a grounds staffer show me how to open the gate. Maybe they will have their act together by high Season, but avoid the property until then

Room Tip: Stay Away from the Garden villas if you want to get to the beach, the indoor pool, the spa, the fitn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Barony is very special to our family. We have a week in the Spring through Marriott Vacation Club, but last year we traded it for a week in August. I was disappointed when we first arrived as I did not realize we would not be at an ocean view property just because we have one during our normal week. Still, our condo was gorgeous (Marriott is under contract to renovate every 2-3 years for the tenants). There are too many activities to name during the summer: limbo contests, hula hooping by the pool, cooking contests, movie nights, teen nights at mini golf, spa discount mornings...we did it all. My children are old enough to hop on the little tram that goes from building to building and go down to the beach or pool. They loved this and it made them feel very independent. This property has a ton of places to grill if you would like to stay in and cook. There are a number of great grocery stores nearby and even some fresh seafood markets to get local shrimp and fish. Hilton Head is perfect any time of year for golf foursomes, families with kids or even couples. We love the Low Country!

Room Tip: Ocean view if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Marriott is always first class and Barony Beach is no exception. Read the other reviews and you will see that they go out of their way to make your vacation memorable. The staff is excellent as are the facilities. The only thing lacking is a beach view, but the grounds are so well laid out that you hardly miss it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is the third time my friends and I have traded into Barony Beach Club. Everytime we were in the Garden Villas area which is better known as the "rejects" area. In the past there has at least been a gate at the back of the pool area to allow guests to cut through the Westin to the beach. That gate now has a really ugly lock on it so now we have to walk a looooonnnnnnggg distance through the main complex to get to the beach. The resort itself is nice the pools and amenities are well done but when you sign up for the Barony BEACH club, you expect to be able to get to the BEACH. One other thing when you get there and sign in get a bag of ice the cleaning staff always empties all the ice in the ice maker between guests. If you smoke the smoking area is almost as far away from the villas as the beach is. If its raining you are gonna get soaked for a few puffs.

Room Tip: Try and contact Marriott and whine and complain until you get a room in the main complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The Garden Villas provide a quality experience that is different from the main resort. Many guests request this area because it is quiet and away from the activity of the other buildings. This area was also recently upgraded to include a new feature pool, slide, kid's splash zone and new outdoor kitchens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We just finished a week at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Our unit was in the Morning Glory building and was oceanfront. Most units at this resort are not oceanfront but face a nicely landscaped area. There are two buildings which are set back about a block from the beach and four buildings which are on the beach. There are indoor and outdoor pools and lots of organized activities. Parking can be tight. Only one car per unit can park under the buildings, others must park outside, a bit further from the buildings. The resort is adjacent to the Westin Resort in the Port Royal area of the island. The units are 2 bedroom/2 bath with a king bed in the master and 2 queen beds in the second bedroom. There is a fully equipped kitchen and a washer/dryer. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront since most units are not oceanfront. Units in the "Garden Buildings" ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Barony Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.