We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort - I would definitely recommend it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Barony Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #7 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
UNIONTOWN, OH
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great resort - I would definitely recommend it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first stay at a Marriott resort and we loved it! We found the rental on RedWeek.com which was the first time that we have used this website. The resort is oceanfront but they do have a couple of buildings that are adjacent to the property that are not ocean front and I personally would not want to stay there. It would be quite a distance to walk to the beach and I don't think you would really feel like you were part of the resort. We had an ocean view with an extended balcony on the 3rd floor of one of the ocean front buildings. The unit had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It was a fairly large unit and was very nicely furnished. The unit was clean as well as the property. The resort offered many activities. The resort had a workout room and a spa.They had several pools and a restaurant at the pool. They even had live entertainment at the pool a couple of days. We did not try the restaurant. We visited another Marriott resort a mile down the beach and found that they had a long boardwalk to get to the beach. Our resort was much closer. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The 2 buildings ocean front are the best. I would avoid the buildings that are adjacent to the prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    113
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
209
83
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We exchanged a high end, ocean view unit from Newport Beach for the Barony Beach Club and were initially disappointed that we wouldn't be in one of the oceanfront buildings. We were told that the owners of the units in those buildings use those units themselves and they aren't available for other guests. We were given a 4th floor unit in the Gardenia building in the garden villas and couldn't be happier. We are overlooking the beautiful waterpark-like pool area. It's November and it's quiet. I imagine in the summer it is very noisy with kids filling up the pool. The entire landscaping is beautiful with a nice fire pit area and great area for grilling with new gas grills. You can sit in front of the outdoor fireplace and watch one of two flat screen TVs while your dinner is on the grill if you like. It is an easy walk to the beach but may be more of a challenge with small kids. We plan on returning to vacation here again and will definitely choose the Barony Beach Club.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Check in was a breeze and our room was ready early. Very spacious and clean, with all the conveniences of home ... including some little things that other resorts don't provide ... laundry basket and detergent, scrub sponge, and coffee filters to name a few. A couple of hours after our arrival, when we returned to our room, we noticed a huge leak in the master bathroom. Water was pouring out of the overhead light and the floor was flooded. We called the front desk and they were already notified by the guest above that there was a problem. They arrived at our room quickly and diagnosed the problem .... however, we were notified that we would have to move to another room. They apologized for the inconvenience and had a gift basket waiting in our new location. I truly appreciated that they recognized our frustration after a long day and handled our having to move with professionalism and courtesy! We stayed in the Jasmine building which is located in the gardens section. There is a bit of a hike to the beach, but truly not a big deal ... it's good exercise and a pleasant walk along the path. And I guess there is usually some sort of resort transportation to take you to the beach, but it apparently doesn't run after Labor Day. The grounds were well maintained and plenty of parking was always available, both in the garage and outside. They are centrally located to pretty much anything on the island. Lots of restaurants to choose from ... never had a bad meal at any of the ones we chose! (Loved the Crazy Crab, British Open Pub, and Bullies) Plenty of activities scheduled each day for both kids and adults. Enjoyed our visit to Hilton Head, and would definitely stay at Barony Beach Club again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The villas are average and the fitness center is pathetic . Much of the aerobic equipment did not work. Also, you get virtually no cell reception in the villas. One of the hot-tubs worked and the other one was out of service. Check-in was understaffed. The location is a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family and I recently returned from a stay at Barony Beach Club. We were only there for three nights, so we certainly did not get to experience everything the resort had to offer, so this review will reflect that.

Check-in was a breeze as we were checked in within 10 minutes arriving and we arrived at 12:45pm, so we were there well before check-in time.

The villa was spacious, nicely appointed and very clean. I will say that the villa is showing some age, especially with regard to the bathroom vanities. Overall, the villa was very comfortable and clean though.

The grounds were immaculately kept. They were doing some renovations to the grounds, but it did not negatively affect our visit at all. The pools were great, however, only two pools were heated (the indoor and the older pool near the indoor pool facility). I must say that this was a disappointment because the other two outdoor pools were mush nicer. The new pool facility near the back of the resort was wonderful. I would compare it to the Woodsy Pool area at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas where we own. There was also a very nice gilling area with TVs and ping-pong tables, etc. near the new pool. It was spectacular!

The MarketPlace was nice, but lacked the selection of some of the other MarketPlaces I have seen.

The beack was wonderful and not crowded. The staff was great and very friendly.

Overall, Barony was very nice. I would say that some minor updates to the property are needed, but that certainly should not deter anyone from visiting this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here during the fall while my husband and brother played an amateur golf event. Although it is a Marriott property, it is not a hotel, but privately owned 2-bedroom condos managed by Marriott. The set up is sort of strange, as there are six buildings: two ocean front, two directly behind them, and two more across the street (about a 5-minute walk from the beach).

Although the resort was largely empty when we were there, b/c I used a AAA rate, Marriott insisted on putting us in the back buildings, and in the unit the farthest from the beach at that. It seemed ridiculous, especially when my sister-in-law and I were hoofing to the beach with a 1-year-old, 3-year-old, and two 6-year-old kids!

The resort was somewhat pricey for what it was, considering the season (fall). Our unit was clean and well-maintained. The master bedroom had a comfortable king bed and the second bedroom had two queens. There was a small full kitchen with solid-surface countertops and an electric range and dining table and living area with couch, two chairs, and a flat-screen TV. Both bathrooms had full jetted tubs, but we didn't use them due to the abundance of hot tubs on the property. We had a large balcony that overlooked a pool. Even though they were condos, we had daily made service, like a hotel. They did an OK job but took a really long time.

The resort has four pools - the indoor pool and the small outdoor pool directly across from it are heated. There are two beautiful outdoor pools that are huge and not heated as well. One is next to the beach, and the other is designed for kids with a seasonal waterslide behind the back units. They were beautiful but too cold to use during October. There were hot tubs scattered about the property.

There was a marketplace that was sort of like a Zippy Mart, where you can buy Pizza Hut Pizza, Starbucks, vending foods, etc., but the hours weren't great and they charged typical hotel prices. There was also a pool bar that was open until 8 off season. The bartenders were both very nice and made great drinks for the adults and kids. However, the food was monotonous and really sucked. Typical bar food. The kids meals came in sand buckets, which was cute, but the kids were not impressed. For the money, really not worth it. However, given the long walk back to our unit, we ate there quite a bit. Probably should have walked over to the nearby Weston for one meal.

The main portion of the resort was ocean front. The beach was nice with a lot of natural grasses and low wave action - not much beach during high tide. Water was cold but tolerable to wade in.

The Marriott rented crappy chairs at the bar for $5/day, but to get a chair with an umbrella you have to rent from the Weston (in between the two sections of the Marriott - very weird layout) for $11/day and you can't charge to your room (I hate taking cash to the beach).

The property also featured a spa but I didn't have a chance to use it.

Of course, this being a condo resort, we received a call from a person claiming to be our "personal concierge." I asked her for restaurant recommendations but there was no follow up. My suspicion is that the "concierge" is really just a condo sales person. Her main question was would we like a $250 credit in exchange for going to a seminar about resort ownership. After I turned that offer down, there was absolutely no follow up regarding my question or during our stay.

So all-in-all, this place was OK. Pretty grounds, but pricey for what it was, and just sort of a generally weird vibe. Also, they are very strict about check out - 10 am, which is ridiculous, and when a late check out is requested, they will only give you an extra hour.

I imagine there are better deals in terms of price and amenities to be found on Hilton Head.

Room Tip: Check out the resort map before choosing a building to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent 4 days with friends visiting the Hilton Head/Savannah area. The room was extremely clean. Service was impeccable. The only negative I can say is this property is off the beaten track so if you choose to eat later on the property you need to do it early. Bar food was cut off at 7 and store (pizza, sandwiches, ice cream) closed down at 8. Our first day we actually walked over to Westin to have a meal since we didn't know.

One thing that I'd like to report that I was VERY IMPRESSED by was I inadvertently left my camera behind and they are mailing it to me. Love the honesty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Barony Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.