We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and unwind!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Barony Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and unwind!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you want the flexibility of beach and pool this is it- actually any Marriott resort on the island is good! Bike trails aplenty and lots of eateries close by.

The villa was- as always- lovely and clean! Grilling station by the pool- actually 4 pools on property and the beach was just a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: unless you are an owner expect to stay in the garden villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    134
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
253
105
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We are staying in a two bedroom garden view villa and they are awesome! The place is bigger than our first apartment and is perfect for our family of 5. Having a full sized kitchen with pots and pans has been very helpful! Be warned coffee lovers, you get ONE bag of regular coffee with one small packet of creamer and two sugars to start- the creamer & sugars are in the welcome sign in front of the coffee pot.
We are within walking distance to the beach and right next to a great pool. Everyday they have lots of activities and we don't even feel like we would have to go anywhere to enjoy our time in Hilton Head. The beach has been great with soft sand and fun waves for the kids, they do get a little rough at times but my 13 year old and 4 year old have really enjoyed it. We would love to come back and would recommend Barony Bay to others

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was absolutely more than what I expected! Loved the villa! Very clean two-bedroom, two-full bath villa. Extremely spacious! Equipped with everything a family needs. Kitchen was fully stocked with utensils. My favorite was the master bedroom with the huge jacuzzi tub and separate toilet/shower area. The bedding was top of the linen line! Quite, peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. We stayed for a week and truly enjoyed every aspect. Not one complaint! When you check in you get a list of events that are going on during your stay...not a dull moment. There is something to do every day!....for every age group. Oh! and the Spa! Great friendly and courteous reception upon our arrival. Right on the beach!!!!

Room Tip: A corner villa facing the beach! Superior view of the Atlantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We shared a spacious two bedroom unit at Barony. Nicely kept, plenty of activities, great saltwater pools and accessible grilling stations make for a great time. No kids with us but seems to be a place that families will enjoy too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My family and I stayed 7 days starting Sept 1st 2012. We have 2 children ages 4 and 2. This is a perfect Marriott resort for kids and adults alike. The rooms are spacious, well laid out and very clean. Full kitchen with just about everything you need. 2 full bathrooms with a standup shower and whirlpool tub in one and a standard bathtub in the other. There are 4 "main" buildings and 2 other building set back a little ways from the resort. We stayed in one of the main 4 building up front. The other 2 buildings set back are a decent walk to the beach but hardly unmanageable. I think the preference would be to be in one of the main buildings, but there is a nice kids pool, splash pad and water slide are the 2 garden view buildings. I know a lot of people are upset about being back there, but I would not let that ruin your vacation, hardly that big of a deal unless you were disabled or something and the walk would be tough for you.

Zero entry pool close to the beach access and this was great for our kids. The beach was very typical of all those on Hilton Head. Long stretches of hard packed sand on low tide and less on high tide. The tides are quite impressive here due to the low grade of the beach and if you have never been here, it is really neat to see. Nice little "bar" at the main pool with decent, standard bar/pool food. Not over priced at all but I would not eat there other than a convenience thing. Staff was friendly.

Staff at front desk was friendly and helpful with any needs we had during the stay. There was also a little market place in the clubhouse building. This had a Pizza Hut in it, snacks, ice cream and minor grocery stuff. For all other major needs there is a Bi/Lo(Grocery story in the south) and a Walmart less than 3 miles away.

I do have one complaint about this property though. They have "designated" smoking areas and they have placed them right next to the sidewalk you have to walk to get to the pool from our building. Free world, I get that, I just do not like to have my young kids walk through the smoke on the way to the pool. This is a VERY minor issue, we could have taken a longer way to the pool and avoided this area but that hardly seems fair to ask 2 small kids to do and we would have had to go through parking garage to do so and that also worries me with 2 small kids.

In short, this is a A+ Marriott Timeshare resort that I would recommend to anyone staying in Hilton Head. Before you stay here please know this is a timeshare type property. As with all timeshare properties you do not get daily maid service and all that without paying extra.

If you go, enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Try to get into one of the main 4 buildings, but if you can't don't let it ruin your vacatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our family spent the week at Barony the last week of August and had a pretty enjoyable time. My wife and I have two small children age 3 and 10 mo. and we also took my parents. The complex itself is a little spread out and it can take 5-10 minutes to walk from one end to the other which can be a little bit of a challenge with small children and grandparents. Not a huge deal but something to be mindful of when planning your trip. The two main pools are very nice and the zero entry aspect is ideal for small children. The only slight drawback of the pools is that only the beach side pool is heated. The more kid oriented pool on the garden side of the property is not heated and could be a bit chilly early in the day or if the sun was not out. During our stay there was a bad storm and the property lost power for a couple of hours. We noticed that not all of the emergency lights worked in the walkways and stairwells which was a little disconcerting but the staff brought around flashlights and were very helpful. All in all our experience with the staff was positive, most were friendly and curtious. We would stay again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The employees at Barony Beach were all polite and helpful. Barony Beach is located in the Port Royal Plantation, with a beautiful golf course. The property was manicured and landscaped beautifully. The rooms were spacious and immaculate. The beach was wide, clean and ran for miles in either direction. There are 3 outdoor pools and one indoor pool located off the lobby. There are 4 buildings which are closets to the ocean and offer oceanview and oceanfront locations. The other 2 buildings are separated by the entrance road to the Westin Hotel. We stayed in the Jasmine building on the 3rd floor facing the pool, which was recently reopened with a giant waterslide. The 2 bedroom unit was the largest we've stayed in at a Marriott timeshare, due to the fact that it was not dividable into an efficiency and a 1 bedroom. The smaller room had a king sized bed and the larger 2 doubles. There is room for a roll out bed if needed. The living room has a pull out sofa.
Each room has a flat screen TV and all the units have free wifi, which worked well at times and not perfect at times. There is no wired connection available in the rooms. The lobby has a computer room to print free boarding passes, but charges a per minute fee for internet access, which I found unusual for a Marriott.
The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and utensils, but bring your own salt and pepper. There are several large food stores within a mile of the property as well as a super Walmart, which has a full line of foods.
There is a jitney shuttle which runs daylight hours between the 2 out buildings and the beach buildings. It runs past your pickup about every 5 minutes. There are plenty of lounges by the pools with plenty of umbrellas. They are more in demand at the pool by the beach, but the ones by the "out" buildings were easily available. There are beach chairs and umbrellas available from the beach patrol for $18 from 1-5pm or $32 all day. The Marriott does offer beach chairs for $5/day and we bought a cheap umbrella from Walmart for $8 and left it for the next guests.
There is a snack restaurant by the ocean pool, which serves salads, burgers, etc all day. Pretty good quality at somehwat reasonable prices.
If I went back, I would try and stay in one of the 4 "beach" buildings, but the "out" buildings were not too much of an inconvenience.
All in all, we all enjoyed the week and would go back again.

Room Tip: If you can stay in one of the 4 ocean buildings on the3rd, 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Barony Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.