We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination wedding weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Destination wedding weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'm a start by saying the entire resort staff was very very kind and good a special shout out and thank you to my housekeeper Krishonda. My room was spacious with a slight view of the ocean. I liked it because it was probably quieter than being oceanfront right outside the Tiki hut.

The Tiki Hut had very good live music daily. It is loud it is crowded and it is a local hotspot to go to and to watch volleyball. The room definitely needs an upgrade especially the bathroom and a space where the refrigerator was in was in disrepair. I hear that next spring there will be a renovation to the rooms.The wireless worked very good in the hotel.

Again thank you for a lovely stay in a very friendly staff.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    186
    79
    46
    37
See reviews for
193
211
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I spent 3 days and 2 nights at the Beach House Resort for a quick weekend retreat. The Beach House is a standard hotel that I found to be clean and comfortable with a great staff. My opinion is that it isn't a "resort" in the true sense of things you'd normally find in a resort (e.g. spa). But, this wasn't a deal breaker for me because I'd scheduled a massage at a spa in the area. The hotel does have a nice, resort style pool and poolside bar with live music. In my standard king room, the beds and bedding were of good quality. The mattress type was firm. If you prefer a plush type mattress, this could take some adjusting to. Although clean, I did feel the bathroom could use a refresh. I found the WIFI to be reliable.

What makes this hotel special is the location. It definitely puts the "beach" in beach access. It is right on the beach. Once you exit the rear of the hotel and walk past the pool, you're on the beach. Not only that, it is a 3 minute walk to the shops at Coligny Plaza. There are a ton of quality restaurants and great shopping located at Coligny. When staying at the Beach House Resort, you definitely have no reason to drive as everything is within walking distance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everett, ma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I went to the Beach House to celelebrate our 40th wedding anniversary but were disappointed in the resort. I don't feel it should be called a resort because it really doesn't even have a lobby to sit in. Also beware if you get the oceanfront room because you will not be hearing the sounds of ocean but the music from bar which is right under the oceanfront rooms. I am sure there are people who would love to hear the music from the room so it's really just a matter of preference. The service was nice and the rooms clean. The breakfast buffet is expensive for what you get which is just a little more than the Hampton Inn's free breakfast. Also, our waitress neglected to let us know that you could offer off the menu. I would not go back.

Room Tip: If you like quiet dont get an oceanfront room because of the tiki bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our room was very small and only had one chair so it was hard to relax there. Also hindering relaxation was the water on the bathroom floor that a repairman came to fix three times. Eventually he fixed the toilet with some kind of chemical that immediately gave me a huge headache. At that point, we asked to switch rooms. We did get a bigger room, but the toilet there was a problem too. Although parts of the hotel seemed renovated, the carpets seemed old, worn and not the cleanest. They did give us a free breakfast to make up for the other things, but I will not return.

Room Tip: Ask how many chairs the room has if it's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demorest, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I will lead with the hotel is beautifully decorated and styled. The pool was also very very nice. I loved how the pool area is secured by room key. The bar is in walking distance to the pool and hotel. The live music was nice. The room had a kureig which was nice and an iPhone dock for an older iphone... So we couldn't use it. The room walls were paper thin, and it was literally the loudest housekeeping staff I've ever encountered. It woke me up at 7:15 am, as they were having a conversation with a guest outside my room door. The elevator is sketchy slow. My husband and I left a 10 floor hotel on vacation and stopped here on the way home, and the 10 floor hotel's elevator was no joke 5x's faster. We had to pay a resort fee for pool use, but the pool closed at sunset so we didn't get to use it. Lastly, there was some plumbing issues as our sink was very slow to drain, and (TMI) pee had to be flushed TWICE to go down... The hotel was okay, but I don't see paying the rates they have posted. I'd probably be more upset if I didn't get like half off through hotels.com.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't beat the price this time of the year to be right on the beach too! Rooms comfortable and clean. Everything you need right here to enjoy the sun and surf. We didn't get a room with an ocean view but who stays in their room long with the surf just feet away?

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittny E, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Peg K,

Thanks for the great feedback! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Beach House. I have to agree with you, our location and ocean front views cannot be beat! We definitely look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Brittny, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great relaxing stay here. The staff was very friendly and professional. We arrived three hours early and the receptionist, Fabrianna, was great. She was very professional and accommodating and got us into a room. The tiki bars had live bands everyday and the beach was literally just steps away from the resort. I will definitely be returning to this place.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Resort

Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the top ten family beaches in the country, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina is a quaint resort island only twelve miles long by five miles wide, renowned for sparkling blue water and sandy beaches. What guests seem to enjoy the most about the Beach House Resort is the direct beach access and convenient location on Coligny Beach. In addition to our gorgeous beach front, The Beach House is the only Hilton Head Island hotel within walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, activities, and fun-filled night life located at Coligny Plaza! At The Beach House, you're only steps away from miles of white sandy beaches and blue ocean waters, dozens of championship golf courses, more than 300 tennis courts and 100 miles of bicycle paths. The Beach House is one of the most family-friendly resorts on the island, offering a large kiddi pool with a fountain, and a focus on child entertainment with the seasonal activities. Take time to relax and enjoy our over-sized heated free-form pool and large sun deck packed with a generous amount of lounge chairs where you can bathe in the sun or enjoy the Resort's private beach area with lounge chairs and food and beverage service. Enjoy oceanfront dining at our new restaurant, The Porch, featuring Southern favorites and don't miss our famous Tiki Hut Bar offering live entertainment 365 days per year and volleyball court play viewing on the beach! We also specialize in groups, meetings, banquets and beach wedding events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.