We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great amenities & very accomodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great amenities & very accomodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We booked this hotel for a long weekend so that we could get in one last beach trip before school starts. We were very pleased with our stay. It is an older hotel, but it has been renovated and redecorated. The decor was very cute for a beach front hotel. The rooms were comfortable and clean and I can't say enough nice things about the staff. They were extremely accommodating with our requests for early check-in and late check-out! The location was great and the amenities were very nice. We really enjoyed our stay at the Beach House Resort and will definitely stay here again the next time we take a 2-3 day trip to Hilton Head.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello SCfam,
We love knowing we contributed to your family’s “last hurrah” before the new school year! Kids grow up way too fast. You should make as many memories as possible together, and summer memories are some of the best! We’re glad we could be a small part of that, and we’re thrilled you enjoyed our new renovations, great amenities, fantastic location, and clean, comfortable rooms. We’re delighted our dedicated team took such good care of you and was able to accommodate your requests. Your compliments mean a great deal to us, but another visit would be the best one yet! We would love to offer your family another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    178
    72
    44
    37
See reviews for
187
200
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mentor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our family had a great stay at The Beach House this week. As soon as we arrived, we were quickly greeted by Carlton. and other staff members, who took us directly to our rooms. The rooms were ready in advance, clean, and cool. Rudzani was at the front desk and she was very accommodating. All the gals at the front desk were friendly and professional. The pool and beach were connected and so convenient to enjoy. The Tiki Bar music and musicians were a hit each day. The staff checked in on guests to ensure they were guests and were involved in organizing kid activities each day. Pool side drink service would be a nice added feature. Jason was the most friendliest and creative bartender. We loved his drinks. The Porch is the restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Ted made an awesome omelette for us and our kids loved his waffles, too. The food is southern comfort style and the decor is eye catching. It's a nice inviting environment. You can also order food and snacks at The Snack Shack centered near the pool area. The shrimp cocktail and pulled pork sliders are delicious. Food is prepared promptly. Pricing was reasonable. The Full Moon party was a hit Saturday night. Fith, the bar manager, was great at engaging the crowd with the live band and entertainment activities. The Blue Moon Band was amazing. We all danced in the sand for hours. The crowd was fun and even though our children are young, they were made to feel very comfortable dancing and having fun with everyone. The weather was awesome, too. We loved walking to the shops and restaurants near the hotel. That convenience was perfect. We will definitely continue to stay at this hotel each year. There's no better place for us!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Hello,
You've truly made our day! Your amazing review is sure to generate tons of smiles as we pass your praise along. We're thrilled to hear out hotel and restaurant teams made you feel welcomed and well cared for. It sounds like your whole family loved our location, amenities and overall fun vibe! We can't wait to see you again for another memorable beach getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The location of this property is great, it is within walking distance of shopping and dining and beach access. The outdoor bar, the "Tiki Hut" always provides a great place to stop and refresh during the day and on some weekends, such as last night at the full moon 80's party provides a fantastic place to enjoy the beach, music and beverages. The band they had headline "Blue Monday" was one of the best bands I have had the pleasure of listening to and I would make a trip back just to listen to them. Grey Rains (Mgr) is always helpful in taking care of any request that are made from guest. overall, a great place to just stay and have a good time enjoying the beach in a casual format.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Ken,
Thanks for the terrific review! We’re thrilled we could show you such a fantastic weekend. We love the convenience of our beautiful location and are glad you agree. We’re happy our wonderful Gray could fulfill your requests. He’s quite the people pleaser and will appreciate knowing he’s succeeded. We’re happy you enjoyed our lively, yet laid back atmosphere. Our Tiki Hut team really knows how to throw a party! We’re glad you could join us for the fun and great music. Please return to Beach House for another amazing experience soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed with my family at the Beach House. We were very pleased with the service and hospitality we received from all the staff. Mr. Rains went above and beyond to make our trip enjoyable. Our usual spots have been Daytona or Jekyll but we decided to try Hilton Head and were very pleased we did. I recommend it to anyone who wants the perfect place to stay to come do what you come to the beach to do.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello David,
We’re thrilled we were the perfect fit for your recent family vacation. We’re happy to hear our fantastic service team, especially Gray, impressed you! Your recommendation means the world to us. We hope you come enjoy our great, beachside home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Let me start off by saying how friendly the staff was. When we arrived the director of guest services Gray was at the counter and welcomed us. Throughout our stay and with the hundreds of people he saw daily he still managed to remember and greet me by name. When we originally checked in we had a double bed room which did not give us the space we needed with the kids. Unfortunately all of the larger rooms were booked, however as soon as one became available (a day later) they called my phone and let us know we could switch.
The location is right on the beach, the pool was perfect and accomodated the kids and adults, the Porch had great food, and the Tiki Hut was a cool spot to get drinks. Patricia in housekeeping was very nice, and she made the kids laugh. I loved that the staff was made up of people from all over the world, it made for good light conversations when passing by. I do have to say one staff member who really stood out was Brandon. Brandon took care of anything we needed when we were outside enjoying the day, was always eager to help and very friendly. When I told him my son wanted to find some sand dollars and shells, he gave us some tips, some locations, and when we finally found some shells we shared the pictures and he was genuinely happy for us. When I told him we hadn't found any sand dollars, he went out of his way grabbed some and told me to hide them on the beach where my son could find them.

The downside;
Rooms could use a little updating but who really spends any time in them anyway when you're on the beach!
No room service. This is something they should incorporate. Makes it so much easier when you have three kids who don't want to sit still in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Adam,
Your review means a lot to us. We’re absolutely thrilled our beautiful beach, fantastic pool, delicious dining venues and dedicated team helped make your family vacation so great. We love hearing how Gray made all of you feel welcome! Patricia and Brandon are amazing at generating smiles from our younger guests. Thank you for sharing your experience with them; your recognition is sure to make their day! We’re glad you enjoyed friendly conversations with our diverse team, and we’re grateful for your feedback and helpful room service suggestion. We’ll take that into careful consideration, as we look forward to many upcoming improvements. We hope you stay with us again soon; we would love to offer your family another wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel has a prime location - you can't ask for better location when in Hilton Head - walk out of the hotel room and you are right on the beach! so Location A+.
Hotel Staff - Absolutely A++++++++++++ everyone that we came in contact with was absolutely amazing! I would hire everyone for my own business in a heartbeat! Front desk Tracy (love this lady), Jamese & Rudzani were super friendly, professional, very informative & the patience that those girls have deserves a huge raise! I know I would not be able to keep my smile and cool :) when dealing with upset customers over something those girls have no control over! I'm sorry to say but some guests are taking their frustration on the front desk staff over stuff that has nothing to do with the girls - come on people show some manners and most of all please treat them like you'd like to be treated - there is no reason to get hateful and I did see plenty of that during our stay. I did read one review where someone mentioned that he/she had hard time understanding front desk clerk due to her thick accent - did not have any problems like that I actually loved it that quiet few employees have accent!
Also, Al & Carlton were great! Al took care of our ac unit issues immediately & made sure we were ok. Same goes for Carlton - every time we passed him he stopped & talk to us as if we were friends for years - made us feel welcome!
So now for the rooms - not so good! For the price that you pay I was expecting something much, much better - I guess the "resort" in the hotel's name makes you expect more. You can see the wear of the rooms. The carpets are dirty but then again it's simply impossible to get carpets cleaned when you are running 100% occupancy. The rooms are pretty clean - a lot of the things are out of control for the housekeepers but they do their best. Plenty of space in the room however bathroom very cramped. Quiet few items in the room will need to be addressed during slow season - most of them maintenance.
HBO didn't work in the room.
The beds were too soft for my liking but my hubby loved it. The sheets were clean.
We have spent most of our time on the beach so the room worked for us. I would have preferred if the housekeeping would keep room at temperate way below 73F as it takes some time for the A/C to cool off the room.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask if possible for room away from the beach as the Tiki Bar plays all da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thorough and honest review. We really appreciate all your feedback; it helps us identify areas that need improvement. We also really appreciate the pat on the back, directed to our dedicated service team. Your comments are sure to make Tracy, Jamese & Rudzani smile. We’re happy Al and Carlton made you feel at home with us, and we’re thrilled our fantastic location made the grade in your book! We apologize for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction caused by the condition of the carpet and room. We are sorry to hear you weren’t impressed with the size of the bathroom, comfort of the bed, or efficiency of the air conditioning in your room. We also sincerely apologize for the technical issue you experienced with the HBO during your stay. We’ll take your maintenance suggestions to heart, as well as your helpful tip about lowering the thermostat. We have recently completed some beautiful renovations to our lobby and pool deck, and we’re very excited about upcoming improvements. We hope you come back to enjoy them. We promise to greet you with more friendly faces, exceptional hospitality and another memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherstocking Region New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Not what we expected when we booked Resort from Holiday Inn. Check in was long, and many people had difficulty with reservations. Rooms were not ready at 6 pm for occupancy, and we were given the wrong room (King Bed) that we had to go back down and change. No comps given for having to wait (drink, voucher, etc). Just told to go have dinner and come back later.

Room was tight for four people and two double beds did not work out well due to small size. Refrigerator beat up pretty well and room was very dated. Elevator was out of service for one full day, not convenient when you are on the top floor. Parking was limited, more rooms than spaces available. Had to jockey for position to get a spot. Cars were double parked in morning in places.

Beach access was good, but "resort" offers lounge chairs only at edge of property, not down by ocean. Next door to "Tiki Bar" which can get quite lively at night. Request a room on opposite side if you don't want to hear noise at night. One washer and dryer for entire "resort" to use. We were not able to ever get it for our own use.

Best part about this place is The Porch Southern Kitchen and Bar. Dining area has outstanding food, drink specials, and friendly service. Does not look like much, but food is OUTSTANDING! Ate dinner the first night while we waited for our room and were impressed. Out of a three night stay we at 3 breakfasts (buffet with great omelets), 3 lunches, and 2 dinners. Fried Chicken, Ribs, Hush Puppies, Crab Sliders, Mac and Cheese Balls...did not have a meal we did not love. On last night Chef created "Brisket Fries"...FANTASTIC!

If we visit Hilton Head again, we will stay somewhere else, but stop at THE PORCH for eating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello,
Thank for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re thrilled our newest addition, The Porch, really made your stay! We are sorry we were receiving a particularly large volume of guests when you arrived; we sincerely apologize for the wait and the initial room mix-up. We are also sorry the bed size, in-room refrigerator, parking availability, and laundry access didn’t meet your expectations. We appreciate all your feedback, as it helps us identify areas that need attention. We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful beach setting; we wish you found the placement of our convenient lounge chairs more appealing though. In addition to recent renovations to our lobby and pool deck, we’re very excited about many upcoming improvements to our hotel. We hope you return to enjoy them; we would love to win you over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Resort

Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the top ten family beaches in the country, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina is a quaint resort island only twelve miles long by five miles wide, renowned for sparkling blue water and sandy beaches. What guests seem to enjoy the most about the Beach House Resort is the direct beach access and convenient location on Coligny Beach. In addition to our gorgeous beach front, The Beach House is the only Hilton Head Island hotel within walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, activities, and fun-filled night life located at Coligny Plaza! At The Beach House, you're only steps away from miles of white sandy beaches and blue ocean waters, dozens of championship golf courses, more than 300 tennis courts and 100 miles of bicycle paths. The Beach House is one of the most family-friendly resorts on the island, offering a large kiddi pool with a fountain, and a focus on child entertainment with the seasonal activities. Take time to relax and enjoy our over-sized heated free-form pool and large sun deck packed with a generous amount of lounge chairs where you can bathe in the sun or enjoy the Resort's private beach area with lounge chairs and food and beverage service. Enjoy oceanfront dining at our new restaurant, The Porch, featuring Southern favorites and don't miss our famous Tiki Hut Bar offering live entertainment 365 days per year and volleyball court play viewing on the beach! We also specialize in groups, meetings, banquets and beach wedding events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.