We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

For a first visit to Hilton Head Island from England we really wanted to be right on the beach so I guess it was inevitable that we would have to pay a premium rate. This aside, the room was comfortable and clean. A nice pool, good beach access and entertainment laid on in the Tiki Bar. Breakfast Buffet was plentiful with service from all the staff generally good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello Moonbeam,
We’re glad we could make your first Hilton Head experience so memorable! We’re thrilled to hear you were impressed with our comfortable rooms, sandy beaches, beautiful pool, live entertainment, delicious breakfast buffets, and dedicated service team. We apologize if you our nightly rates weren’t to your liking, but we hope you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Please come back to visit; we promise to make the next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    161
    67
    37
    32
See reviews for
173
168
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arcola, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is very nice and clean (recently remodeled). Located right on the beach. Has a nice Tiki bar, swimming pool, restaurant, and great access to the beach. It is located around several different places to shop and eat. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. Will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello Tisha,
We really appreciate the stellar review! We’re thrilled our service team took such good care of you during your stay. We’re glad you enjoyed our delicious dining options, beautiful pool, and fantastic location. Thank you for admiring some of our recent renovations. We’re constantly improving, with guest satisfaction in mind. A repeat visit would be the best compliment! We hope you come back soon for another fabulous experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowan, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We originally booked a hotel in Hilton Head with no beach access. Not having ever been to Hilton Head Island before we weren't sure how things were set up. We ended up in another Ramada that made us sick due to mold and mildew and just general grossness! We booked at the Beach House and were checked out of the Ramada and into the Beach House within 20 minutes. The front desk is awesome and hooked us up with a great, spotless room with a great view of the Atlantic Ocean. Thanks Beach House for making our vacation a great success, especially after the way it started.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are subject to the live music every night, which we enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We’re thrilled we could offer you a little sunshine, quick, friendly service, a clean, comfortable room, and a beautiful ocean view after such an ordeal. We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us at Beach House. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have visited Hilton Head numerous times in past several years and have always stayed here. Most rental homes are for a week and we need something for 3-4 days. This hotel's location is awesome. It sits right on the beach. Pool is huge and beautiful. Our grandkids often spend more time there than on the beach. It is within walking distance to restaurants and a shopping center called Coliginy Plaza. Great place also. Rooms are clean and fully updated. Time turnaround on getting rooms cleaned should be improved. Often came back late in afternoon to rest and still found room not cleaned. Hotel has changed often over the past years. Some changes were good, others bad. Latest change-They had a beautiful restaurant with large windows looking out. Air conditioned with an outdoor patio if you wanted to eat outside. They completely eliminated this, making an open air restaurant. Noisy-not cool unless sitting directly under fans. They serve a breakfast buffet and full menu. Fairly good, but service was terrible. However if you want a beachfront hotel, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello Missy,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review and share your experience. We genuinely appreciate your loyalty, returning to our Beach House year after year. You’ve seen us grow and change, but our commitment to guest satisfaction remains the same. We’re sorry you aren’t an immediate fan of our newest addition, The Porch. We strive to offer our guests a uniquely pleasant experience, where savory, southern food and fresh, ocean air meet and peak the senses. We’re sorry to hear you weren’t comfortable with the temperature, atmosphere or service during your meal. We appreciate your feedback and will pass it on to their team. We also apologize for any inconvenience caused by our housekeeping schedule. We’ll take your helpful comments and suggestions under careful consideration. Thank you! We’re thrilled you were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of your room and fully enjoy our beautiful pool and beachfront location. We look forward to providing another memorable experience during your next visit. We can’t wait to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I’m with Stella Entertainment based in Atlanta, GA, and we’ve had the pleasure of staying at the Beach House Resort a few times to perform at the hotel’s Tiki Hut beach bar. The hotel has a gorgeous pool, easy beach access, an amazing breakfast buffet, and a fun entertainment & events program for different ages. And with a pleasant staff, the Beach House has come to feel like home sweet home!

In the few trips Stella has had at the resort, the monthly full moon parties have become epic, and Fifth is larger than life! I would definitely recommend the hotel for families, as well as singles in search of the salt life. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello Shane,
We feel honored and so very lucky to have great performers like you stay with us and provide lively entertainment for our guests. We’re happy to hear you’re a fan of our beautiful pool, sandy beaches, delicious breakfast buffet, and recreation programs. Fith is quite the character; your high praise is sure to make his day! We’re thrilled our friendly team made you feel welcomed and right at home. That’s a huge compliment. Thank you for the stellar review! We hope you come back soon to enjoy another full moon party with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed at this property with a few girlfriends for 5 nights in July. Check in time was supposed to be 4 pm. We arrived at 4:30pm and we were told that our room wasn't ready but if we gave them a cell number, they would call us when it was available. We were tired, having been on the road 7 hours and were looking forward to settling in our room but didn't make a fuss about it. I gave my cell number and we found our way out to the Tiki Hut to kill some time. There was a great live band playing and we got quick service at the bar. However nice it was, we were still eager to get to our room. We waited and waited and waited and never got a call saying our room was ready. Finally at 7pm I walked in to the front desk to inquire about our room. It was available then but no word as to why we hadn't been called yet.
After we settled into our room, we made our way down to The Porch restaurant and had a very good meal. The BBQ is smoked on site and very yummy (the pork BBQ nachos were delish!) It was nice to have a good option to eat at the resort when you're too tired to go elsewhere! We retired back to our room with full tummies to get a good nights rest and planned on sleeping late.
Our sleeping in plans were ruined by the fire alarm going off at about 6:20am. We were half asleep, trying to get our bearings and get ready to go downstairs. My friend Nancy was trying to get into her bra to go downstairs and we were all in various states of undress. There was a knock on the door, my friend Vickie answered the door and two men, employees of the hotel barged in past her to where my friend Nancy was trying to put her bra on (she was exposed) and past the open bathroom door where another friend was using the toilet) They told us that the fire alarm had originated in our room (clearly not triggered by something we were doing, we were all in a deep sleep) and we had to leave now. We were scurried out the door, not allowed to grab our shoes or purses or anything else. I went downstairs in a long t-shirt and no shoes...gross! I could see them not allowing us to grab anything if there was smoke, flames or even the smell of smoke but there was clearly no immediate danger. It was gross and embarrassing to stand outside in at shirt and no shoes. After 10 minutes or so, everyone was allowed back into the hotel and we made it back to our room.
After we had been back into our room about 10 minutes or so there was a knock on the door. It was a gentleman who appeared to work maintenance. He asked us "what happened" to set the fire alarm off. We assured him that we did not know and that we had been sleeping when it went off. Then a short while later someone else knocked on our door asking us basically the same questions. We decided to go to breakfast after our last visitor and gave up on sleeping in.
We visited The Porch for breakfast. The hostess at the front stated that the breakfast buffet was $13 and after looking it over, two of us decided to have the buffet. When the bill came, the charge for the buffet was $17 instead of the $13 we were told. The buffet was good but we wouldn't have gotten it for $17 had we known beforehand. When we informed our server that we had been told $13 by the hostess she just said that the hostess only works there two days a week and isn't there that much. She was gone a really long time settling our bills, we thought maybe she had corrected our bills but no... Still charged $17 a person for the breakfast buffet. That was our last breakfast at the hotel, there are lots of great breakfast choices within a very short walking distance!
We ended up renting a beach umbrella with two chairs that are available in front of the hotel. It was $32 for the first day and $20 each consecutive day. I realize that the hotel is on or near a public beach and it may not be the hotel that rents the umbrellas BUT whoever rents those umbrellas should not let people set those tents up so close right in front of them. We paid about $100 for the use of the umbrella and chairs and 2 of the days we didn't even have a clear view of the ocean or really anything for that matter because there was a complex of about 4 tents (like camping tents, not canopies) set up about 4 feet from the outside edge of the umbrella. The beach gets crowded but it is unnecessary to set up that close. I'm not attributing that to the hotel but it needs to be noted!
The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to Coligny Plaza with dozens of shops and lots of restaurants. Right beside a nice park with swings and fountains. The beach is beautiful and clean.
While we were not overwhelmed by the customer service of this hotel, hilton head island is a beautiful place and we will definitely come back to Hilton head but we will most likely not stay at the Beach House.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello Kelly,
We appreciate you leaving us such a thoughtful review and sharing your experience. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location, delicious BBQ, and fun atmosphere! We are so very sorry for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced due to the fire alarm triggering. The safety of our guests is our top priority, but making you or any member of your party feel uncomfortable is the last thing we intended. We sincerely apologize for such an ordeal. We also apologize for our failure to notify you as soon as your room was ready and the miscommunication over breakfast buffet pricing. We strive to offer all our guests a wonderful, memorable experience. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas we need to improve to achieve that. We hope you do consider us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

For those that go to Hilton Head regularly, you know there are not many hotels. Most people will rent homes or condos, which is what we usually do. This time, we only wanted a few days (many condos require a week stay). So, we thought why not try the Holiday Inn. So with that being said, the stay was what we needed - a bed, close to the beach.

The location is the key - right on the beach! The room was clean, though the comforter at the foot of the bed was very worn. The beds are rather tiny - the headboards were for queens, but very small double beds were in the room. The staff was very friendly!

So, what are the negatives: the hallways were worn and dirty! The doors all had scratches where it appears someone etched names in the doors. Some appeared painted, but the wet paint sign stayed up our entire stay. The pool was nice - but in the shallow area was filled with adults, leaning up against the side drinking their mixed drinks or beer - making it difficult for small children to maneuver the partiers! (thought it was inappropriate to let people be drinking while sitting in the pool for a family resort). The bathroom by the pool was beyond disgusting - would not even let my children enter there - the door lock was broken like someone kicked the door in! You need a key to enter the pool area, and there was a young man walking around asking for names to be sure you were on the register. The free public parking is across the street for the beach, so there seemed to be a ton of people cutting through the parking lot to get to the beach.

Room Tip: If you want to see the beach - 4th or 5th floor would be your best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello Christopher,
We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location, clean rooms and friendly service team! We appreciate all your feedback and will take your thoughtful suggestions about pool drinking policies and pool deck access under careful consideration. We sincerely apologize for the pool restrooms not being maintained properly during your stay. That is truly a rare occurrence. We are also sorry to hear you weren’t impressed by the size of our beds or condition of our hallways and doors. We just completed some exciting renovations to our lobby, pool area and restaurant, and we have plenty more amazing improvements in store! We really hope you come back to enjoy them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Resort

Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the top ten family beaches in the country, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina is a quaint resort island only twelve miles long by five miles wide, renowned for sparkling blue water and sandy beaches. What guests seem to enjoy the most about the Beach House Resort is the direct beach access and convenient location on Coligny Beach. In addition to our gorgeous beach front, The Beach House is the only Hilton Head Island hotel within walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, activities, and fun-filled night life located at Coligny Plaza! At The Beach House, you're only steps away from miles of white sandy beaches and blue ocean waters, dozens of championship golf courses, more than 300 tennis courts and 100 miles of bicycle paths. The Beach House is one of the most family-friendly resorts on the island, offering a large kiddi pool with a fountain, and a focus on child entertainment with the seasonal activities. Take time to relax and enjoy our over-sized heated free-form pool and large sun deck packed with a generous amount of lounge chairs where you can bathe in the sun or enjoy the Resort's private beach area with lounge chairs and food and beverage service. Enjoy oceanfront dining at our new restaurant, The Porch, featuring Southern favorites and don't miss our famous Tiki Hut Bar offering live entertainment 365 days per year and volleyball court play viewing on the beach! We also specialize in groups, meetings, banquets and beach wedding events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.