We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay, BuTNo Beautiful attitudes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Resort

Save Saved
You added Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay, BuTNo Beautiful attitudes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

One Of The Best Hotels We Have Stayed At! Loved THat We Could WaLk To Restaurants And Shops. The Breakfast Was Excellent, But The Staff Was Rude. We Had One Nice Staff Member Named Gary Who Checked Us In And Was Very Pleasant. However He Was The Only Nice Staff MembEr. That Is Why I Only Gave The Hotel FOur Stars Rooms Were Clean And Nice, And The Amenities Were Clean And Beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for the awesome praise of our hotel, cleanliness and location. We’re very sorry that you were not offered excellent customer service from all of our staff. We are always striving to improve, and your comments are invaluable in our reaching that goal, thank you. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can impress you with our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    134
    53
    30
    23
See reviews for
140
136
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is right on the beach has a awesome pool and tiki bar for late night. In walking distance of over 100 shops and restaurants! The most romantic yet fun place I've every been. Worth going to and worth every penny that we paid. Check this place out for sure

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Amanda,
Thank you for the awesome review; you’ve us smile from ear to ear! It’s wonderful to know that you loved our location and hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you want to enjoy some beach time fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Beach House has been renovated - very welcoming improvements - light and airy. The restaurant is superb - able to eat in or out by pool. Restaurant, pool and bar upgraded for the convenience of all. Added feature - two fire pits - to gather around during evening cocktails. Excellent access to the beach. The staff met all our needs with a welcoming smile.

Room Tip: Some rooms face directly to the Atlantic - others, a sunrise or sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
It sounds like you had a great weekend, thank you for allowing us to be a part of it. We’re very excited with the results of our recent renovations, and we truly appreciate your compliments. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a great time at the Beach House. I was very skeptical because some of the reviews were not very good. We were totally surprised. The room was clean. Bathrooms were clean. Carpets were a little dirty, but that is expected at any hotel. It was in a perfect location. We didn't even need to drive anywhere. We just stepped out onto the beach. The pool was always clean. The guy that takes care of the pool area does a fantastic job of making sure they have plenty of towels and that all loungers are arranged nicely. The two bartenders at The Porch make great drinks and are so nice. Loved the buttermilk fried chicken! My kids loved the Snack Shack. The Tiki Hut is a great place to unwind and have a cold drink. Bartenders were great! Nice to sit around the fire pit at night when it was cool outside. Arlean at the front desk was our favorite. (Hi Arlean) She was so nice and helpful. All the girls at the front desk were great. They knew the area and could lead you in the right direction. The service was the best part. It was like everybody was rushing around trying to make sure we had everything we needed. We loved our stay so much that we extended for an extra day and we were all sorry to leave. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
You’ve just made our day! Thank you for the fantastic review, and thank you for giving us a try; we’re thrilled to have pleasantly surprised you! We fully appreciate all of your great compliments, especially your praise of our staff. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to everyone, and specifically – Arlean! We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My company ran a beach volleyball tournament at The Beach House and we all had a great time. The service was great and there was always something to do when we were not playing VB. The Tiki Hut is a great place of watching or playing volleyball. I expect to be back there again next year, 1st week in May,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! A company volleyball tournament sounds much better than sitting in the office any day! We’re thrilled that you loved our Tiki Hut and many amenities. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Driving south from Charleston to Florida we came across this gem. Recently refurbished and reopened as the Beach House. New management. Faultless. Great beachfront location and beach bar. Excellent value for money. We were going to stay for one night but made it two. Would have stayed longer but have to head south. Hope our next find is as good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Nick,
You’ve just made our day, thank you! We’re very happy to have been an unexpected gem along your road trip. Thank you for all your praise of our renovations, location and value. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

They refused to refund my no-show fee or apply it to the actual date I planned to be there in July. Now I can't afford to go at all. I thought I was booking July 15 and as it turned out it was April 15 and I didn't cancel because I didn't realize I'd made the mistake. I called and asked them to transfer the money to July 15 when I would actually be there and after 5 days of calling them, they refused.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are very sorry that your travel plans did not work out as you intended. Unfortunately, your booking was a non-refundable reservation; as was stated at the time of booking and in your reservation confirmation. We understand that mistakes do happen; that is why we were happy to not charge you for both your reservation nights. If you would like to discuss this matter further, we invite you to reach out to us personally at jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Resort

Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the top ten family beaches in the country, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina is a quaint resort island only twelve miles long by five miles wide, renowned for sparkling blue water and sandy beaches. What guests seem to enjoy the most about the Beach House Resort is the direct beach access and convenient location on Coligny Beach. In addition to our gorgeous beach front, The Beach House is the only Hilton Head Island hotel within walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, activities, and fun-filled night life! At The Beach House, you're only steps away from miles of white sandy beaches and blue ocean waters, dozens of championship golf courses, more than 300 tennis courts and 100 miles of bicycle paths. The Beach House is one of the most family-friendly resorts on the island, offering a large kiddies pool with a fountain, and a focus on child entertainment with the seasonal Island Kids Club. Take time to relax and enjoy our over-sized tropical free-form pool and large sun deck packed with a generous amount of lounge chairs where you can bathe in the sun. Enjoy oceanfront dining at our new restaurant, The Porch, featuring Low Country culinary favorites and don't miss our famous Tiki Hut Bar and volleyball courts on the beach! We also specialize in groups, meetings, banquets and wedding events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.