We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, but needs updates. Super nice staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Resort

Save Saved
You added Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #12 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but needs updates. Super nice staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is our 2nd stay at the Beach House. We have gone down for the last couple of years to watch golf at the Heritage. The decor is lovely and perfect for the "Beach House" theme in the public areas. The staff was outstanding. The front desk and everyone we encountered was very friendly and nice.
Our room was fine, a very spacious king room and air worked great. Our view was a little blah, of the roof and side of building, but we had a $189.00 rate so I imagine that is the view you get. It was for 1 night so no biggie. It would have been nice to see the beach, but it is what it is.....you get what you pay for as they say. The do not have free coffee at this resort which I found very unusual. That is an amenity that every hotel should have now. They have the Keurig in the room which is nice but the yucky powdered creamer always makes in room coffee gross, IMO.
The bed was comfortable with nice bedding. The whole room/bathroom is in need of a good update. But for our purposes, it was good nights sleep.
I know the hotel just got new owners and they are probably aware of the need to update. I just hope they do it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    98
    41
    21
    14
See reviews for
95
103
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is in a perfect location right on the beach front and close to many dining and shopping areas. Don't be fooled by the exterior as the inside has modern decor. Our room was large and clean. The pool was good and with live music it was a nice place to chill. Whilst we didn't eat at the hotel the newly refurbished bar and dining area looked good. We also hired bikes from the hotel cheaper than other hire shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent a couple of nights there and absolutely loved it! The rooms are lovely, spacious enough and of good quality, the staff very nice and the food in the restaurant absolutely delicious!! Great for children too as lovely swimming pool by the beach... Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent three nights at The Beach House. The carpet in the hallway is beige and shows a lot of dirt and wear. Once we entered our room we noticed it was very hot. We adjusted the thermostat on the, very old, air conditioner and got into bed. Suffice to say it never cooled off!

The second night we called the front desk and they sent two maintenance guys to our room. The guys did what they could and removed the filters to clean...they were gross and it was disgusting to think we were breathing in air that passed through them.

The carpet in our room was dirty and the bathroom was in need of help.

On the positive side, the location is good and they have bikes to rent at the front desk. The restaurant, The Porch, has great bbq. The tiki bar was fun.

For a little bit more $ go down the beach to the Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Tiki bar...could be loud. Ask if the air conditioner is new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Miranda,
We are very sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. We are continually striving to improve, and your comments are invaluable in our reaching that goal, thank you. We will take all your thoughts into careful consideration. We hope to see you again in the future; we are confident we can wow you with our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this hotel based on the reviews here and elsewhere regarding the accommodations - extremely misleading! The hotel was not clean - stains on carpets, and bathrooms that appeared to have been barely wiped down. The room did not have any humidity control and was like sleeping in a rain forest. It felt more like a spring break flop house than a family hotel. Would not recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We strive to always offer a wonderful experience for all our guests, and we are very sorry that we did not meet that goal for you. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com. We look forward to hearing from you and the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Should you wish to spend your entire visit right at the resort, there is plenty to do with the ocean at your door, an extra large pool, wonderful restaurant serving three meals a day, tiki bar on the beach, live entertainment, a fire pit and beautiful stretch of white sandy beach.

Should you wish to venture off the property, shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance and bikes are available. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Antoinette,
Thank you for the fantastic review; you’ve made our day! We are very happy that you loved all our great amenities and wonderful location. We hope to see you again when you next want to enjoy some beach time fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome place to stay. Pool area was wonderful with the Tiki bar and cafe. The pool is huge and Tiki cafe is in the middle. Staff very friendly and helpful. Within walking distance of many, many restaurants and shops.
Would stay again in a heartbeat.



Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for the fantastic review; you’ve made our day! It is great to hear that our staff took excellent care of you and that you loved our amenities. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Resort

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the top ten family beaches in the country, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina is a quaint resort island only twelve miles long by five miles wide, renowned for sparkling blue water and sandy beaches. What guests seem to enjoy the most about the Beach House Resort is the direct beach access and convenient location on Coligny Beach. In addition to our gorgeous beach front, The Beach House is the only Hilton Head Island hotel within walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, activities, and fun-filled night life! At The Beach House, you’re only steps away from miles of white sandy beaches and blue ocean waters, dozens of championship golf courses, more than 300 tennis courts and 100 miles of bicycle paths. The Beach House is one of the most family-friendly resorts on the island, offering kids eat-and-stay-free programs, a large kiddies pool with a fountain, and a focus on child entertainment with the seasonal Island Kids Club. Take time to relax and enjoy our over-sized tropical free-form pool and large sun deck packed with a generous amount of lounge chairs where you can bathe in the sun. Enjoy oceanfront dining featuring Low Country culinary favorites and don't miss our famous Tiki Hut Bar and volleyball courts on the beach! We also specialize in groups, meetings, banquets and wedding events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.