We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Resort

Save Saved
You added Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #12 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Loved it!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent a couple of nights there and absolutely loved it! The rooms are lovely, spacious enough and of good quality, the staff very nice and the food in the restaurant absolutely delicious!! Great for children too as lovely swimming pool by the beach... Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    97
    40
    21
    14
See reviews for
95
101
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent three nights at The Beach House. The carpet in the hallway is beige and shows a lot of dirt and wear. Once we entered our room we noticed it was very hot. We adjusted the thermostat on the, very old, air conditioner and got into bed. Suffice to say it never cooled off!

The second night we called the front desk and they sent two maintenance guys to our room. The guys did what they could and removed the filters to clean...they were gross and it was disgusting to think we were breathing in air that passed through them.

The carpet in our room was dirty and the bathroom was in need of help.

On the positive side, the location is good and they have bikes to rent at the front desk. The restaurant, The Porch, has great bbq. The tiki bar was fun.

For a little bit more $ go down the beach to the Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Tiki bar...could be loud. Ask if the air conditioner is new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Miranda,
We are very sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. We are continually striving to improve, and your comments are invaluable in our reaching that goal, thank you. We will take all your thoughts into careful consideration. We hope to see you again in the future; we are confident we can wow you with our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this hotel based on the reviews here and elsewhere regarding the accommodations - extremely misleading! The hotel was not clean - stains on carpets, and bathrooms that appeared to have been barely wiped down. The room did not have any humidity control and was like sleeping in a rain forest. It felt more like a spring break flop house than a family hotel. Would not recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We strive to always offer a wonderful experience for all our guests, and we are very sorry that we did not meet that goal for you. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com. We look forward to hearing from you and the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Should you wish to spend your entire visit right at the resort, there is plenty to do with the ocean at your door, an extra large pool, wonderful restaurant serving three meals a day, tiki bar on the beach, live entertainment, a fire pit and beautiful stretch of white sandy beach.

Should you wish to venture off the property, shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance and bikes are available. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Antoinette,
Thank you for the fantastic review; you’ve made our day! We are very happy that you loved all our great amenities and wonderful location. We hope to see you again when you next want to enjoy some beach time fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome place to stay. Pool area was wonderful with the Tiki bar and cafe. The pool is huge and Tiki cafe is in the middle. Staff very friendly and helpful. Within walking distance of many, many restaurants and shops.
Would stay again in a heartbeat.



Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for the fantastic review; you’ve made our day! It is great to hear that our staff took excellent care of you and that you loved our amenities. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We felt we were in paradise at The Beach House! We took advantage of all amenities and can't wait to return. The breakfast buffet was phenomenal and the pool so pristine. WOW! Everyone with the hotel was so professional and willing to answer all questions.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for the amazing review! We are very happy that you had such a fantastic stay at our hotel, and we hope to see you again for some more fun in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for three nights while I attended my sister's wedding (not held at this hotel). I think that this hotel has a ton of potential, if they would change a few things. First of all, I am a Platinum Member of the IHG chains and this was the first I've heard of the "Beach House" resort. I'm not sure if this is the only one or if there are more. If this is sort've a "hip" chain thing then perhaps that would explain some things. Also, please be advised that I stayed there during Spring Break, so my comments may not represent what this place is like all year.

When we checked in, the girls working at the front desk were not the most friendly people I've come in contact with. I was not greeted as a Priority Club member or a Platinum Member. I was, however, VERY happy and appreciated that they upgraded me to an ocean front balcony room. As a matter of fact, I wouldn't mind being treated rudely at check in anywhere if I get upgraded... I then asked the gentleman who appeared to be a bell man for a luggage cart. He replied that I could feel free to go search the hallways of the hotel for some as they had none in the front. At that point, I wondered what exactly his job was...

I did manage to track down a cart after carrying the first load up myself, where I spotted one that had been left in the hallway on our floor. Normally, I would've only been a little upset with this, but on this particular occasion, I had been in transit for almost 24 hours and hadn't slept in a while. Therefore, I was not happy with the "greeting" and "assistance" upon my arrival.

The room itself was nice. It was VERY spacious. I believe we had two double beds as they seemed a little small to be queens. The bathroom was nothing spectacular and it was actually quite small. Everything in the room looked updated though, from the flat screen TV to the furniture, fixtures and paint. The balcony literally comes out about two feet from the building, so don't plan on lounging out there or anything. The room did have a small refrigerator with freezer, but NO MICROWAVE.

The beds were quite comfortable and the air conditioning unit worked great. One word of warning though, and one of my main complaints about this hotel, is that if you plan to sleep during the daytime or like to go to bed early at night... well... I wouldn't count on it. There is a band that plays for lunch at the outdoor restaurant (probably from about 12:00PM to 2:00PM). Then another band plays in the evening (~6:00PM to 11:00PM). To say that it is loud is an understatement.

During our stay, I did eat at the hotel restaurant and it was EXCELLENT. I had the fired chicken sandwich each day for lunch and it was great. I looked in the workout room and it looked pretty well equipped. A variety of cardio equipment and a rack of dumbbells (up to 50 lbs I think) with an adjustable weight bench.

I won't mention the drunk college students who stumbled around staring at everyone with a glazed over look. I'm sure they will be back to wherever they came from pretty soon. Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend it to others. I probably wouldn't pick Spring Break to stay there though.

To the hotel management: I have several years of experience in the Guest Services/Hospitality industry and I would like to make a few recommendations. First of all, save the live music for weekends and holidays. We could barely hear ourselves think in the restaurant and we were one of maybe three couples in there. It is more of a nuisance when it is done all the time. Also, a quality bell staff would really compliment this hotel. There is something to be said for having someone else carry your luggage after a long day. Hopefully this review was helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Trent,
We are very happy that you enjoyed our recent renovations and your “excellent” meal at The Porch Southern Kitchen and Grill. We sincerely apologize that you were not offered excellent service from all of our staff. We will take all your comments into careful consideration as we strive to make our hotel better than ever, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next visit Hilton Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Resort

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the top ten family beaches in the country, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina is a quaint resort island only twelve miles long by five miles wide, renowned for sparkling blue water and sandy beaches. What guests seem to enjoy the most about the Beach House Resort is the direct beach access and convenient location on Coligny Beach. In addition to our gorgeous beach front, The Beach House is the only Hilton Head Island hotel within walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, activities, and fun-filled night life! At The Beach House, you’re only steps away from miles of white sandy beaches and blue ocean waters, dozens of championship golf courses, more than 300 tennis courts and 100 miles of bicycle paths. The Beach House is one of the most family-friendly resorts on the island, offering kids eat-and-stay-free programs, a large kiddies pool with a fountain, and a focus on child entertainment with the seasonal Island Kids Club. Take time to relax and enjoy our over-sized tropical free-form pool and large sun deck packed with a generous amount of lounge chairs where you can bathe in the sun. Enjoy oceanfront dining featuring Low Country culinary favorites and don't miss our famous Tiki Hut Bar and volleyball courts on the beach! We also specialize in groups, meetings, banquets and wedding events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.