We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and great for kids.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Resort

Save Saved
You added Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice location and great for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice location right on the beach and close to a lot. Easy to rent local bikes right close by too to explore the island.
Good activities for kids but do have to pay for some. Buffet was good but had a lot of people so careful of the time you show up.
Good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear tayla13:

Thanks for choosing the Beach House during your recent trip to Hilton Head. I know there are many choices and we do everything possible to make sure our guests leave being happy with their choice to stay at the Beach House. We also know that parents want nothing more than for their children to enjoy vacation and we're happy to know you found our activities to be so enjoyable and great for kids. We hope you will choose our resort for your next trip to Hilton Head.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    134
    53
    30
    23
See reviews for
141
136
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The wife and I stayed at the Beach House from 6/28-7/2-13 we reserved a king bed, the Hilton gave us a handicapped room since they had no other standard King Rooms available. Not too bad, some of the rooms ADA features are unaccommodating for non- ADA users, i.e. the cumbersome bath room facilities, but not a deal breaker. After reading previous reviews it seems some corrective measures were taken, the pool towels shortage! not an issue when we were there, the Pool Side Shack construction noise was noticeable but didn’t have an adverse affect. One thing though, some guest where in street clothes using the pool, this is something that should be enforced this made it less inviting to use the pool. The pool waitress service was good one day not so good the next, not a biggie. Overall, the staff was super friendly, the Marker 59 diner was good place to eat, and the beach was perfect. Local taverns, restaurants and shops were walking distance and all good. The Tiki Hut was nice, the entertainment was soft and relaxing, it's like a taste of the Tropics. I’d defiantly come back and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid accepting an ADA room in lieu of standard if you can but don't sweat it too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Anthony F:

Thanks for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Beach House. I'm pleased to know that you and your wife enjoyed your visit and would give us the honor of returning in the future. Thanks for noticing our improved pool towel handling processes that resulted from feedback posted on an earlier Trip Advisor review. As I've mentioned in earlier reviews, we use Trip Advisor as a tool to gauge our improvement progress and the tips provided by guests are very helpful. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by the construction at our poolside restaurant, but hope that the complimentary drinks we passed our several times each day helped express our apologies for that inconvenience. Thanks for mentioning how super friendly all our staff is.......that is something we are very proud of at the Beach House. We hope to have you as our guest again on your next trip down south!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay at the Beach House was an excellent experience. We are from Cincinnati, Ohio and came with a large group of friends/families for the July 4th holiday. Everyone in our group stayed at The Beach House, and all agreed it was a very great stay. The front desk staff made us feel very welcome when we arrived and helped us with several special needs in our group. The rooms were very good value, and all had oceans views. The staff was AMAZINGLY FRIENDLY. The food was great (I'm a food snob)...the morning coffee at Marker 59 was excellent, and for dinner the grouper with mashed cauliflower and corn succotash was superb. We loved being able to walk right out onto the beach from the hotel and hung out every day at the pool and Tiki Hut. The bartenders at Tiki Hut were highly competent and knew how to mix every funky drink we ordered. If you get a chance, try to meet the Tiki Hut manager who is a guy named Fith...he is hilarious and friendly. He is like a cruise director, DJ, and emcee all in one...he gave our kids free sunglasses and invited some of the guys in our group to a beer tasting contest they hosted. They had a good balance of activities for kids and adults. It was also very nice to be within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms have at least a partial view of the ocean. The Beach House is literally rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear GlennK_11:

Thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review! I appreciate all the kind comments describing our friendly staff, great food, perfect location, and fun bartenders. I'm glad you were able to enjoy all of Fith's "Activities" antics like so many of our other guests also enjoy. We truly enjoyed having all of you as our guests over the holiday week and can't wait to have you back again next year!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to hh and after lots of research for the perfect vacation spot for myself, my husband and our teenage children we chose the The Beach House Resort and so glad we did. We had a good experience from the time we checked in until we checked out on July 4 after spending 5 nights I still wasn't ready to leave.
Pros- Fith was very accommodating and went above and beyond from excellent customer service to seeing him interact with the customers at the July 4th weekend activities.
Pro-Adrienne- front desk- also went above and beyond in friendliness and customer service to assure we she would try to help get me an extra night stay if at all possible! ;)
Pro- Washer and dryer on our floor
Con- The beds were not very comfortable, way to hard.
Con- Poor ventilation in the bathroom.
Con- breakfast was too pricey for families
Overall- We are pleased with our experience and will recommend The Beach House to friends and family and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear JTStuddard2010:

Wow!! I'm so happy we were able to help make your family vacation so enjoyable. We are truly honored that you chose the Beach House after all your diligent research for the "perfect" vacation spot on Hilton Head. Obviously, you were able to see all the magic that Fith, our Tiki Hut Manager and Activities Director, and his team create every day.......he's definitely a special person and we are lucky to have him. Thanks for also mentioning Arleen at the Front Desk, she's also a real asset for our resort. Thanks for choosing the Beach House and taking the time to post your review. We hope you can make it back soon!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I'm a local and had friends in from out of Town. Going to the Beach House/Tiki Bar, even for a few hours makes me feel like i'm on vacation while at home and my friends really enjoyed it. The renovations to the hotel/bar look great, the property used to be a Holiday Inn. Service was noticeably better than previous visits. Jess was our server and was very personable and attentive. The bar was quite busy and Jess managed to keep with the best of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Grape S:

Thank you for visiting the Beach House and taking the time to post such a complimentary review. I'm pleased you noticed the significant improvements we've made since taking over as new owners a few months back. We're looking forward to this fall when will begin our more significant improvements to the resort. However, I believe the most important improvement we've made has been to our guest service as you also commented on. Our Tiki Hut server, Jess, has played a big part in helping to improve our overall guest satisfaction, and I really appreciate you mentioning her in your review.......she's a great asset to our team and she'll be very happy to see her name here as well. Hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Perfect location on the island with beachfront access! Rooms are clean with nice beds. Pool area and beach front bar are ample fun and when the beach calls you can stroll right on when you feel like it. Undergoing renovations which will make this wonderful property even better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Bigdan064:

Thank you for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at the Beach House Resort. As you mentioned, our pool is right on the beach and this makes it very convenient to enjoy both the pool and beach during the day. I'm very excited that our summer renovation projects are completed and available to help make our summer guests' experience even more enjoyable. Our next phase of renovations, which will occur in the fall, will help make the Beach House one of Hilton Heads most desirable resorts. Thank you for choosing the Beach House and we look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is not luxurious by any means and is quite pricey, but it is the best in HHI in my opinion. The location is the very best on the island......ocean front, lots of shopping and food across the street, bike rentals, its right at your finger tips, no need to drive any where. They updated the hotel so its very nice and very clean in the rooms and halls, and very comfortable. The pool is just ok, but the tiki hut bar, volleyball, ocean front, and poolside service is awesome. My only wish is that they would clean the beach a little better for seaweed and other stuff.

Its a great place for anyone. Its kid friendly, adult friendly....my best friend and I got every year. We walk to Starbucks, shop, lay on the beach, ride bikes. This year we will zip line and parasail, which is also located just up the road from the hotel. I love this hotel! The employees are really friendly and very accommodating as well. I'll be there again in 3 weeks and cannot wait!

Room Tip: If you want to be away from kids make sure to tell the staff, they can put you somewhere more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear welchnee:

Thanks for choosing our resort during your recent visit to Hilton Head. Your review is much appreciated and, I believe, a very accurate depiction of what the Beach House offers. Our location is absolutely unbeatable and our proximity to the beach and shopping really sets us apart from every other Hilton Head resort. Although we may not be luxurious by some standards, we do offer a relaxed atmosphere where guests can really be themselves and enjoy the Beach House experience. Our fall renovation plans will significantly elevate the amenities available for our guests and bring the Beach House up to a much higher level of luxury. Hopefully you can make it back down this fall to enjoy our resort in it's new suit!

Thanks for choosing the Beach House and we look forward to having you back in a few weeks!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilton Head
Charming, Beach...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Beach, Pool, Lu...
Show More
6.2 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Free Parking, B...
Show More
5.4 mi away
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Resort

Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the top ten family beaches in the country, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina is a quaint resort island only twelve miles long by five miles wide, renowned for sparkling blue water and sandy beaches. What guests seem to enjoy the most about the Beach House Resort is the direct beach access and convenient location on Coligny Beach. In addition to our gorgeous beach front, The Beach House is the only Hilton Head Island hotel within walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, activities, and fun-filled night life! At The Beach House, you're only steps away from miles of white sandy beaches and blue ocean waters, dozens of championship golf courses, more than 300 tennis courts and 100 miles of bicycle paths. The Beach House is one of the most family-friendly resorts on the island, offering a large kiddies pool with a fountain, and a focus on child entertainment with the seasonal Island Kids Club. Take time to relax and enjoy our over-sized tropical free-form pool and large sun deck packed with a generous amount of lounge chairs where you can bathe in the sun. Enjoy oceanfront dining at our new restaurant, The Porch, featuring Low Country culinary favorites and don't miss our famous Tiki Hut Bar and volleyball courts on the beach! We also specialize in groups, meetings, banquets and wedding events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.