We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great clean motel for the money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Christiansburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great clean motel for the money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is ocean front. The staff was very polite and helpful! The room was clean, and the furnishings were nice! It's in a convenient location, you can walk to food, or shopping! There's a really nice tiki bar and snack bar at the pool! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Karen S:

Thank you so much for choosing The Beach House during your recent trip to Hilton Head Island. It's wonderful to know how much you enjoyed the resort and our terrific oceanfront location. Glad you had fun at our famous Tiki Hut and poolside Shack Restaurant, which serves the area's best burgers and "adult" milkshakes.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of having you as our guest again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    164
    69
    39
    34
See reviews for
175
174
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband, two children and I stayed at the Beach House April 3-7. We were on spring break, but the weather was still winter! I had originally booked at the Westin but since they were not finished with their renovation, we switched to the Beach House. We absolutly loved that it was a beach-front hotel! We booked a patio room on the first floor. I will never do that again because the patio is not private. Hotel guest & others can come right through the gate to access the beach. No privacy at all! Because of the weather being so cold and rainy, we never sat outside so I wasted money booking that room category. The rooms were just okay. We usually stay in much better hotels so it was just average. It was mostly clean but they really need to pay attention to dusting. It was spotty. The beds are a little firm but I was so tired, it didn't hinder me sleeping. I agree with the other reviewers. The front desk staff needs training badly!! I hope the management seriously looks into this because they are the first people you encounter and set the tone for the vacation. These ladies needed serious training!! No customer/people skills at all.
When the rain stopped and the sun came out, everybody went to the pool....except the pool is not heated. It was ice cold!!! It was ashamed to see all those kids and this beautiful empty pool. I was told by a staff member that they will renovate that area at the end of the busy season so future travelers beware! We ate in the hotel resturant every morning for breakfast since it came in our package. We ate the buffet and it was very good. The only complaint is that they served the same food every morning. The waiters and waitresses were wonderful especially Deidre who took care of us each morning. She was a gem! We also loved the lady hostess from Russia...sorry I forgot her name.
Anyway to wrap this up. It's not bad we are just used to much better. We actually plan to return next spring break due to the fact to where this hotel is located. We will see if they finish the pool renovations by then.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Traveldiva Tracey:

The unusually cool weather in March and early April certainly wasn't winning any awards for best spring break weather in the southeast this year. Sorry you and your family didn't get to experience the more typical temperatures we enjoy that time of year. We do appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest and wish we would have performed up to our ability during your stay. I assure you we are working hard to improve our service levels, and we're making daily progress. Our focus on improving service, combined with all the exciting renovations we have planned for later this year, will help make The Beach House the resort of choice for many future Hilton Head Island visitors. One more thing........when you visit next year you will be able to enjoy our "heated" pool.

Thanks for choosing The Beach House and we look forward to having you back next year for Spring Break.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice location, convenient to shopping, dining and the beach of course. We had a king bed with a sleeper sofa. Room was average size, furnishing were nice. There were really only two negatives that we experienced during our stay. The first issue is housekeeping, my daughter found a beer bottle beside the sleeper sofa, and it still had beer in it! Room was dusty on the tops of furniture also. The second was the restaurant service. The food was actually very good, it was the lack of service that was really disappointing. They are so close to being a nice resort, they just need to strive a little harder. And most of the issues are easy fixes. But first train the housekeeping department, and hire a supervisor that actually does some QC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear ziszy:

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Hilton Head and thank you for taking the time to post your review and provide the honest feedback describing your experience. It is, however, very disappointing and surprising to hear about your negative experiences. I promise we are working very hard to improve our consistency so that these types of misses never occur again and every guest receives the level of service they expect when staying at The Beach House. It's very important to me and the rest of the staff that we provide a great experience for all our guests and we hope you will give us another chance to make that happen.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our school had two entire soccer teams there and the experience was great. Location is great for easy access to the shops right on the beach. The hotel is also in great condition and the staff is very accommodating. Security was also very good at helping to ensure that the kids were not out and about in the late hours. The sales manager, Peggy is very good to work with and our school looks forawrd to working with her for future stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear HoochSoccer:

It was great having all the soccer players here last week.....the kids were a lot of fun and all very well behaved. I Hope the teams competed well and had fun during there time off from soccer hanging around the resort. Thanks for taking time to post your wonderful review and I'm not surprised to see your comment about Peggy, she always takes great care of her groups.

Looking forward to seeing you and the teams again next year!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel was the best thing about it. It is right on the beach. You can walk through the pool area right onto the beach. It is also within easy walking distance of the Coligny shopping area with lots of little shops and some nice restaurants. The pool area is very nice - a snack place, a bar and a nice pool - and you can lounge around looking out at the ocean without actually getting sandy from the beach, if that's you're preference. The rooms were okay, nothing special. Ours had a mini- fridge and a comfortable couch. Downsides - the under-the-window AC units were impossible to control. The room was either stuffy or too cold. Also, there was no counter space in the bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The place was very clean and well-kept.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Pat D:

Thanks for choosing The Beach House during your recent trip to Hilton Head Island. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review and all the nice comments describing our wonderful resort. I especially appreciate your comments pointing out our friendly staff, they really enjoy the positive feedback. Sorry about the AC unit being a little finicky.......I'll look into that to make sure get it taken care of quickly.

We hope to see you back at The Beach House soon!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were so excited for our first trip to Hilton Head and when I saw the online pictures of this hotel and the map I thought we couldn't go wrong. The positives: Great location on beach near Coligny plaza and great biking to Sea Pines. Nice lounge area, decent pool area. This made our stay on the island still enjoyable. The negatives: The housekeeping left MUCH to be desired. The back of our toilet was never properly cleaned upon check-in or during our stay, the bathroom floor was not clean and in the corners there was longstanding grime. The newish sinks and vanities were fine but the bathrooms overall were very cramped and should be kept sparkling given the size. There were numerous stains on our hotel rug. The entertainment center and nightstand were DUSTY!!!! The TV had streaks across it. The dust ruffle on the beds were filthy. Apart from the very clean lobby and lounge the hallways, elevators and common areas were dank and not clean. I really got the sense that this was the "affordable" spot (which admittedly is why we were there) and so it was very busy and heavily trafficked. For the amount of traffic and clientele they see, they should invest more in upkeep and double or triple the housekeeping. It was really the worst housekeeping I've experienced in a long time. The front desk was also horrific. They were not even close to providing "customer service". The two women helping us had a very lazy attitude about questions and when we requested a different room for cleanliness they said, "well, it's a busy time. We haven't had any other complaints." That was it! Not, "Oh my goodness. That's unlike this hotel!" They couldn't even fake it. If you are used to Marriott or the like, forget it. This is a Motel 6 caliber. My husband stays on business at Holiday Inns and said this is the worst one he's experienced - odd for such a lovely vacation spot. Never saw a manager once. Total lack of pride in the property. Cater to a customer base with no expectations. Just a disappointment for our $186! Worth maybe $120/night. Do yourself a favor, stay one night less and pay for a Marriott, the Omni or other...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear MoreVacayPls:

I sincerely apologize for the poor service you experienced during your recent stay at The Beach House. We strive to perform at a high level in each department every day, obviously we had several unfortunate misses during your visit. Since we took over as the new ownership group on February 28th, we have been working diligently to improve training and processes in all areas so that we can provide the level of service our guests expect and deserve. The new leadership team that has been on property for the last six weeks has made tremendous progress towards elevating our overall performance, but we know we still have a ways to go to improve our service consistency. I have already shared your comments with my entire leadership team and all were very disappointed that we dropped the ball so badly.

We have many exciting renovations and enhancements planned for The Beach House during 2013 and I would love the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future so you can enjoy our resort and Hilton Head Island the way you expected to during your first trip. Please contact me directly at the email below so I can make arrangements for your future visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Elseser
jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here one night in February 2013 and the view of the ocean was spectacular. You can dine with a view of the beach and hang out in the lounge and hear the surf. A morning walk on the beach is absolutely great. Rooms are large and well appointed. Also very clean. We had a complimentary breakfast in the restaurant as well. I highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear MzeeRick:

Wow....I'm so happy that you enjoyed our resort so much. Thank you for choosing The Beach House during your February visit to Hilton Head and sharing your wonderful experience with all of our Trip Advisor readers. The Beach House really does have the spectacular views you mentioned and I'm blessed with the opportunity to see them everyday.

Come back soon.......the spectacular views will be waiting!

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Resort

Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the top ten family beaches in the country, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina is a quaint resort island only twelve miles long by five miles wide, renowned for sparkling blue water and sandy beaches. What guests seem to enjoy the most about the Beach House Resort is the direct beach access and convenient location on Coligny Beach. In addition to our gorgeous beach front, The Beach House is the only Hilton Head Island hotel within walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, activities, and fun-filled night life located at Coligny Plaza! At The Beach House, you're only steps away from miles of white sandy beaches and blue ocean waters, dozens of championship golf courses, more than 300 tennis courts and 100 miles of bicycle paths. The Beach House is one of the most family-friendly resorts on the island, offering a large kiddi pool with a fountain, and a focus on child entertainment with the seasonal activities. Take time to relax and enjoy our over-sized heated free-form pool and large sun deck packed with a generous amount of lounge chairs where you can bathe in the sun or enjoy the Resort's private beach area with lounge chairs and food and beverage service. Enjoy oceanfront dining at our new restaurant, The Porch, featuring Southern favorites and don't miss our famous Tiki Hut Bar offering live entertainment 365 days per year and volleyball court play viewing on the beach! We also specialize in groups, meetings, banquets and beach wedding events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.