We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, tiki bar is awesome, front desk is terrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Resort

Save Saved
You added Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #12 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, tiki bar is awesome, front desk is terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is unbeatable and the tiki bar is fantastic, although it being open is unreliable which was very dissapointing. The checkin process is mind numbing, it takes forever and the woman at the desk seemed to br completely clueless. Room service is broken, there is no other way to describe it. The front desk and restaurant don't seem to be in the same page about what's going on. We gave up on the idea of room service all together finally. As far as the rooms go, they are average, nothing to get excited about but they are clean and well maintained. The beds are not comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the ocean out our 3rd floor window but the outside of the windows were so filthy you could barely see through them. The pool is incredibly beautiful but unfortunately not heated so this time of year its unuseable. Overall a nice experience because of the location but it would have been nice to be able to take better advantage of the amenities. I think this hotel could benefit from a hotel impossible visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear sabuckowing,

I sincerely appreciate your review and the honest feedback detailing the positive and negative experiences during your stay and apologize that our performance was not what you expected or deserved. Although it's always disappointing to receive a review from an unsatisfied guest, these reviews are a useful tool in helping to improve our service consistency.

As you mentioned in your review, The Beach House location is certainly unbeatable and the Tiki Hut is definitely fantastic, but as the new owners of The Beach House we also recognize there are areas we must quickly improve. We have a comprehensive property improvement strategy in place that will help prevent the service inconsistencies such as the ones you mentioned. In addition, the coming months will see many beautiful enhancements to our recently renovated Resort........including heating the pool!

I assure you that your next visit to The Beach House will surpass your expectations.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    97
    40
    21
    14
See reviews for
95
101
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort Hilton Head Island. We had the most amazing time. Our view from our room was nice. The front desk helped us out a lot (because it was our first time on the Island) with getting around. The service in the restaurant was excellent. Over all I give them a 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Pagefamily-13,

Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay at The Beach House Resort. It's great to know that our wonderful ocean views and the Front Desk staff helped make your first visit to Hilton Head such a pleasant experience for your family. Our Food and Beverage Team works very hard to ensure that our service levels are always high and it's very rewarding to know you received such excellent service in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Beach House during your next trip to Hilton Head.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall stay was great except for early closing of the tiki hut. Already planning my next stay. Beachfront, with plenty of business offerings in short walking distance. Great welcoming bartender, kish,, @ the bar.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear moonnc,

Thanks for your wonderful review and the great comments.......especially the kind words regarding our longtime Bartender Kish, he is very passionate about making sure our guests have a great time while visiting our Marker 59 Lounge.

When you come back I'm sure you will be very pleased with all the improvements our new ownership group has planned for the very near future.

We're glad to know you enjoyed your experience during your recent stay at The Beach House and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here before the reno, and it seemed a little pricey for what it was. The reno made all the difference! Very nice, location is perfect, and the service was excellent. We even went to the hotel bar for happy hour. They did such a great job upgrading the place! A wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Beware: There is a resort fee but the pool, beach access and tiki bar are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear gcr22,

Thanks for the great review of The Beach House Resort. I couldn't agree more that the recent renovations have made made such a difference and that our beachfront location is perfect. It's great to know that you also experienced great service during your stay.

As I mentioned in an earlier response, The Beach House Resort changed ownership in February and we have very exciting plans to further enhance the property and elevate service levels to ensure all of our guests have an even more enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeff Elseser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is an older hotel that is ok. For the price I would say that it was not what i would expect out of a Holiday Inn. For 140$ a night I would expect a newer place or at least remodeled. The room had a very strong cleaner smell. I do not think I will be back to this location. Maybe spoend a few more dollars and stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff E, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Jay R,

Thank you for your recent review of The Beach House Resort. I'm very sorry you did not feel your stay was worth the price you paid.

I would like to let you know that on February 28th ownership of The Beach House Resort changed. We believe that The Beach House Resort is a great place to stay on Hilton Head because of our oceanfront setting and walking distance from Coligny Plaza, but we recognize there are opportunities to improve our guests' experiences. We are very excited about the many upcoming improvements we have in store that will help make The Beach House an even more enjoyable resort. I hope that you will reconsider staying at our resort again.........I'm confident you will have the experience you expect and deserve.

Best Regards,
Jeff Elseser
jeff.elseser@thebeachhousehhi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Arrived at our floor level and as soon as the doors opened we could here people yelling and blaring music. Of course we were lucky enough to be right next to their room. I went down to the front desk hoping just to be moved somewhere further away from that room so that we could sleep. To my surprise, the front desk was extremely helpful! Ryan, not only moved us, but we went from 5th floor with a window and noisy neighbors, to 3rd floor, ocean front with porch, and now extremely quiet, all for free and with no hassle whatsoever. Overall, great experience, Ryan's service was great, and made the overall experience great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn H, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments about The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort. We are very glad you enjoyed your time at our resort! We apologize about your noisy neighbors when you first arrived. I am pleased to know our front desk staff was able to assist you! We take pride in not only providing excellent facilities, but also excellent guest services. We hope you choose to return to our resort the next time you are on Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The pictures of this hotel make it look like an upscale, gorgeous resort. In reality, the property is much older, with none of the implied "swank."Most of the rooms do not face the ocean. Also be prepared for hidden charges on your bill, like a $10 resort fee for beach access and $1 "donation" to keeping Hilton Head beautiful. We had reserved a king size bed since we were on our Babymoon (and I needed the extra space! Haha), but were given a room with two doubles, with a delightful view of the parking lot. The point of vacation is not to sleep somewhere smaller than home! The staff was not accommodating to our issues or to the extra fees that were tacked on. Overall, we did not feel valued as customers at all, and will not be revisiting this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn H, General Manager at Beach House Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments about The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort. Please accept our apologies in regards to your billing issues. I have passed you review on to my entire team and will be sure our future guests do not have this issue. This hotel is now under excellent new ownership and management. We are so excited to provide all of our future guests enjoy their time on Hilton Head Island. We hope that when you come back to Hilton Head Island, you give our resort another chance. We think you will be pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your feedback, and for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Resort

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel Hilton Head
Holiday Inn Oceanfront Hotel
Holiday Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Holiday Inn
Address: 1 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly The Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the top ten family beaches in the country, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina is a quaint resort island only twelve miles long by five miles wide, renowned for sparkling blue water and sandy beaches. What guests seem to enjoy the most about the Beach House Resort is the direct beach access and convenient location on Coligny Beach. In addition to our gorgeous beach front, The Beach House is the only Hilton Head Island hotel within walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, activities, and fun-filled night life! At The Beach House, you’re only steps away from miles of white sandy beaches and blue ocean waters, dozens of championship golf courses, more than 300 tennis courts and 100 miles of bicycle paths. The Beach House is one of the most family-friendly resorts on the island, offering kids eat-and-stay-free programs, a large kiddies pool with a fountain, and a focus on child entertainment with the seasonal Island Kids Club. Take time to relax and enjoy our over-sized tropical free-form pool and large sun deck packed with a generous amount of lounge chairs where you can bathe in the sun. Enjoy oceanfront dining featuring Low Country culinary favorites and don't miss our famous Tiki Hut Bar and volleyball courts on the beach! We also specialize in groups, meetings, banquets and wedding events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.