We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Forest Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn South Forest Beach to your Saves list
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Last minute vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The location was great and the employees were very friendly. The only issue I had was the stained sheets and pillowcases that needed to be changed. I would possibly give them another shot when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHHI779, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We take pride in our hotel and strive to deliver the best in cleanliness. I am sorry that we didn't deliver our best to you during your recent visit. Please know that this review has been shared with my housekeeping department and appropriate action will be taken. Your compliments of our staff and location is greatly appreciated. It is our hope that you choose to stay with us again and give us another chance to show you our best.

Best regards,

Arlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    99
    78
    43
    41
See reviews for
116
99
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel was ok. It needed a lot of updates though. The door to our balcony was so heavy and stiff it was so hard to open and close. The staff at the hotel when we were there were very helpful and friendly. The short walk to the beach was also an asset. What a beautiful experience that was. It was also close to some good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHHI779, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you had with the door to your balcony. I am delighted that the team you encountered was all friendly and helpful. I am very pleased you found the location to be convenient. Please keep in touch with us so that we can let you know when we will be getting a full renovation. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Arlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I had a condo rental for the week of the RBC Heritage golf tournament at Hilton Head. Our rental ended on the Sunday of the final round, and not wanting to make our 6 hour drive home after the tournament ended, we reserved a room for Sunday night at the Comfort Inn. It is an older hotel, could use some updates, but was clean and suited our needs perfectly. The beds and pillows were top quality and very comfortable. The staff were efficient and friendly and the breakfast was good, well attended and consisted of several hot options along with the usual continental style selections. My only complaint is the Wi-Fi was almost nonexistent. I was only able to connect for a few minutes when we first checked in. The problem could have just been in the room we were in (Room 116). My suggestion is, that if having reliable Wi-Fi is important during your stay, that you ask if there are rooms where it is more dependable. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi was very poor in room 116. If you need this service, ask if there are rooms with better servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHHI779, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am very pleased to read that our facilities and services suited your needs perfectly. Your compliments of our beds, pillows, staff and breakfast are very much appreciated. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you had with the Wi-Fi connection. Thank you for staying with us; My team and i look forward to welcoming you again to the Comfort Inn South Forest Beach.

Best regards,

Arlene Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We thought the hotel was very nice and in a great location. It was walking distance to the beach and the shopping center. The lady that checked us in was very pleasant and recognized my husband as a gold member of the Choice Privileges program. We had a great room with a lovely view of the pond and pool. We saw quite a bit of wildlife from our balcony. Some other reviewers complained about the breakfast room and check-in area being in a separate building. This did not bother us, as we do like to walk. You could drive to the breakfast area. There was also covered parking, which was nice. We found the room clean and comfy. The only minor drawback was that the counter around the sink area was quite small and it was hard to place your toiletries but there is nothing that can be done about it and it is a minor issue. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHHI779, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and our facilities and services met your expectations. Our guest's satisfaction is our primary goal and i am very happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope that you will visit us again soon at the Comfort Inn, Hilton Head to have another super experience!

Best regards,

Arlene Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We made our reservations about a month in advanced and when we arrived they had the reservations completely wrong. The front desk personnel were very uninformed and did not seem to know whether the room was ready (it was 4:30) and under what name our reservation was made. After a great deal of confusion they finally found our reservation and correct credit card. After another long pause they were able to communicate with the cleaning supervisor that informed them that the room had been ready for over 2 hrs. First impressions were horrible, the right hand did not know what the left hand was doing and they appeared very unprofessional.
When we finally got to the correct building we found out that there was only one elevator functioning and the hotel was full to capacity. We were on the 5th floor which meant that our wait time was quite lengthy. To make matters worse there appeared to be prom parties going on and large crowds running and waiting for the elevator.
"Full service breakfast" was average at best with the food cold and a very limited number of tables for the number of guest that were present.
We will not return to this hotel when visiting HHI ever again, not worth the price or location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHHI779, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn. On the behalf of our entire team, i would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. The description of your stay is highly unlike the service we strive to provide and it is certainly dissappointing for us. Please feel free to contact me at 843-842-6662 thus we can have you come back and experience the real Comfort Inn experience.

Best Regards,

Arlene Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our room was damp and musty. It smelled and caused our clothes to smell that way. The only thing it had going for it was the location. Stay here only if it's your only option. It looked like they were trying to remodel, but this is an old place that needs to be gutted. There was some painting and new mattresses, but it's got a long way to go.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHHI779, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn. I sincerely apologize that your room was damp and had an unpleasant odor. I can assure you that this is not typical of all our rooms. I wish we had been able to get you into a different room so that you could have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our hope that you will choose to stay with us again and give us another chance to show you our best.

Best regards,

Arlene Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Anna
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

The gentleman that checked us in was very friendly, helpful and had a great sense of humor. The morning free breakfast was very good and well taken care of by the two staff ladies. The only negative was the young lady that closed out our bill. She sat in her chair never smiled or showed any friendliness toward her customer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHHI779, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Comfort Inn. I am very pleased to read that we fully met your expectations for breakfast and staff service during check in. I am very sorry to read about the negative experience your encountered during check out. Please know that corrective actions has been taken to prevent this situation from occurring in the future. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer our guests. Thank you for staying with us; we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

Arlene Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Forest Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Forest Beach

Address: 2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn South Forest Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn South Forest Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Comfort Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Forest Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.