We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Forest Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn South Forest Beach to your Saves list
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A decent stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My family stayed here during late March this year. Our room was clean but a little dated. But I didn't expect anything fancy because this was a budget hotel for us. We had a fridge and a microwave in our room also which was nice. But not all the rooms comes with a fridge or microwave. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was nice to see everyone smiling and not hating their jobs. The breakfast was decent. But you had to walk to another building for breakfast. The best part about this hotel was that it was close to the beach. It took us about 10-15 minute walk to the beach.The beach was clean and beautiful.Very different from Florida. What I love about Hilton head is that you have a beach feel but with a southern charm to it. Overall if you're on a budget, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    99
    77
    42
    41
See reviews for
115
98
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Spent 5 days here in a repeat visit.
Good location near the beach, restaurants and necessary stores. Staff was always helpful and pleasant. Pet friendly, but why the extra fees???? The rooms are cleaned the exact same way wheher a pet is there or not.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, OH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I really wanted to prove the other reviews wrong, but the bottom line is the hotel needs some serious renovation. You really can't ask for a better location/value for the money than this hotel. But, the rooms are definitely outdated and shabby. The couch was badly stained and worn. The mattresses on the beds were visibly sagging in the middle. In fact, sleeping was a challenge because there was no support and every movement rolled you toward the center. Breakfast left little to be desired; however, they served exactly the same foods each day. There was no variety on the "hot" foods - scrambled eggs and sausage patties. On the plus side, the surroundings are immaculate. The hotel had a wonderful outdoor heated pool, and the kids loved the little lake with pet alligator and turtles. The location is incomparable. We did not mind the walk to the other building for breakfast. It is no more of a walk than if you stayed at a large resort and had to walk from the far end to the lobby. We rented bikes and opted to bike to the beach even though the distance was easily walkable. Front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. Short of paying exorbitant rates at an upscale hotel or timeshare, you really can't find a property closer to the beach and shopping/dining area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Time for them to clean up and modernize. Only 5 min walk to fabulous beach. Friendly helpfull staff but main building needs updating along with rooms. Parking under building or outside . Breakfast was ok and overall value at this time of year was ok. Checkin and breakfast is in separate building , ok when not raining, nice pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This Comfort Inn is very close to the beach and has a very nice heated pool. It is very clean, quiet and comfortable. They were stripping the paint from the hallway walls and ceiling during the day and evening while we were there in late February 2012. However, at the end of each work day, they swept and washed the floors so there was no residual mess. The work was no problem to us while we were there. The breakfast is excellent with a good variety of hot and cold items. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back next year to stay for a week or two.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, TN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The old adage - you get what you pay for applies to this property. The check-in time was a lengthy process as a couple haggled with the desk clerk for a cheaper rate - which they did not receive. I was told to initial several areas of the check-in signature card. One that caught my eye was the use of an in-room safe for $1.50. which was a mandatory charge. It was explained to me that upon checkout, the guest must inform the desk clerk to remove the charge, otherwise it remains on the bill. Hotel personnel do not automatically remind the guest about this. In fact, when I asked him to remove it when I was checking out, he couldnt remove it and asked me to call the hotel the next day and speak to a manager about it. You wonder how many guests forget about this. The reception area is another building. After registration, one must drive about a block to the actual hotel guest rooms. The card readers did not work for anyone that I talked to this weekend. Several including a time-share sales guy who sits in the lobby told me that they had contacted hotel management several times to report this issue. The excuse was always that there was too much moisture in the air. The room was clean. This is an older property and is showing its age. In the morning, it was raining and we drove from the guest rooms building to the building housing the fitness center, registration desk and the breakfast area.The breakfast was a nice surprise and was well maintained. This property is located on the west side of South Forest Beach Rd that goes from Coligny Circle down to the Sea Pines Ocean Gate. If are here for more than 3 days get a condo through one of the many vacation rental companies. This property worked for us because we were here one night only passing through from a Bahamas cruise. We stay on HHI in May and October but lease a condo. Oh by the way, the guy who calls himself a concierge, postions himself in the lobby of the guest room building is actually trying to sign you up for time share sales presentations. Beware.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean side and 5th floor - although you cannot see the ocean, this east facing side is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The lobby, fitness room, business center and breakfast room are down the street. Fine if its not raining and you are able. The magnetic locks on the front doors don't work most of the time. The wall lamps do not turn on or off and need to be plugged in. The harps in the lamps won't take a standard cfl bulb so instead of buying miniatures, they just shoved the standard in the sockets so they crackle and sputter.The website photos show a desk/table in the room. No desk, no chairs. A room for 4 has 1 falling apart chair. We can watch the 32 inch screen from the floor or bed! There is a 5 foot space where a desk could go taken up by a stupid, useless safe! The setting is gorgeous, the room is useless!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Forest Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Forest Beach

Address: 2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn South Forest Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn South Forest Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Comfort Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Forest Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.