We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip to Hilton Head Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Hilton Head to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Dillon Road, Hilton Head, SC 29926   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Savings
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Weekend trip to Hilton Head Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first time visiting Hilton Head. The Hampton Inn was clean, comfortable and in a good location for being able to explore the island, The hotel is close to the airport, not on the beach and seems to be older but well kept. The staff was friendly and the ladys keeping up breakfast were fantastic. Work was being done around the grounds, pressure washing both days. Great care is being taken to keep the hotel up to date.

Our room seemed small compared to other Hamptons.Two queen beds, a table with chairs along with the normal microwave and refrigerator. The sink is separated from the shower and potty. The pool was nice sized and felt really good after a day at the beach. Breakfast both morning was great.

We spent a few hours at the beach close to the Westin Resort. The boardwalk down to the beach made it nice while carrying umbrellas, chairs and totes. If you like your space while at the beach this is not the place to go. Could have been crowded because of July 4th weekend or maybe it's just summer in Hilton Head. Fyi, traffic heading to the Island on Saturday afternoon was a mess!

Our first night we had dinner at Skull Creek Boathouse. The place was booming. With a two hour wait, we took a seat at the Dive Bar for drinks and oysters. Thanks to Jim for serving up the best oysters I've had in a long time. Dinner was good, not impressive. Great atmosphere for partying outside. After dinner we were on our way to find a spot for dancing and came across Red Fish Restaurant. Somehow deciding on a glass of wine instead of dancing. There is a large selection of wines for purchase and the wine list is goes on and on.

The next night, taking the advice of one of the employees from the Hampton, we had dinner at The Old Oyster Factory. The smoked Salmon appetizer was a meal in its self, mouth watering delicious! We both ordered the fresh Grouper, mashed potatoes/rice and asparagus. Really, really great dinner!

We visited Harbor Town in Seapines. Strolled along the marina, looking at the beautiful sailboats and yachts. There are a few nice retail shops to pick up gifts/souvenirs. We had ice cream from Cups & Cones just outside the lighthouse. There are plenty of oversized rocking chairs to relax and admire the scenery.

The Island is nice, very expensive for a family. Overall B at best.

We had a nice trip and would check out other hotels along the beach if we were to return.

SBG/BAS

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Beachgirlie42,

Beachgirlie42 thank you for the great review about our property and the Island. We hope to see you again at the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island!

Kind Regards,

Addison M. Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    154
    67
    15
    20
See reviews for
145
164
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a recent road trip, but spent a little time enjoying the area. The hotel is older, but reasonably well maintained and would appear relatively recently renovated. The furnishings are similar to most other Hampton Inns. Rooms are average sized with usual amenities, but no refrigerator or microwave. Window unit AC cooled the room well, and wasn't overly noisy by window unit AC standards. We heard very little room to room or floor to floor noise, so slept pretty well, despite fairly average beds. Breakfast was good, about what you'd expect. Price is about 25-30% higher than most Hampton Inns we've visited, I'm sure by virtue of its location mid-island in a popular resort area. Speaking of that, location is a plus, right off the main street, close to the beach, and you can't shake a stick without hitting a world class golf course on Hilton Head island. Close to the main shopping areas, about 7 minutes from Sea Pines, etc. Pool is outdoors, clean, but can get fairly crowded.

Travel tip: If you are driving onto the island, the traffic is AWFUL from mid-afternoon through mid-evening on Friday and Saturday, and from around noon Sunday through the evening leaving the island. It is well worth it to make your travel plans to allow you to avoid these times if possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
TopofTXtraveler,

Thank you for the review about the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island! I am glad that you enjoyed your time here on Hilton Head Island and we looking forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to the Island.

Kind Regards,

Addison M. Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, St. Barthélemy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Normally we love this hotel. It is just minutes from the beach and in a great location. They have a great pool, good breakfast, and clean rooms. At 9pm, I just wanted to get my toddler to bed, not switch rooms on a one night stay due to an AC unit that would not cool our room. It wasn't just the weather, because the hallway was frigid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Lauren B,

Thank you for staying with us in the past and choosing us again. I do apologize for the AC issue that you experienced during your last stay. I hope this doesn't hinder you from staying with us in the future! Thank you for the review Lauren B and I hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Addison M. Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The daily breakfast was great, the rooms were clean, and the service and staff were unmatchable. The pool was clean and refreshing. The staff had great recommendations for entertainment and food. The maids cleaned the rooms in a timely manner and were very nice. The hotel is in a great location for many public beaches accesses.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Wilkins5,

We appreciate your kind words about our staff and property. I will pass this review on to my staff. Please come back and stay with us again.

It is truly a pleasure to have you!

Kind Regards,

Addison M. Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn a few weeks ago for a short trip to the beach. The facilities were very clean and the staff was wonderful!! At the time of our visit the hotel was undergoing renovations but they worked around the guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
DRMason1,

Thank you for the review and staying with us at the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island!
Please come back and visit us again and see the upgrades that we have completed.

Thank you,

Addison M. Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

There was not anything special or bad about this hotel. Being a Hilton Honors member my wife and I knew what to expect. There is definitely consistency with Hampton Inn hotels and this property did not disappoint. The on-site pool was a great escape from the completely over crowded beaches. We knew what to expect being that this was a holiday weekend, but the pool was not crowded and very relaxing. We did go to the beach one day and it was close, but the pool was a much better option in our opinion. We used Hilton Honors points and booked last minute. It was a great use of points for the time of year that we went to the property. As always, the beds were very comfortable. This is very important when choosing a hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
ReviewerDave,

Thank you for the review ReviewerDave! We really appreciate the feedback and glad you enjoyed our pool. We hope to see you again at the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island.

Again thank you,

Addison M. Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here the week of July 4th, and the beach is with in a 5 minute driving distance. The staff was nice, and rooms were clean. The breakfast was nice from waffles, cereal, oatmeal etc. It was also nice to have popcorn and cookies available in the lobby in the evenings. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and if we come back to Hilton Head we will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
BrittNC,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island. Also, thank you for the great review on our property. I will pass your kind words on to our staff and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Best wishes,

Addison M. Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
6.0 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#14 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn South Forest Beach
Quality Inn South Forest Beach
#22 of 26 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#17 of 26 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Address: 1 Dillon Road, Hilton Head, SC 29926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hilton Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most conveniently located Hilton Head Island hotels, our Hampton Inn is just one mile from Hilton Head Airport, The Hilton Head Hospital and the beach. Whether you’re traveling on business or on vacation, you’ll enjoy the same range of free amenities at our Hampton Inn Hilton Head. Expect in-room internet access, a fitness room, outdoor swimming pool, and delicious waffles and more at Hampton's complimentary hot breakfast.Unwind in one of 121 spacious guest rooms and suites renovated in 2012. Recline on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, available in one king-sized bed room or a room with two queens. Work at the large desk or prop a laptop on the portable lap desk and sit back in the comfortable armchair.Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Hold a meeting in one of two modern meeting rooms with full technical support, or play a relaxing game of golf at anyone if Hilton Head Islands public courses including Port Royal Golf and Racquet Club, located opposite the hotel and Palmetto Dues Golf just a short drive away. Other Hilton Head attractions include two Tanger Outlet Malls, Belk’s, the Sandbox Children’s Museum, Coastal Discovery Museum, the Arts Center of Coastal Carolina, Shelter Cove, the Salty Dog and Harbour Town. You can also enjoy any one of the 12 restaurants located within walking distance of our hotel.Remember, never a parking fee and never a Resort fee! Wi-Fi is complimentary and each room offers a complimentary micro wave and refrigerator. Busses are always welcome at the hampton Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hilton Head Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.