We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Hilton Head to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Dillon Road, Hilton Head, SC 29926   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Online Military Rate
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here the week of July 4th, and the beach is with in a 5 minute driving distance. The staff was nice, and rooms were clean. The breakfast was nice from waffles, cereal, oatmeal etc. It was also nice to have popcorn and cookies available in the lobby in the evenings. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and if we come back to Hilton Head we will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
BrittNC,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island. Also, thank you for the great review on our property. I will pass your kind words on to our staff and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Best wishes,

Addison M. Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    111
    55
    10
    15
See reviews for
108
120
17
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton Inn in late June, 2013. The first night we arrived late and checked in no problem until we got to the room (174). The toilet handle was barely hanging on and you could tell it had been broken for some time. The bathroom fan did not work and their was black mold on the bathroom ceiling. These were not new problems they had been there for a while. We were so exhausted I called to the desk and asked to be moved to another room the next day and explained why. The next morning we did receive new keys and we moved all of our stuff to another room. The room need to be renovated...but it was clean. The cleaning and breakfast staff were all so helpful and nice so that helped to keep the rating average. I did like the refrigerator in the room but the bathroom is very small with the vanity sink in the entrance. Not wait I expect from a Hampton Inn. They were doing some renovations but to the common area and the exterior of the hotel.

Room Tip: I have found if you stay at Hampton Inn using the AAA discount you receive a less than ideal locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
georgiagirl1983 ,

Thank you for staying with us as well posting the review. We are renovating some of our rooms and the room that you stayed in is one of the rooms on our list to renovate next. I do apologize for the discomfort that you experienced and hope you choose the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island on your next trip to HHI.

Kind Regards,

Addison M. Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The employee at the front desk was very welcoming. He offered us maps of the area and restaurant recommendations. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Rachael K,

Rachael K. thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back at the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island again!!

Kind Regards,

Addison Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went to Hilton Head Island for a week's vacation, I looked up this hotel like I do every hotel, on Trip Advisor, and read that the reviews were pretty good, so we booked it. When we first got there after a 8 1/2 hour ride, we walked into a customer that was trying to figure out his problems with reservations from a third party company that may have made a mistake booking his stay, after a while he was sent a side and we were next. The front desk clerk asked us how we were doing and my girlfriend said "tired" well it seemed like that wasn't the responds she wanted because she just kinda looked at her and asked our names? When we got to our room it smelled very clean and looked nice, we did ask for two queens beds and got one king but that was alright. We had a rain storm one of the nights with some lighting and the cable went out ? When I called the front desk he told me half the Island was out and it should only be an hour or so, well after like 3 hours I figured it wasn't gonna be back on that night. We ended up watching a movie on the Ipad. I was little surprised because it was only a little rain a lighting, but we dealt with it. We went to the beach one of the days and came back to take showers before heading back out, while I was waiting for my girlfriend to get done drying her hair, she said the water was off, I thought I was hearing things, but it was true ! I called down to the front desk and the same women who had the happy disposition when we first got there was working, she asked someone that must have been standing there if they shut the water off and told me they did and it would be about a half hour before it was back on? I have stayed in a lot of places but never had the water shut off before? We were just glad neither of us were in the middle of taking a shower when this happened. I can say the room was kept clean and besides some of the corks of the above mentioned it was a nice place. The breakfast was standard nothing really special, and the location was at the south end of the island so if you wanted to go to the beach it wasn't a long drive, maybe 5 minutes. I think this hotel, with a little work could be a first class place for a middle class budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello JOHNNYB17,

Thank you for the review on our property. I do apologize for our mishaps. We are currently under a very small renovation and we should of made guests aware that the water was going to be shut off for a small period of time. I have spoken with our Maitnenance supervisor and we have discussed future protocol's for those sitiuations.

I have also put a call into our cable provider to explain that we had several guests complain about the cable outage that night. They where extremely apologetic and said if that sitiuation arrises again that the turn around time would be quicker.

Again, thank you for the review and I hope that you choose to stay at the Hampton Inn on HIlton Head Island again JOHNNYB17.

Kind Regards,

Addison Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on HIlton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrettsville, Ohio, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staff is great, but hotel is showing its age. Needs updated. Tile floor in bathroom looked dirty due to the old grout, mold in the shower. Made me wonder whether the room was as clean as I would expect a Hampton Inn to be. Room size was average. Parking spaces are way too small. The complimentary breakfast was great as usual; however, we had a difficult time finding places to sit in the small eating area. Overall, would probably stay here again after checking other options. Really like Hampton Inns, but this one needs a remodel soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Paula F,

Thank you for the review about our property. We are undergoing a small renovation as we speak and we are refreshing a lot of things that you mentioned. Please come back and visit the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island to see what we have changed!

Thank you Paula F,

Addison Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We completely enjoyed ourselves on this get-away weekend with friends. The Hampton Inn Hilton Head Island is a clean, comfortable place to stay ~ the air conditioner in the room was fabulous! The pool was refreshing and the breakfast was good ~ and the complimentary popcorn in the afternoon and cookies in the evening were a very pleasant surprise! We played tennins on the Chaplin Community Center public courts nearby and were a short drive to visit friends staying in Harbour Town. The stop at the Tanger Outlets on the way home was a bonus! Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Robin C,

Thank you for the review about our property! We appreiciate your kind words and hope you make a trip back to the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island.

Thank you again,

Addison Ackerly
Director of sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I experienced no problems while staying here. The room was what I expected. The mini fridge was a nice addition. The breakfast was pretty standard but free so can't complain. Overall good value. It's a good drive to the beach but if you have a rental car (which you pretty much require on hilton head) it's not a big deal since there is free beach parking and free hotel parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison A, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Kelly M,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review on our property! We hope that you choose the Hampton Inn on Hilton Head island for your stay again! Thank you Kelly M.


Kind Regards,

Addison Ackerly
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn on Hilton Head Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Address: 1 Dillon Road, Hilton Head, SC 29926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hilton Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most conveniently located Hilton Head Island hotels, our Hampton Inn is just one mile from Hilton Head Airport, The Hilton Head Hospital and the beach. Whether you’re traveling on business or on vacation, you’ll enjoy the same range of free amenities at our Hampton Inn Hilton Head. Expect in-room internet access, a fitness room, outdoor swimming pool, and delicious waffles and more at Hampton's complimentary hot breakfast.Unwind in one of 121 spacious guest rooms and suites renovated in 2012. Recline on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, available in one king-sized bed room or a room with two queens. Work at the large desk or prop a laptop on the portable lap desk and sit back in the comfortable armchair.Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Hold a meeting in one of two modern meeting rooms with full technical support, or play a relaxing game of golf at anyone if Hilton Head Islands public courses including Port Royal Golf and Racquet Club, located opposite the hotel and Palmetto Dues Golf just a short drive away. Other Hilton Head attractions include two Tanger Outlet Malls, Belk’s, the Sandbox Children’s Museum, Coastal Discovery Museum, the Arts Center of Coastal Carolina, Shelter Cove, the Salty Dog and Harbour Town. You can also enjoy any one of the 12 restaurants located within walking distance of our hotel.Remember, never a parking fee and never a Resort fee! Wi-Fi is complimentary and each room offers a complimentary micro wave and refrigerator. Busses are always welcome at the hampton Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hilton Head Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.