We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Hilton Head to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Dillon Road, Hilton Head, SC 29926   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Online Military Rate
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great stay, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Like Silas D., I was attending an event nearby, chose the Hampton over the official hotel for the lower rates, and was very happy with my choice.
I took a 1-BR suite and booked two additional rooms for friends, one a standard room, and one a somewhat larger "study" room. In my opinion, unless you're staying all by yourself, each upgrade is well worth the modest additional charge. The suite was a particularly good deal -- for our stay dates, it was just $15/night more than a standard room and $12 more than the study, and has not only a separate sitting room with more drawer and closet space, but also an extra half bath.
The staff is very efficient and accommodating - all three rooms were located exactly where I'd requested in the reservation comments, and not only were the packages I had delivered to the hotel waiting near the desk when I arrived, so was a cart to take them to my room.
This is a very convenient location, just a mile from Port Royal Golf Club, near the beach and excellent restaurants, and right across the highway from a shopping center with a grocery store. (We bought snacks and drinks to store in our fridge.)
It's also right by the island's airport, so be forewarned that you might hear the occasional plane. Though in my experience, never late at night, only during the day or early evening. They sure didn't disturb my sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    127
    59
    11
    15
See reviews for
120
133
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loris, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Even though I stayed there only 1 night, it was a great place.
The Staff were very courteous and friendly, the room was clean and fresh and the location was excellent.
I am hoping my wife and I can return to Hilton Head and when we do, it will be our first choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and had an amazing time. When we arrived, check-in was very fast and the room was comfy, clean, and homey. Breakfast was a treat as they always kept the popular food items restocked, and dining area was decorated in cafe/lounge style with comfy chairs and a breakfast bar. Delicious! Convenient to shopping areas, and many restaurants as well as the beach! Will come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had a conference at another hotel fairly close by and had a slight concern as it is usually better to stay right where the conference is. I decided to stay at the Hampton Inn with a much better rate and better reviews and it dis not disappoint!

Although the room wasn't huge, it was more than comfortable. It had a good bed, a nice table/desk for working and even had a fridge. The breakfast in the AM was first rate as well. The front desk and other staff I encountered were always very polite and eager to help out

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I were traveling with my mother, and they happened to have a family suite which was perfect for us - one room with a king bed, the adjoining room with two twins. Being in the same room with us made her feel more secure as opposed to being down the hall. Both rooms had full baths, microwave and mini fridge. The bath's vanity is separate from the toilet/shower, which is a bit odd, but worked OK. The "kids" room also had a foosball table. Although the floorplans of the rooms could have been better, they were both extremely comfortable. Our closet's sliding doors were jammed off the track when we arrived, but a call to the front desk brought maintenance out within minutes. The AC unit was noisy, cutting on and off all night.

The hotel must have been full, because the breakfast area was mobbed this Saturday and Sunday. The breakfast area is smaller than is typical for most Hamptons, and the traffic flow around the food counters was awkward with the crowd. Fortunately, the staff kept the steam table filled. After securing our food, we headed for the poolside patio, which adjoined the lobby, and enjoyed breakfast outside.The hotel is next door to the airport, which was not a problem at night, but did make for a noisy morning on the patio.

After we checked out, we realized that we had not printed our driving directions, so we returned to use the business center, which was graciously allowed by the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deton, tx
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and were pretty pleased with our stay. Nice room, pretty pool on an island that is just gorgeous. The breakfast was good as most are with this chain. Clean dining area and helpful breakfast staff. Front desk staff were also friendly and accommodating. The only recommendation I would make is to make sure the housekeeping staff clean behind the bathroom door. My wife was really turned off by the hair on the floor there. That being said, I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,SC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very mediocre. Front desk (female) was actually rude when I asked a simple question. Not accustomed to that with the Hilton Brand. (Everyone has a bad day so I wouldn't trash the hotel based on one interaction with one person as sometimes happens).
Rooms are small but the hotel is an older design. Location not bad - easy trip to popular spots on the island. Breakfast was typical for Hampton. No strong feelings either way. Not bad for a quick weekend at the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Address: 1 Dillon Road, Hilton Head, SC 29926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hilton Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most conveniently located Hilton Head Island hotels, our Hampton Inn is just one mile from Hilton Head Airport, The Hilton Head Hospital and the beach. Whether you’re traveling on business or on vacation, you’ll enjoy the same range of free amenities at our Hampton Inn Hilton Head. Expect in-room internet access, a fitness room, outdoor swimming pool, and delicious waffles and more at Hampton's complimentary hot breakfast.Unwind in one of 121 spacious guest rooms and suites renovated in 2012. Recline on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, available in one king-sized bed room or a room with two queens. Work at the large desk or prop a laptop on the portable lap desk and sit back in the comfortable armchair.Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Hold a meeting in one of two modern meeting rooms with full technical support, or play a relaxing game of golf at anyone if Hilton Head Islands public courses including Port Royal Golf and Racquet Club, located opposite the hotel and Palmetto Dues Golf just a short drive away. Other Hilton Head attractions include two Tanger Outlet Malls, Belk’s, the Sandbox Children’s Museum, Coastal Discovery Museum, the Arts Center of Coastal Carolina, Shelter Cove, the Salty Dog and Harbour Town. You can also enjoy any one of the 12 restaurants located within walking distance of our hotel.Remember, never a parking fee and never a Resort fee! Wi-Fi is complimentary and each room offers a complimentary micro wave and refrigerator. Busses are always welcome at the hampton Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hilton Head Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.