We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop when we visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Divina

Trattoria Divina
33 Office Park Road, Suite 224, Outside of Sea Pines Gate!, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-686-4442
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Divina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pope Ave & Greenwood Drive
Description: Nestled in Park Plaza, Trattoria Divina offers fine dining Italian food like the island has never seen it. Chef Hugo Lee brings his culinary expertise from San Diego with over 15 years of experience creating Italian food that surprises and delights our patrons. From the Lobster Pot Pie to the Ice Sculpture Sorbet, everything presented is made in house. Chef Hugo prepares everything from sauces to soups from scratch daily.
Charleston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must stop when we visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have had several different meals at Trattoria Divina and everything has always exceeded our expectations. This is by far the best Italian food that I have had outside of Italy itself (actually better than most places in Italy). The staff is always helpful and the give you little extras from the Chef. It is a staple to our visits to Hilton Head.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    67
    29
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Trattoria Divina is one of our favorite places on HHI; we have dined there many times (at least a dozen) since it opened. Our most recent vist was a dinner in March. We have never been disappointed. The food is consistently good, and the service is friendly and professional. (Dom is our favorite waiter on the Island, and is very knowledgable about both food and wines. He always makes us feel very welcomed.)

Most pasta is freshly made, and there is always a nice slection of fresh seafood dishes. Chef Hugo, who was trained in Napa at French Laundry, has some interesting and creative dishes. There usually is a complimentary glass of Prosecco, as well as an amuse-bouche. The wine list is quite good, and Dom is very knowledgable on wines, and can about recommend a choice that pairs well with food, without pushing the most expensive selections.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry M, Owner at Trattoria Divina, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your visit and your review. I like to say Dom owns the place because he cares so much. We're blessed to have him working with us.

If you've read my previous comments, I've mentioned how Trattoria Divina is a labor of love. That really starts with the heart of our restaurant, Executive Chef Hugo Lee. His passion for finding the best extends well outside the kitchen.

The people at Trattoria Divina are there because of the gifted culinarian (thank you Gaston). It's not only a great place to eat and meet, it's also a great place to work!

We look forward to having you again.

PLEASE NOTE: New Menu APRIL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Outstanding ambiance, service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our last dinner of our two week stay in Hilton Head and it was a very good find.

The decor and ambiance are outstanding. The room is divided by a wall with four stone arches. On one side, a bar/lounge occupies one end, some dining tables in the middle and the other end is a private dining room with a wine rack covering the wall. The other side is all dining tables with the walls painted in old country themes by art students from Savannah and a fabric canopy for a ceiling. A very nice comfortable fine dining theme, which even when full is fairly quiet.

The tables had nice cloth table cloths and napkins, water and wine glasses, silverware, etc. to provide an up-scale feel. The service was faultless and never had us wondering when something would be taken care of.

We were treated to complimentary Prosecco and a beet appetizer to start. The table bread was served with butter and hummus, but the hummus was made with just enough Cayenne pepper to provide an interesting good flavor with a slight bite. We had an Italian wine from the Montepulciano area, salad, seafood and linguine with a very good marinara-like sauce , scampi and lobster bisque soup. All were very good to excellent. The seafood and linguine portion was quite large and is large enough to split.

I really liked this restaurant and am sorry I had such a late lunch that I was not hungry enough to try other dishes - next time, and there will definitely be a next time.

This is a popular restaurant and reservations are highly recommended unless you eat very early.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry M, Owner at Trattoria Divina, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting our Trattoria during your visit. Clearly you enjoy travel, dining and sharing your experiences with others.

Our establishment's been only open for 3 years. My wife and I are celebrating our first year of owning it. Chef Hugo Lee continues to explore new dishes that simply wow the taste buds.

tripadvisor reviewers have singlehandedly put Trattoria Divina on the map. without the time and attention to detail of reviews like yours we simply wouldn't be here.

Best regards,
Harry Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton head
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the very best in HH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited Trattoria Divina with 2 other couples celebrating 2 birthdays. One of the couples stated it was their favorite on the island. Well, I have to admit,after coming to HH 30 plus yrs, it is now my favorite also! Exceptional food and impeccable service.
We will definitely be back, and highly recommend!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We ate here on our last visit to Hilton Head a year ago. We enjoyed it so much then that I decided to go there for my birthday dinner this time. I was not disappointed. In fact, I thought the food was even better this visit. All five of us loved our varied meals. The preparation, taste and presentation of the food was excellent. The waiter, I believe it was Dominick, was simply amazing. He was friendly, helpful and professional. One of the best waiters I have ever had. Trattoria Divina will continue to be our go to restaurant on the island. I believe it is tops.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Divina also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Trattoria Divina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Divina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.