We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fun and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent Fun and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

If you want huge slides and a theme park then go to Disney World. If you want a relaxing family atmosphere that we experienced then this is a great stay. We had so much fun with the resort. The resort had games for kids, pupet shows, magic shows, bomb fires, and more. One thing is for sure Hilton Head is an upscale beach that provides the ultimate in relaxing. If you want theme park atmosphere then go to Disney or go to Myrtle Beach. This was a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2002
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    145
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
379
130
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

The Disney resort on Hilton Head Island is terribly OVERRATED. The hotel was just okay, nothing special. The only ice maker on the property was not working and hadn't been for a couple of days, car alarms going off throughout the night, the pool was small and CROWDED, the pool slide not that great. We were told as guests of the hotel we could make local phone calls for a small fee (wow, what a plus) and that we could buy a newspaper near the pool (located on the other side of the resort). Must take the hotel van to the beach-don't try to drive or you'll be circling for a space for eternity. The beach house is nothing special- the water fountains that are supposed to shoot out of the ground weren't working and the gate from the beach to the beach house wasn't working. Lots of women and kids unhappy about that! The beach was EXTREMELY CROWDED- I cannot stress that enough!! $120 for chairs for a family of four and not much room. Unless you enjoy large crowds and highly inflated pricing look for another destination. We have stayed at other locations on Hilton Head and were very pleased. Good luck!! Our family checked out early and headed to the Pawleys Island area. A great ending to our vacation!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2005

My family absolutely loved the southern hospitality provided by Disney. The resort is clean and very well appointed. Beach house has it's own pool, plus the south shore beach has absolute best beach in South Carolina. There is as much to do as you wish, however an afternoon nap is also possible.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2005

My family of 5 loved the Disney resort and the surrounding area. We had a 2 bedroom villa that was perfect for our needs. We had a full kitchen, so we had the choice of eating in or out, and one night we had FABULOUS pizza from Guiseppi's nearby. We rented bikes for our stay for a very reasonable price and were able to ride our bikes to pick up our pizza. The Shelter Cove mall is within biking distance, and the harbour with all of its shops and restaurants is within walking distance, as are many restaurants. But the resort itself is only accessible by a bridge, so it remains somewhat secluded. The pool was a blast with its waterslide, and the beach house was wonderful. My only suggestion would be that the snack bars remain open later than 5pm; after a full day of sun and fun, grabbing a quick meal at the snack bar would have been better than having to run out for dinner or cook. The kids' programs are the greatest, the counselors alot of fun, and the campfire and arts & crafts program were not to be missed. All in all, my kids talk of WHEN we go back, not IF.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is a paradise within paradise. If you have ever been to Hilton Head, you probably love it to begin with. Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort provides you with a great relaxing vacation, and you will not want to leave.

There is plenty to do for kids & lots to do for adults. You will never be bored. Be sure to arrange a "Dolphin Tour" through Disney. The trip is limited to just six people, and for us it was just our family of 5. We saw a lot of dolphins close up. It was great.

Hilton Head has some of the best restaurants in South Carolina. Be ready to add a few pounds!

Our room had a view over the marsh. We sat on our balcony and saw eggrets, pelicans, woodpeckers & rabbits. One day we even spotted a bald eagle. We had a two bedroom villa. Full kitchen, washer/dryer, large walk-in shower and jacuzzi are all part of the room.

The pool is a short walk from most villas. A shuttle takes you to the Disney Beach House where you have access to the beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This was one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever had, and I would certainly recommend Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2004

AMAZING! CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! Relaxing! Great staff! I love this resort. We just returned from a girls only weekend there with my best friend and my sister. I cannot wait to return in the warmer months with my DH and Ds! Disney does it great!
Stay here if you plan on going to Savannah also the drive there is less than 30 minutes and the scenary is amazing !

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2004

After 10 days at WDW this was a welcome respite for myself and my family.
We had a huge 2 BR Villa with a wonderful deck, jacuzzi, kitchen, comfy beds, washer and dryer
and great activities for the family.
The pool was heated and so much fun. Especially the Big Dipper Slide.
We would love to return next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.7 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.1 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.