We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our family just returned from our second trip to Disney's HHI Resort; we have four kids under 10 years old. This is our favorite family vacation spot. The location at Hilton Head is ideal and the accommodations are nice and spacious, but the employees make this place very special. As usual, Disney hires and trains the best. Special thanks to Reggie and Joey!

The resort is located among giant live oaks alongside a marsh on one side. We love the layout of the property. At the center of the resort is the Big Dipper swimming pool along with the activity center and a 100 yard fishing pier. It is generally a contained area, which is perfect for smaller kids to have a some freedom to play without constant oversight. The resort is not very big, so any room is close enough to the pool area, but if you have small kids I do not recommend the main building.

The pool area has daily lifeguard/recreation staff from 8am – 10pm. They wear professional Disney lifeguard apparel and they take their jobs very seriously - always standing and pacing with eyes on the water. They rotate every 15-20 minutes which made us feel confident that fresh eyes were on the water. We witnessed their quick instant reaction to a false alarm one day. When they are not on lifeguard rotation, they are having fun hosting activities, crafts, campfires, and anything else that you might ask them to help with. After a couple of days they knew all of our kids by name. Many of them remembered us from last year. On Tuesday nights they have a Pirate Pool Party – games, prizes, freezing cold water balloons, and a pool peninsula dance party. The party ends with fireworks across the water. There are other pool activities on most days, including slide races, contests, and karaoke. They play a great mix of music throughout the day. It is family friendly entertainment, and my wife and I had as much fun as the kids.

Disney has beach property and a beach house across the road by shuttle. The beach property is nice, but our family only went to the beach one time. We had more fun at the pool area. It seemed like a different clientele at the beach house and the beach was very busy since it is shared with another resort. We preferred the intimate atmosphere at the main property.

If you are up early say hello to Mike the pool guy. He is the unofficial tour guide. There is also a man name B'Lou who performs amazing card tricks and other magic tricks. There is also a dog named shadow is supposedly 18 years old...a little Disney magic, too.

I miss the rustic charm of the rooms that existed before the renovations. The renovations were needed, but I only wish they would have preserved some of old-style cabin feel. It is my only complaint. Until next year...

Room Tip: Lower floors in buildings backing to the marsh
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
On The Road
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was our third full week at this resort, and or 6th visit overall.
We have stayed in everything from a Studio, 1BR, 2BR, and 3BR Grand Villa.

When you check the price of this resort, you may think that the price is high. However, the value of this property is not in the lodging. The value of this resort comes in the FULL slate of activities for visitors of ALL ages. The staff at the resort is absolutely spectacular.

I have to make a HUGE shout out to TJ, the Naturalist on staff at the resort, as well as all of the Youth Activities staff who make it a point to learn each child's name, and make them feel like they have just made the best new friend EVER. They are ALL fantastic! From the Campfire, to the Mickey Tie-Dye shirts, to the Beach In Your Pocket activity, to the Pirate Night Pool Party, to the Beach and Marsh Walks, as well as the REALLY fun and memorable activities hosted by B'Lou and Shadow - you will make memories and have moments that MAKE a vacation experience with every dollar.

The rooms just recently were renovated and restyled and have taken on a modern/contemporary beach theme, yet still having some rustic elements of the old Hunting Lodge theme. The rooms are absolutely beautiful!

We were in a 3BR Grand Villa, and had it packed to capacity with 12 family members. We cooked each and every night, with most nights featuring something straight from the grill. A note for those who grill, the grills are stainless steel, and are made of a fairly thin gauge metal, with a portion of the grill being more of a griddle. Due to this feature, the grills are less than ideal for large cuts of meat. There are few slits in the grill that allow the heat and smoky grill flavors to make their way to the meat. I am going to shop for more of a bar grill top to fit on the grill for our next trip. The surface of the grills get VERY hot, which can scorch your meal before it actually has a chance to cook.

On the bright side, the grills are cleaned... TOTALLY... inside and out, and the cooking surface scrubbed each and every morning, along with having all the charcoal and ash emptied. For summer visits, I suggest lighting the grill no later than 5:00pm, it gets dark quickly, and the is usually a fairly high demand for the the grills. You may want to keep your eye out for folks to share a grill with! I have shared a grill several times. If you catch things early enough, you can arrange it ahead of time according to what you are cooking.

For our entire week, for 12 people, we spent just a little over $100 per couple for a 6 night trip. Not too bad considering there was $75 worth of T-bone steaks on that bill!

We spent $75 for one meal... for just two people... (appetizer, entree, and dessert). SO if you are planning a stay in a one bedroom or larger villa, plan ahead to cook some meals that your family will talk about ALL year! My Dad, who doesn't usually say too much about food, has talked about our meals since we left the island! Grilled Pork Chops, Grilled Chicken Breasts, Steaks etc... SO easy to cook and save a ton of $$$ if you plan your sides dishes ahead of time, and shop smart!

From the sunsets, to watching the tides come and go (REALLY High and REALLY Low times on the island... very entertaining to watch!) The hammocks, the Adirondak Chairs, horseshoe pits, cornhole boards (several, all around the resort!), shuffleboard, ping pong, Foosball, just SO many things to do around the resort from dusk to dawn and when the sun goes down!

If your family like to fish, be prepared to catch all sorts of creatures, from crabs, to sharks (we saw a 4ft shark caught on the beach on morning!) there are a ton of things to do.

If you have never visited Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, you need to remember that the resort is NOT... ON... THE...OCEAN! The resort is surrounded by water on all four sides on an island along Broad Creek and the Shelter Cove Marina. The front desk said that they have folks arrive by boat from time to time! The resort is just a couple miles from the beach, providing your own transportation or taking the resort shuttle back and forth to Disney's Beach House.

With so much to do, there is no such thing as 'boring' on a HHI vacation! Do you research, HAVE A BLAST, and enjoy every minute!

Oh, and enjoy the lemonade and cooking in the Live Oak Lodge each afternoon!

One thing that you MUST do before you leave? Take an afternoon nap in a hammock, but take along a pool towel to use as a pillow, and be prepared for a crazy diamond/rope patter on your back when you wake up! (Marsh front hammocks are best!)

Room Tip: Ask for a Marsh View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Ok when I go to Disney in any form I become the biggest kid! I love this resort we belong to the Disney Vacation Club so we use our points here and it's so worth it! If you are looking for a relaxing low key vacation look no further. Our family loves Disney-world but as you know it could be crazy running from ride to ride attraction to attraction. Here in Hilton Head it's the magic of Disney without the rides. We went with our boys and totally enjoyed everything. We went fishing, Kayaking, hung out by the pool and beach. What can be better than to relax on a hammock under beautiful trees. The resort also has sweet activities for the kids (my guys are older but when they were small they loved the "Un-Birthday Party" in Summary you cannot go wrong here it's truly a relaxing experience :)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a wonderful time we had at Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort! This was our 1st vacation to Hilton Head Island. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. With there being 6 of us in my family and brother coming in to visit overnight we had plenty of room!
Loved everything about this resort! Even though we were not at Walt Disney World (where we vacation annually) we could feel the Disney magic that we are accustomed to. Lots of activities for the kids to do. Spent some time alone with my 6DD making a vacation pillow. Pool games for all the kids and pool side karaoke were fun! Mickey waffles and dole whips, just like at Disney!
Can't wait to return here for our next family beach vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have spent the past 2 nights here at Disney's HHI resort in a Studio in the Live Oak Lodge building. I cannot say enough about this place! The rooms are newly renovated and beautiful! The pool and recreation areas are so fun! The service from all the cast members is top notch! This was our first stay at a DVC resort, but it definitely won't be the last!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We are just wrapping up a week stay at Disney Hilton Head Resort. I think this might be out favorite Disney resort yet!

The resort is small and the parking area backs to a marina. The marina (Shelter Cove) has shops and several restaurants which are within a 5-7 minute stroll from the Disney cottages. There is really no need for a sit down restaurant on the grounds.

Our room was in building 15 and we had a great view of the marsh. We had a two bedroom which is plenty of room for our family of six. The room was newly remodeled and very clean.

We enjoyed many of the resorts activities including the marsh tour with a naturalist. Although this is owned by Disney and has all the niceties of a Disney
resort, it's focus is water and nature activities.

This is a great resort and we look forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
507 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are DVC members with HHI as our home resort. Stayed here for a brief 3 night stay in a 1 BDRM the week of July 4th. Our room (1211)was located in the Lodge. Our last stay at the resort was April '13. Sadly we are beginning to come to the realization that our trips with our 3 boys-- 11, 14, and 16 are going to be going away sooner than we had ever imagined. College is looming around the corner. So this stay was very special to us all.

We liked most of the results of the renovations. Do miss the old full size picnic tables on the balconies. And are really going to miss the old green and white beach towels that are being transitioned over to white beach towels.

Our stay was all good. We just relax at HH. Nothing like having a secluded pool at the resort and a lovely beachside pool. Do wish that Disney had never allowed Palmetto Dunes folk to use their parking facilities.....makes driving down to the beach difficult in the summer.

I always laugh when I am driving across the bridge into the resort that the Hilton Head powers to be were scared that Disney was somehow going to put something terrible on their precious island. The resort is one of the best kept secrets on the whole island. Unlike all the Marriott properties scattered all over the place.

We love our home resort. All the perks of excellent Disney service without ever having to buy a single theme park ticket.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.7 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.1 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing