We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yeah!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Ok when I go to Disney in any form I become the biggest kid! I love this resort we belong to the Disney Vacation Club so we use our points here and it's so worth it! If you are looking for a relaxing low key vacation look no further. Our family loves Disney-world but as you know it could be crazy running from ride to ride attraction to attraction. Here in Hilton Head it's the magic of Disney without the rides. We went with our boys and totally enjoyed everything. We went fishing, Kayaking, hung out by the pool and beach. What can be better than to relax on a hammock under beautiful trees. The resort also has sweet activities for the kids (my guys are older but when they were small they loved the "Un-Birthday Party" in Summary you cannot go wrong here it's truly a relaxing experience :)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    145
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
379
130
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a wonderful time we had at Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort! This was our 1st vacation to Hilton Head Island. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. With there being 6 of us in my family and brother coming in to visit overnight we had plenty of room!
Loved everything about this resort! Even though we were not at Walt Disney World (where we vacation annually) we could feel the Disney magic that we are accustomed to. Lots of activities for the kids to do. Spent some time alone with my 6DD making a vacation pillow. Pool games for all the kids and pool side karaoke were fun! Mickey waffles and dole whips, just like at Disney!
Can't wait to return here for our next family beach vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have spent the past 2 nights here at Disney's HHI resort in a Studio in the Live Oak Lodge building. I cannot say enough about this place! The rooms are newly renovated and beautiful! The pool and recreation areas are so fun! The service from all the cast members is top notch! This was our first stay at a DVC resort, but it definitely won't be the last!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We are just wrapping up a week stay at Disney Hilton Head Resort. I think this might be out favorite Disney resort yet!

The resort is small and the parking area backs to a marina. The marina (Shelter Cove) has shops and several restaurants which are within a 5-7 minute stroll from the Disney cottages. There is really no need for a sit down restaurant on the grounds.

Our room was in building 15 and we had a great view of the marsh. We had a two bedroom which is plenty of room for our family of six. The room was newly remodeled and very clean.

We enjoyed many of the resorts activities including the marsh tour with a naturalist. Although this is owned by Disney and has all the niceties of a Disney
resort, it's focus is water and nature activities.

This is a great resort and we look forward to returning very soon!


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
466 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are DVC members with HHI as our home resort. Stayed here for a brief 3 night stay in a 1 BDRM the week of July 4th. Our room (1211)was located in the Lodge. Our last stay at the resort was April '13. Sadly we are beginning to come to the realization that our trips with our 3 boys-- 11, 14, and 16 are going to be going away sooner than we had ever imagined. College is looming around the corner. So this stay was very special to us all.

We liked most of the results of the renovations. Do miss the old full size picnic tables on the balconies. And are really going to miss the old green and white beach towels that are being transitioned over to white beach towels.

Our stay was all good. We just relax at HH. Nothing like having a secluded pool at the resort and a lovely beachside pool. Do wish that Disney had never allowed Palmetto Dunes folk to use their parking facilities.....makes driving down to the beach difficult in the summer.

I always laugh when I am driving across the bridge into the resort that the Hilton Head powers to be were scared that Disney was somehow going to put something terrible on their precious island. The resort is one of the best kept secrets on the whole island. Unlike all the Marriott properties scattered all over the place.

We love our home resort. All the perks of excellent Disney service without ever having to buy a single theme park ticket.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Another sweet memory with the disney's experience.

The child at heart for disney's experience is great; plus more with the quality of relaxing welcome from Hilton are the excellent combination.

This is the place you're looking for.

No more searching, your wandering around stop here.

Very good service with smile and co-operate with all disney's facilities.

Your sweet family would never forget magical moment at Hilton.

I'll be back, with no excuse.

Love you, the Hilton.

Piyawong Setthawong M.D., Ph.D.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Been coming here for 18 years and over 25 trips and many changes have taken place and some I am not a fan of however since HHI controls the exterior I still find peace here! Disney has been transforming the resort to a more Florida feel rather than a Low Country SC feel that we bought into!? Rooms are now brighter with a mix of modern and old which is strange? New synthetic hardwood floors remove the coziness that carpet gave and seems to get your feet dirtier? Maybe they did too much? New furniture is comfortable however dining room table seems too fancy for low country? Picnic tables on the decks are gone and small recycled plastic tables and movable benches replace them. Be careful because our grand kids slid the benches to the deck rail and could have fallen?

Pools are still very nice, most cast members are great. Beach at the beach house is just AWESOME since it gets rebuilt often! An oddity at the beach house was the closing of the sand bar, however they reopened it up recently but it has limited hours and A VERY LIMITED FROZEN DRINK MENU!?

Summertime parking is a PREMIUM, Tuesdays brings a 10 minute firework display out in the creek and DVCHHI is the best place to watch! October would be my best choice to visit because water is still warm, weather comfortable and it is LESS crowded on the Island! A new Kroger is nearby however check out the Fresh Market down the street! A Whole foods is opening at the end of the month!

If you come ask for a second floor it should be quieter for you and check the chairs under the live oak at the end of the parking lot!

Paddle boarding, kayaking, paddle canoe is available at an activities window and plenty of crafts for kids!
Hoping to return summer and October in 2015!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.7 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.1 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort is located on the picturesque coast of South Carolina, 5 hours from Walt Disney World Resort. This warm home-away-from-home-fashioned after a 1940's hunting and fishing lodge-combines local charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun for the entire family. The resort features multi-roomed villas and many recreational activities, including 12 miles of heavenly beaches famous for clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.