We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DVC members since 1999! We love Hilton Head!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Everywhere
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“DVC members since 1999! We love Hilton Head!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Back from our annual trip to Disney's Hilton Head. Everything, from the accommodations to staff, was excellent as usual! After over 10 visits to HHI, this was our first stay in the Lodge; which was nice and convenient to the free coffee, hot cider and cookies in the reception area! We own at HHI and BWV, but we love Hilton Head!! See you next Thanksgiving!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    118
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
284
97
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife, baby boy, and I made a last minute decision to go away for the Thanksgiving weekend.

We had been to Disney's Vero Beach Resort but never to Disney's Hilton Head Resort. We called to check availability and they had a two bedroom villa for less than $250/night, so we booked.

Due to zoning restrictions, there is no grand entrance from the main road. Even after seeing the sign out front listing the Resort as one of the businesses in the front plaza, we felt a little lost as we wound our way through to the front gate. There isn't anything explaining it, but you need to call (from the gate box) to the front desk to announce your arrival and get in.

Once you're in, you check in at the lobby upstairs, which was beautifully decorated for the holidays...complete with hot apple cider. There is a dog house for Shadow out front that reminds you that the Disney magic is very present here.

We parked next to the harbor, which is fun for the adults and kids alike to see the huge yachts, etc. It's a very quaint harbor, with restaurants and shops, but not heavily commercialized. There is an art center a 5'minute walk away that had an outdoor concert open to the public.

On our way to the room, we walked through the campground-like courtyard with horseshoes, bean bag toss, and hammocks. You can rent bikes to go on and off property, which we really wanted to do but it was too cold for the baby.

The room was huge. We didn't even spend time in one of the wings (i.e. second bedroom--two queens). There is a huge porch balcony with a picnic table on it. No lighting, so bring a lantern--there are exterior outlets.

The master bath has a jacuzzi tub, which is fantastic. The kitchen was fully stocked and much like the Cabins at Fort Wilderness.

Food options are minimal, so I'd recommend using the kitchen for breakfast and lunch. (There are grocery stores nearby and even a Whole Foods). For dinner, there are a few
great restaurants a 5 minute walk off property. Excellent food at those. We didn't get to try the low country boil on property.

Activities are listed on the website (eg fishing, gift shop, hot tub, swimming, boats), and in my opinion the photos don't do the Resort justice.

The off site beach house is fantastic. Very hidden, even the beach access is hidden (no big Disney signs), and intermingled with over resorts. The beach house is stacked with entertainment options and a counter service food and beverage stop. It'd be fun to bike there, but you can drive or take their shuttle. If you drive, be sure to ask directions because we didn't find a map.

The staff everywhere was helpful and very welcoming.

In all, you can't beat the price for this great family resort getaway at Hilton Head. I initially was thinking that I preferred Vero (mostly due to the food options and ocean front access), but they are completely different experiences and we may prefer Hilton Head depending on what we are looking for (harbor campground with ocean access v. pure ocean front getaway). I'd describe the difference as Fort Wilderness Cabins vs. Yacht and Beach Club. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I are Disney Vacation Club (DVC) members who love to visit this resort using our points, but this time we booked this DVC resort at the last minute for cash payment. The price was reasonable, our room (studio in main building) was larger than expected and cozy and warm despite the cold outside (Thanksgiving weekend), we had a great view, and of course everyone was friendly. We hated to leave but it was just a one night stop over on our road trip. This resort is very well maintained and a real treat to visit any time of year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuthbert, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I went here for the week of my birthday. My wife styed for the first few days but had to leave so for the last part of the week I had some "me" time. This place was awesome. Plenty of activities to do without being overly kiddy. Truly enjoyed myself and this is a very relaxing place. It has a 40's sportsman lodge type of feel and is very nice. The beach house was great also. The only change I would make would be to put the arcade at the main resort but I am a video game junkie so that's just me. Looking forward to going back to find all the hidden Mickeys. Staff was awesome and no one made me feel weird for being on my own for a few days to just be by myself which is really awesome. Great place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have stayed at many Disney resorts, so it should not have been a surprise that the amazing customer service and attention to detail would be present. We loved our room and the check in was seamless. We visited during the off season and that worked to our benefit. Front desk staff was amazing and when she found out it was our anniversary, she gave us an upgrade on our room. The Disney Beach House was exclusive, clean and fun for all ages. We will be returning!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

There's not much more I can add that others haven't already said. Disney is all about creating a good experience for their guests and they certainly deliver in Hilton Head. Despite the unseasonably cold temperatures during the 2013 Thanksgiving holiday, which limited outdoor activities, we still had a very nice stay. The one bedroom condo was spacious and the full kitchen was perfect for us. We even used it to cook a full six-course Thanksgiving feast from start to finish. The unit had an oven, stove, microwave, and coffee maker, and the large refrigerator/freezer even had an automatic ice maker. We also had a variety of dishes and utensils available in the cabinets that made it unnecessary to bring our own from home. There were plenty of on-site activities to take advantage of - even during Thanksgiving day itself, when most other resorts would have been working on a limited schedule. If I had one minor complaint it would be that the king bed was uncomfortable, with its uneven, springing mattress. The fold-out queen sofa was actual more comfortable. Other than that, I would say the property exceeded our expectations and we stay at the Disney Hilton Head Resort again.

Room Tip: If you want to save on eating out, get a one or two bedroom condo. They have a full kitchen. The stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Six of us stayed at a 2-bedroom villa for Thanksgiving weekend. We really enjoyed all the old-fashioned activities including goofy bingo, the turkey bowl, billiard, shuffle board, foosball, etc. My two kids 12 / 13 never said they were bored and not a roller coaster in sight. Amazing. In the room we played board games, watched videos, etc. and visited local places like Harbor Town lighthouse. The marina cove area was very quiet and much closed (perhaps time of year)--that was a bit disappointing. We were hoping to walk over to a plethora of shopping and eating establishments. All the staff was FABULOUS--this is truly what makes something a Disney hotel versus anywhere else. The Christmas decorations throughout the resort was a nice and welcome surprise for us. The resort is small, which I found charming compared to the mega resorts we've stayed at in the past. Parking never an issue, minimal wait for amenities. Do not expect fine dining on site here, but there is plenty to offer nearby.

Room Tip: Stay closer to community hall if you plan to do a lot of activities. Stay closer to the Den/Lodge ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm home-away-from-home—fashioned after a 1940’s hospitable hunting and fishing lodge—combines Carolina charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun. Accommodations No matter your family size, there’s a villa to fit your needs. The Resort rooms and suites feature colorful décor, numerous amenities and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.