We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great, but showing it's age.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Kansas cIty
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still great, but showing it's age.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My family and I have been going to Disney Hilton Head resort for almost 20 years now. We've watched our son grow up in pictures taken on the beach and at the resort, We just came back from spending a week there the end of September and for whatever reason we're seeing it's age showing now. They keep it in great shape, but it looks exactly the same as it did 20 years ago. A refresh is needed for club members returning mnay times over the course of a membership. That being said any family visiting this resort will be more than happy with its location and facilities. Every activity available on the island is there for the asking at Disney. As an old returning visitor I can strongly suggest you ask for a second floor villa with a marsh view. And if noise is not part of the plan ask to NOT be put around the resort pool. Overall this resort lives up to the Disney reputation and meets expectations.

Room Tip: 2nd floor - marsh view - not around pool unless you enjoy noise late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    122
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
303
105
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort, rooms are large, clean and 5* as you would expect from Disney. If you are looking to see Mickey and have typical Disney experiences then this is not the place for you. It's quiet, serene and has a kick back and relax atmosphere. There is a pool and hot tub on site. The beach is a short bike ride away and there is a regular shuttle bus to the beach and beach house. There are no restaurants at the hotel, no bars, no coffee lounges. There is a place to eat at the Beach house selling sandwiches, burgers etc. there is a small store by the pool too for snacks. Within a 5 minute walk from the hotel are many good restaurants on the harbour. In my opinion the resort would benefit from a bar/ lounge area where you could get a drink or coffee, maybe listen to some music and gather with family, friends or other guests. I don't want to detract from the beauty of the place, the hospitality ( cast members give excellent service as is the Disney way) and the resort itself but I think it lacks atmosphere, I did enjoy my stay but don't think I would return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After spending 5 days in Hilton Head I can't say that there is a perfect location to stay as the attractions are spread out. Disney was as good a location as you could get, but it is not on the beach. We drove over to the beach and parked there a few times. The room was adequate and typical by Disney standards, but not incredibly comfortable. Two things that I enjoyed about the stay, you could walk out of the hotel and be by a marina with shops and restaurants and the tour of Pinckney Wildlife refuge given by the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in a very large 2 bedroom condo. Had a problem with a slow drain and was fixed Immediately. Mattresses need replacing, too soft and lumppy. Nice patio with picnic table and rocking chairs. Great place for families. Not too Disney, but just enough to keep the kids busy. Several things every day for children. Room has a high chair and a pack and play for little ones. Right next to a marina and several nice restaurants. Pool is fun and beach house has a pool also. Beach house is a short drive or you can bike or take a shuttle. They rent bikes on the property. Grounds are very well kept and they saved a lot of trees when they built. We fished from the pier a couple of days and caught several fish and crabs (you can rent fishing gear for the kids). You would enjoy this place even without children.

Room Tip: The one bedroom units are in the main building with an elevator. All other units have at least a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dalhousie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

from the rooms, to the amenities to the AMAZING pool and rec staff- we had a fabulous time. We are not DVC members but were not treated any less. The gift shop has free movie rentals-a little perk that our kids loved-so many games to play from the front desk tic-tac-toe to the find the mickey scavenger hunt to the daily trivia at the mercantile--it is not a character Disney resort but the atmosphere was fantastic and according to what we learnt on our nature walk with a staff member it was built on the footprint of a previous fishing resort

Room Tip: we had a 2 bedroom, full kitchen with laundry and the service of the hotel staff was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this resort; even though we were there off season. The staff was very attentive but invisible!! Everything you could want was available -- bikes, kayaks, directions, side trip suggestions, and doing tips!!! Perfect place to Celebrate Our Birthdays!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in October in a two bedroom suite. The resort was very centrally located to all activites. The area thou not on the beach was very picturesque. It did have a beach house across the road that a shutttle could bring you to every half hour. There is a pool there, chairs, lifeguard and eating area. The only thing it was lacking was like a late night place to get a snack or cup of coffee. The eating area is limited and gym a little small. Everyone very friendly and place is very well kept

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm home-away-from-home—fashioned after a 1940’s hospitable hunting and fishing lodge—combines Carolina charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun. Accommodations No matter your family size, there’s a villa to fit your needs. The Resort rooms and suites feature colorful décor, numerous amenities and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.