We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time but no food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good time but no food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

First my family and I had a good time at the resort. If this is your time share location and you stay a week i guess u wouldn't mind the issues we Disliked. We had a top floor two bedroom villa and our room was far from the pool so it was nice and quiet and spacious. We stayed three nights and all the cast members were really nice and attentive. Kate who did toddler crafts was very interesting and Attentive to our daughter. Our villa was cozy and spacious. Here are the only issues. Firstly there was a a sign in the kitchen that said they only clean the room once a week. This was awful since we brought our toddler and diapers pile up fast. Secondly the coffee maker in our villa only made special coffee and once we ran our of the complementary coffee we were forced to go to the ONE location that provided coffee at the resort all the way down by the pool. There was zero room service and only one option for food was by the pool. Unless you bring all your own food you have to leave the resort for all meals or eat at the pool side snack area. There are a lot of activities for the teens and kids. The pools at the resort are great. The mascot Shadow was a treat to meet and the beach proximity was excellent with the shuttle service. The splash pad at the beach for toddlers-young kids wasn't great. The water only sprouts up every few seconds and unlike the one at our our community pool my daughter was bored within seconds of trying to play in it. While we had a good time for the price I think we will stay somewhere else next time. We want a place that changes the sheets each day and takes out the trash daily and has more food options for the price. We have stayed at resorts and we didn't feel like this was a resort with zero food options and no spa. You pay for the disney name.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    124
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
318
116
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Disney's resort has a beach house about 2 miles from the time share units. It's a short drive, or you can take the shuttle. If you don't get there before 10:00 AM, you will need to take the shuttle. We rented 2 chairs and an umbrella from the beach patrol group so we always had a reserved spot to sit. The beach is quite crowded in the summer and at high tide there is not much room. Disney's beach pool is also good to cool off in and the shower at the pool is great for getting rid of the sand.
The furniture in the units is not the most comfortable, but since the sofa doubles as abed(sofa bed) it is ok. As with many Disney resort units, the insides are dark, so we turn on all of the lights. The convenience of having a full Kitchen and ability to fix meals if you want is really great. I am probably prejudiced since I have been a Disney time share owner for more than 10 years. It was great weather and a great week! Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was a bit disappointed in this resort. The rooms are large BUT the bedrooms and bathrooms are huge while the living space is small. They are also somewhat outdated and the living room furniture is not very comfortable. They are clean and provide you with the basics for a beach trip. It's nice to not have to worry about bringing sheets and towels and paper products. The resort was full but it didn't feel crowded except for the Pirate Pool Party one night. It was advertised from 6-9. We tried to sign our kids up for the games at 7:15 and we were told that they were full. SO the kids were disappointed by that. The campfire/smores were a big hit w/the kids though. The pool at the resort has a small kiddie pool. My younger ones loved this. The larger pool here has a slide that is monitored and closes at 5pm. Disney offers kayaing and dolphin tours but Hilton Head has a huge variety of places offering the same thing at drastically smaller prices. We did the kayaking through Disney and it was great. We also rented fishing poles ($5 for 24 hrs) and bought bait (another $5). We were ont he top floor and rarely heard any noise from below. We had a marsh view whichw as great- even saw dolphins one afternoon. We had front row seats for the fireworks on Tuesday night from our balcony. The beach access is rather far at 1.5 miles. It's not an easy walk/bike ride either. The shuttle they offer picks you up from 1 location on the resort which is semi-far from some of the villas if you are lugging beach gear. The shuttle only runs from 10a-5p. they say that you cna request it to drop you off/pick you up up till 10pm but it may be a wait as it isn't planning to be running then. We never tested that option. But the shuttle hours and wait do really put a damper on a beach vacation. It's tough in the heat. humidity w/wet uncomfortable,. hungry kids etc... The pool at the beach house is ok. It's not that big and they take up half of it w/a volleyball net. It was rarely used when we were there and when it was it made everyone not playign the game uncomfortable. The beach balls that spit out water are fun for the kids but there is no kiddie pool here. They do have life jackets in a variety of sizes at both pools. The beach house also has a room that is very comfortable w/a large screen tv and a/c. It was nice for me to take our infant in there to nurse her or cool off. The women who manage the beach house are awesome. SO friendly and accomodating. Teh aracde there is very small. The food service is ok. It's typical fast food offerrings. prices range from 10.50 for a burger and fries to 5.99 for a kids meal. The kids meals are actually a good deal. They also sell a refillable cup for around $15 that you can refill for your entire stay. The station for filling is outside att eh main resort pool so that's nice for evening swims too. Every staff memebr we met was super friendly and super accomodating to our children. The staff makes it a better place to stay. Tghe beach house being far away and the shuttle stopping regular runs at 5pm make it a less than ideal vacation if the beach is your main thing. And, just as an fyi- no characters and very little Disney to be seen.

Room Tip: Top floor was fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere with two rooms as daughters have reached that age. The 2 room villa was fantastic. Clean and spacious, all the ementies you could ask for. The rest of the resort is nothing special. Pool on property has activites with loud speaker so is very loud, try to stay far away. The beach house seemed understaffed and offered nothing to pull us from the beach. The beach house is too far to walk so we drove each time. Beach was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We are DVC members, and this was our first time at this resort, but not our first time on the island. I went to College near HHI, so I have experienced this island before, and it has grown a lot. :(. I was excited about this resort because we had so much fun at Disney Vero Beach last year even in a big tropical storm. We were on the bottom floor, which was really loud. We did enjoy our view of the salt marshes from our balcony. I loved how the pools stayed open until 10, even though we didn't use it past 7. The kids loved the dock and the crab fishing. I didn't care to the drive / ride to the beach. I like just to be able to walk right out to the beach, however the Beach house with the pool was nice to have at the beach! The pools could be a bit bigger and grander esp. at the pool in the resort (hotel) There is not as much activities going on during the weekends, just during the week. :( Vero Beach had much more activities for the kids. This could be true because there is not as much things to do outside the resort there as there is to do at Hilton Head. It is a fun place to take the kids, but not sure if we will return soon. Love the Southern people though!!!!! Miss it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently returned from 7 nights at HHI. We were so impressed with the staff, the abundance of activities, the size of the villa and the relaxing atmosphere. Some people are put off by the beach being a mile away, but we enjoyed the lack of beach because it seemed to be quieter. The shuttle service was great and we spent many long afternoons in the ocean. There is so much to do that you really never have to leave the resort. The lifeguards do the kids activities and Kids Night In so everyone is well trained and they are all great with the kids. B'Lou and Shadow are not to be missed. Our only complaint is the lack of food options because the quick service areas all close very early, but there are many many restaurants within a short walk, bike ride or drive away. Be sure to ask for a top floor because if the people above you have little ones, you'll be able to hear them thumping across the room.

Room Tip: Top floor so you can't hear your neighbors. We had a marsh view which was close to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are members of this Disney Resort. I love this place, the location and the beach house. The only negatives is if you are in the first floor it is great for carrying all your luggage and groceries in but you an hear the people above you walking around. Parking is challenging if you come back in the evening during the busy season. Otherwise I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if you can handle the climb. No elevators other than main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm home-away-from-home—fashioned after a 1940’s hospitable hunting and fishing lodge—combines Carolina charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun. Accommodations No matter your family size, there’s a villa to fit your needs. The Resort rooms and suites feature colorful décor, numerous amenities and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.