We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Several of my friends and I stayed in one of the suites here. The space was rustic/forest themed and there were some cute Disney touches. For 8 people, there was plenty of sleeping space and room to get ready/keep our things. There was a free shuttle back and forth from the beach club, and the pool facilities at the resort were nice too. We had a bit of a problem when we asked for more towels- at first they tried to charge us for extra but eventually took the charge away. All in all, we had a great time and I would return here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    118
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
284
97
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent resort...just wish it wasn't such a hike to their beach property. Excellent hospitality, fun for kids...great accommodations for families. Pirate party on Tuesday nights had lots of fun activities. Get takeout rather than doing the pricey BBQ that night though. Overall, really a great family vacation spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a week here in early June. What a wonderful experience! We had a two bedroom villa with full kitchen, two full baths and living room as well as a great porch for sitting and drinking your morning coffee. The decor was country style with beautiful clay tiles complete with Shadow's footprints.

When we arrived and checked in I was given a room close to the pool as I requested. It was great to just be steps from the pool/Tide me over (the food area). The room is huge and was plenty of room for our family of five to spread out and relax. I cooked several nights and found the kitchen to be well stocked and in great condition.

The second bedroom was great and the kids enjoyed the little nooks and crannys they found within. The master was huge with a great jacuzzi tub and an entrance to the porch. We enjoyed having a king size bed and a separate shower. There is an entrance to the main living area from the bathroom, but we just kept that door locked.

The property is beautiful with a lovely pool. The kids club/kids nite out was amazing. We loved the campfire sing-a-long and the Pirate Party games. I never thought I would scoop chocolate ice cream all over my son!

There is no beach attached to the resort BUT there is a great pool and beach house a mile away. There is transportation often to and from the beach house or you could drive.

We also loved the staff- especially B'Lou and Shadow.

Love this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern VA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I should state right away that we are not Disney vacation Club members - just longtime Disney fans (we've visited Disney World in Orlando yearly for the past 5 years) looking for a nice long weekend in Hilton Head.
Over-all this stay did not disappoint.
We stayed in a Deluxe Studio (it offers a queen, a queen sofa pull-out, a kitchenette, and a large patio) and was located in the main building at the front of the resort. The big advantage here is that the main building features an elevator so 3rd floor guests don't have to haul up bags (as others throughout the spread-out resort do) to their room.
The resort is actually spread over two locations. The first is the main resort which includes all of the rooms, a large main swimming pool - complete with water slide, hot tub, and toddler's area, campfire area, dock to view wetlands, etc. This is a lively area with plenty always going on. In fact, we ended up preferring this pool to the beach or beach-side pool offered. The walk from the main resort where we were staying (which seememd to be the farthest from the pool) was only a pleasent 5 mionute walk.
The second area is called the Beach House and is ocean front with a private beach area (lounge chairs and umbrellas are available for rent), a great pool (with ocean views), changing areas/bathrooms, small lounge area, and a quick service restaurant that serves acholoic beverages. This are is, essentially, across the srteet from the resort but it is a bit of a haul - certainly not recommended for walking though we believe a few of the families staying may have ventured to ride bikes all the way out. We chose to drive each time and found this easy enough.
My only negative comments are pretty basic and have been covered by other reviewers.
Food choices are extremely limited but, considering the wide (and completely satisfying local) dining options in HH this isn't a huge check against the resort. In fact, it's fun to have an excuse to explore a bit of what the island has to offer when heading out for dinner of lunch.
I was also disappointed by the lack of free wifi to non-vacation club members. At the prices we were paying (like anything Disney, the stay here isn't cheap) this seems like something that should have been included.
And finally, unlike the main Disney parks and resorts (which seem to have bent over backwards to accomodate both families and adults) this resort seemed to be only suited to those with kids. We traveled with our 7-year-old daughter and so found no fault with this but I felt sorry for any couple looking for a quiet. more-adult get-away. It just doesn't exist here.
That said, the stay was, for us, complete with just enough of the Disney extra magic (S'mores cookouts, lakeside showings of classic Disney movies, hammocks, shuffleboard courts, and horseshoe tossses situated through-out) to really add a cherry on top of a fun stay.

Room Tip: The main lodge offers an elevator for 2nd and 3rd story rooms. Folks might get picky about balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have been coming to HHI since I was a kid, but had never ventured onto the Disney property until now. I think I have found my spot! We stayed 5 nights in 2BR villa 1411 in June. Our kids are 7, 4 and 2. Here are the highlights:

- Bldg 14 is near the main lodge / beach shuttle, and a 5 minute walk to all of the restaurants, etc. in Shelter Cove. Our first floor unit overlooked the marsh (great views!) - we even saw a pod of dolphins strand feeding while we enjoyed our coffee on the deck. Next time we'll request a 2nd floor room as we could definitely hear the folks above us walking around.

- The activities were spot on for our kids' ages (pirate treasure hunt, Mickey tie-dye, s'mores, magic show, etc.) -- enough to provide options, but not overwhelming.

- The food was fine for our kids' ages (Mickey waffles or bacon & eggs for breakfast; chicken fingers, hot dogs, etc. for lunch). We actually ate in most of our meals, but found the two restaurants to be fine for what they are. (Actually, the veggie burger was one of the better I have had.)

- Both pools were great. The Beach Club itself is a fantastic facility - great pool, great stretch of beach, etc...

- Perhaps the most striking thing of all was the staff - particularly the young folks who doubled as activities directors and lifeguards. These cast members seemed to truly enjoy what they do and went out of their way at every opportunity to interact with our kids. I'm a former camp counselor myself, and I was impressed with the energy and dedication of the staff -- I know it isn't easy to maintain that level of interaction for hours on end!

After staying at three Marriott Vacation Club properties on HHI (Barony Beach Club, Monarch, and Grande Ocean), we've found our home at Disney's HHI. It's small (123 rooms or so), walkable to lots of food and entertainment, and simply well done. Also, as compared to the on-ocean resorts, it's much quieter situated on an island within an island. Just a fantastic resort (which, rumor has it, is in for a major remodel starting in January).

Room Tip: Building 14 is a good mix of convenience to Shelter Cove / beach, marsh view, and proximity to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family of four traveled to Hilton Head for Spring Break. I hadn't been to the island for years and we had never stayed at a Disney property, so we really didn't know what to expect. Frankly, we were a little worried about overt Disneyfication with characters everywhere and marketing to boot. What we got was attentive and capable service, a great room, clean and comfortable property with great planned activities our whole family (husband, wife and kids 5 and 3) enjoyed, even during a cold, rainy week. We stayed in a two bedroom villa and were glad we had spent the extra money for some more space so everyone slept well and had their own space. We really enjoyed the programs on site led by the naturalists (loved that the hotel HAD a naturalist!) as well as access to free DVDs for use in our room. Only real downside was the lack of quality food available on site and within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the buildings that overlooks the marsh. We had a porch where we could watch birds eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful resort. Everything you want it right here in Shelter Cove. Excellent dining, shopping, swimming, fishing, you name it. The rooms are big and clean, great clientele, great service. Close to golf corses, and beaches. Bike rentals are also available. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm home-away-from-home—fashioned after a 1940’s hospitable hunting and fishing lodge—combines Carolina charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun. Accommodations No matter your family size, there’s a villa to fit your needs. The Resort rooms and suites feature colorful décor, numerous amenities and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.