We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet seclusion in the heart of island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Gilbertsville, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet seclusion in the heart of island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spacious rooms that overlook water views, or lush tropical gardens, with one of the biggest decks I've ever had! We stayed in a one bedroom suite, complete with full kitchen, huge bathroom, washer/dryer. The front desk was small, laid back, but always helpful. You can rent bikes, or arrange for excursions like dolphin watching or kayaking right from the activities desk. Kids will love exploring the gardens, with the Disney topiaries, and tropical wildlife. Amazing birds here, too. And so close to so many things......we had an easy drive to Savannah, another one to Charleston, and the private beach club associated with the resort is beautiful. Loved this setting...a relaxing spot.

Room Tip: Higher floor affords better views of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    125
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
320
116
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here in March of 2013 and found everything A1. The room (a 2 bedroom suite) was very clean. Although there was only 2 of us, there would be more than enough room for a family of 6. The staff was helpful and courteous. I would definitely return without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't completely sure what to expect from this resort stay over Easter, but it was a great time. With "Disney" and "Vacation Club" in the name, I somewhat expected actors in costumes and timeshare presentations, but there were neither!

The main resort is spread over a beautiful propery on a marsh. There are lots of activities like campfires/s'mores, shark classes, movies on an outdoor screen at night, pool with water slide, horseshoes, basketball, kayaking, corn hole, and more. The basic activities are free but many require an extra fee. The programs for the kids are great, but parents must stay with the kids--it's not summer camp.

The second part of the resort is the Disney beach house about a mile away. It's got great beach access, plus an incredibly heated pool, an arcade, and more. It really adds a lot to your stay. Sometimes it's fun to play on the beach, but when the wind kicks up, the pool and activity area are completely sheltered.

If you're driving to Hilton Head, bring your bikes (and a lock) as they are a fun and safe way to get back and forth from the beach house, and around the resort in general. There are plenty of rental bikes if you don't have yours with you. There's a safe passage under a bridge to get to the beach house so you never have to cross the main road.

The room we had was unfortunately a letdown. It was big and had a balcony with a great view, but the walls were super-thin, so we got a lot of noise from next door and above. Things settled down around 10 each night, but it was a shock how loud it was. The room also came with the smallest TV I've seen in a hotel in a long time. Granted it included a DVD player, and we weren't in the room that much, but it was worth noting.

We never ate at the little restaurant at the resort, but there are good options you can easily walk to right outside of the gate.

This trip wound up costing more than I had expected but we did have a great time. I could see us visiting this property again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way back from Orlando, FL. This was our first time in Hilton Head. The Disney resort is secluded on it's own private mini-island, but is close to everything! The resort is very clean and the rooms are large. We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa in building 31. The views were incredible from the balcony and we were close to the pool and activity center.

The beach is a short drive or bike ride from the actual resort, but there Disney has its own private beach house and pool at the beach, so you can literally stay there all day.

We will definitely be back to visit this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed on property the entire vacation. There were tons of Disney activities for the kids and lots of fun at the pool. The resort is secluded and private and feels like home away from home. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa complete with kitchen and living area. Enjoyed the comfort and quietness and "lodgy" feel. We walked to restaurants nearby and did some shopping. Easy, tranquil and quiet vacation, even with kids!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at Disney Hilton Head, SC. March 16-21, 2013. Family trip with 3 kids. We had a 2 bedroom and loved it. It is DISNEY clean. Absolutely sparkling inside and out. Great service, great staff!!!!! This vacation was a vacation, very relaxing. The hotel is about a 1 mile (or 10 min bike ride, 2 min car ride) from the beach. The hotel was great, pool was great, a lot of activities for the kids. The Disney Beach House was also great and sits right on the water. There are no negatives in my opinion. The rooms are a little dated, but not bad at all. Very spacious. There is not a full service restaurant at the hotel but we could walk to many and walked to shops also. We did have a car and bought groceries around the corner (2 min drive) at Piggly Wiggly. There are loads of restaurants within 10 min drive. Rode our bikes down to Pope Street and enjoyed shops and food there also. We enjoyed this so much we will be back. Took the dolphin tour through the hotel, it was great. Enjoyed the staff and activites that are all around. Kids enjoyed basketball, shuffleboard, the hammocks, the playground, nature, checked out free board games and movies from front desk, and the campfire with smores. This was our first visit to this resort and we loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Disney's Hilton Head after being vacation club members since 2003. Once again, we instantly fell in love! The detail that Disney uses in decorating their resorts continues to amaze us. We stayed for 2 nights as part of our spring training road trip to Florida. We stayed in a studio, which seemed to be a larger room than the studios at the Disney World resorts. The balcony was huge and would have liked to relax on the rockers with a glass of wine if the weather was warmer! Drove the short drive over to the Beach House and it was beautiful. Looks like an awesome spot to enjoy the beach or swim. The pool at the resort also looked like fun. It is a beautiful resort and would be an ideal place for a family beach vacation. There is a shuttle bus that runs to the Beach House for those that don't have a car. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and shopping nearby. It was a wonderful way to start our vacation and will become a regular stop for us.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm home-away-from-home—fashioned after a 1940’s hospitable hunting and fishing lodge—combines Carolina charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun. Accommodations No matter your family size, there’s a villa to fit your needs. The Resort rooms and suites feature colorful décor, numerous amenities and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.