We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for families with children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place for families with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Don't expect Disney characters and you'll be just fine. The recreation staff was the best part! The young ladies and men did an excellent job during the many activities out children participated in. The kids enjoyed the pool that was heated enough for them to use even though it was in the 50's outside.

We had a 2 room villa. The room was very large and perfect for 6 of us. The staff around the resort were some of the most pleasurable people to deal with. The housekeeping staff were very polite and helpful. You needed it, and they got it!

Also, we had an excellent view of the marsh. I asked for a good view and I'm glad I did. It was such a relaxing view. We stayed in #2211. It was a nice and quiet location and on the first floor. They had hot chocolate and cookies daily. I would recommend taking advantage of the full kitchen. We went to the Walmart and got everything we needed. There's a few grocery stores closer as well. Only downside is everything is hidden. You just sort of find it by chance so GPS is kind of necessary.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    118
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
286
97
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My family are new DVC members. During this winter break, we decided to surprise our children with a 'Disney' trip that would be fun! The resort did not disappoint us. From the moment we arrived until the moment we said goodbye to our 'home' we enjoyed every minute. The space was clean and well appointed. We stayed in the main building, the Live Oak Lodge. Everyone was very happy and accommodating. There are activities planned for all day through the evening, and although it is December, the pool was heated to 82 degrees for swimming (the children really enjoyed that). We even met Shadow, the resort mascot for a photo session where she signed autographs. Loved this resort and will most definitely make this trip 'home' again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is one of our favorite vacations for a kick-back relaxing time. As a Disney resort you would expect it to be noisy and full of children but our children are grown and we've never found it to be noisy. The resort is on its own island and next to a marina. You can stroll across the marina bridge to various top-rate restaurants for dinner. Most of them have live music so it's very festive yet relaxing. The beach and beach house are terrific; you can relax by the beach house pool or by the ocean. The beach house has a convenient snack bar serving lunch and snacks. Great place for a wonderful, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are a bit nosier than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My parents are Disney vacation owners. For the christmas holiday, we were invited to the HHO disney resort. This place is so nice. We were here in a low season. Les than half the resort was full. My nephews attended the dance part for 6~12 year olds while my brothers and sisters in law went our to Coligny.

The beach areas was quiet. Even in december the pool water was was warm enough for a waste volleyball game.

In december, this resort is a ghost town, but my family made the best of our holiday. The staff was friendly. The area is family friendly.

What we come to expect from disney resorts, this place delivers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I am a DVC member who has been travelling to Disney Hilton Head Resort since 1996, the first year it was opened! I have watched and documented many changes over that time from being an absolutely FIRST RATE family resort built in the Low Country of South Carolina to a Disneyfication island in Hilton Head. The Island Disney purchased sits on Broad Creek, a Brackish Waterway that eventually leads to the Ocean with 8 foot tides twice a day everyday! There is a corner of this island, the kayak launching area, where someone can sit on an adirondick chair under a live oak tree and allow the harshness of the world to disappear! Wireless service has been a great addition, however the routers bump you off often and you have to log in each time. Many two bedroom units of 4 exist to rent, however being on a lower floor sometimes is uncomfortable from the noise above. If staying in the lodge you will want to be away from the elevator due to noise at all hours. The front desk staff has been from good to not very good over the years and seems to be the first place new cast members appear. Parking is a premium and RV's and boat trailors and not allowed, however there areas where these can be parked on the main Island.
This is a gated Resort that gets a little crazy during summer fire works which are put off from a barge on Broad Creek near the boardwalk that is attached to Disney's Island.
The rooms are all decorated in darker colors to fit into the Low Country atmosphere, however I understand a WHITE color interior is on the way, just some more Florida Disney coming into the Low Country. Instead of a small pebble of river rock at the kayak landing, Disney tried crushed articifial sea shells and later a white rough pea rock, which I believe is more Florida coming to SC?
There is an outdoor movie theatre that has been recently added near the Creek under some live oak trees and this location does not bother me as much as the first location near the Mercantile/pool area.
The Big Dipper slide at the pool is just FANTASTIC and both pools are very nice. The second pool is at the Beach House that sits in Palmetto Dunes Plantation, a gated community opposite Shelter Cove (where Disney's Island is located) and just a short ride by, shuttle, bike, or car where your parking pass allows entrance. Very nice beach at the Beach House! There is a restaurant at the Beach House where they also had an outdoor bar with a view of the ocean that I understand is being CLOSED and moved inside the restaurant.
Still LOVE going to DVC HHI, however the feel of Low Country SC is missing and being replaced by Disney, Florida! Best time of year to visit in my opinion is October! Ocean still warm, nights can be cooler, pools very nice, traffic not at bad and less school age children. I will be going back the end of May 2013 for what will probably be trip number 23 or so. Just NEED to sit under that live oak tree on Disney's Island at the corner of Shelter Cove Marina and Broad Creek! I am at PEACE in that spot and the changes become less of a problem for me.

Room Tip: top floor of any unit, do not get a room near the elevator if staying in the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The service is good but a little too scripted. Resort and beach are stunning. Price is high but decent. Great family destination as there are tons of activities for the little ones . I would book again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Good looking and rustic looking. Disappointed in lack of insulation between floors and internet service. They charge $10/day, then you have to sign in every time your computer times out. I have an iPad and regularly lost connection, it was very painful. It was fairly fast. They say they are getting a new provider in the future( so if they know it is poor, why are they still charging?)

Room Tip: Get a top floor! You will still hear the people below you shut doors etc. but not as badly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm home-away-from-home—fashioned after a 1940’s hospitable hunting and fishing lodge—combines Carolina charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun. Accommodations No matter your family size, there’s a villa to fit your needs. The Resort rooms and suites feature colorful décor, numerous amenities and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.