We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda like paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Kinda like paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My parents are Disney vacation owners. For the christmas holiday, we were invited to the HHO disney resort. This place is so nice. We were here in a low season. Les than half the resort was full. My nephews attended the dance part for 6~12 year olds while my brothers and sisters in law went our to Coligny.

The beach areas was quiet. Even in december the pool water was was warm enough for a waste volleyball game.

In december, this resort is a ghost town, but my family made the best of our holiday. The staff was friendly. The area is family friendly.

What we come to expect from disney resorts, this place delivers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    119
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
291
99
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I am a DVC member who has been travelling to Disney Hilton Head Resort since 1996, the first year it was opened! I have watched and documented many changes over that time from being an absolutely FIRST RATE family resort built in the Low Country of South Carolina to a Disneyfication island in Hilton Head. The Island Disney purchased sits on Broad Creek, a Brackish Waterway that eventually leads to the Ocean with 8 foot tides twice a day everyday! There is a corner of this island, the kayak launching area, where someone can sit on an adirondick chair under a live oak tree and allow the harshness of the world to disappear! Wireless service has been a great addition, however the routers bump you off often and you have to log in each time. Many two bedroom units of 4 exist to rent, however being on a lower floor sometimes is uncomfortable from the noise above. If staying in the lodge you will want to be away from the elevator due to noise at all hours. The front desk staff has been from good to not very good over the years and seems to be the first place new cast members appear. Parking is a premium and RV's and boat trailors and not allowed, however there areas where these can be parked on the main Island.
This is a gated Resort that gets a little crazy during summer fire works which are put off from a barge on Broad Creek near the boardwalk that is attached to Disney's Island.
The rooms are all decorated in darker colors to fit into the Low Country atmosphere, however I understand a WHITE color interior is on the way, just some more Florida Disney coming into the Low Country. Instead of a small pebble of river rock at the kayak landing, Disney tried crushed articifial sea shells and later a white rough pea rock, which I believe is more Florida coming to SC?
There is an outdoor movie theatre that has been recently added near the Creek under some live oak trees and this location does not bother me as much as the first location near the Mercantile/pool area.
The Big Dipper slide at the pool is just FANTASTIC and both pools are very nice. The second pool is at the Beach House that sits in Palmetto Dunes Plantation, a gated community opposite Shelter Cove (where Disney's Island is located) and just a short ride by, shuttle, bike, or car where your parking pass allows entrance. Very nice beach at the Beach House! There is a restaurant at the Beach House where they also had an outdoor bar with a view of the ocean that I understand is being CLOSED and moved inside the restaurant.
Still LOVE going to DVC HHI, however the feel of Low Country SC is missing and being replaced by Disney, Florida! Best time of year to visit in my opinion is October! Ocean still warm, nights can be cooler, pools very nice, traffic not at bad and less school age children. I will be going back the end of May 2013 for what will probably be trip number 23 or so. Just NEED to sit under that live oak tree on Disney's Island at the corner of Shelter Cove Marina and Broad Creek! I am at PEACE in that spot and the changes become less of a problem for me.

Room Tip: top floor of any unit, do not get a room near the elevator if staying in the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The service is good but a little too scripted. Resort and beach are stunning. Price is high but decent. Great family destination as there are tons of activities for the little ones . I would book again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Good looking and rustic looking. Disappointed in lack of insulation between floors and internet service. They charge $10/day, then you have to sign in every time your computer times out. I have an iPad and regularly lost connection, it was very painful. It was fairly fast. They say they are getting a new provider in the future( so if they know it is poor, why are they still charging?)

Room Tip: Get a top floor! You will still hear the people below you shut doors etc. but not as badly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have been DVC members since 1999 (BWV and HHI), we always enjoy our relaxing stay at Hilton Head. This time we had a studio, building 12..next to Live Oak Lodge. No complaints, staff always friendly and helpful. Facilities are always clean. See ya next year Hilton Head!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Enjoyed a peaceful 4 days. The resort is nestled in an oak grove. All of Hilton Head seems to be build under the oaks rather than bulldozed out. Beautiful island. Standard Disney room setup, but seem to be larger than WDW resorts. We were in a one bedroom unit. Large living area. Kitchen had basic pots, pans and dishes. We cooked In all our meals. The resort only had 2 snack shacks, one at resort and the other at the beach. Shuttle bus runes every 30 minutes between resort and beach; A thirty minute run. Both beach and resort have pools. The resort pool is nestled amount oaks and buildings. Well protected from wind. That pool is heated to 80 degrees. There is a small store near the pool. "Mike the Pool Guy" supervises the pool area and crafts. There is a daily schedule of activities. The best way to get around is walk or bike. You can bring it or rent one. During the winter they serve the best warm apple cider and two types of cookies in the lobby, they go fast. Best time to check in is early afternoon; they get busy at 3 and after. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had only one problem, the Internet access was off and on. We had to reenter the password very time and sometimes we would loose connection . Great Trip. Very relaxing. And WELL visit again, soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Everything about this vacation was amazing. The rooms are spacious the staff is so friendly and accomadating. Everyday at 2 they have fresh baked cookies and lemonade in the lobby for free. There are lots of activities for the kids. From a DJ party by the pool with dancing to roasting marshmallows by a camp fire with sing alongs. This was my first disney hotel and it left a lasting impression. The fooditself in hilton head itself was amazing. Every place we ate the food was awesome and fresh. If you like seafood it is a added bonus to this vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm home-away-from-home—fashioned after a 1940’s hospitable hunting and fishing lodge—combines Carolina charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun. Accommodations No matter your family size, there’s a villa to fit your needs. The Resort rooms and suites feature colorful décor, numerous amenities and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.