We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Miami
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 4 days and had a very relaxing time. Our two bedroom lodge was perfect and very spacious. Really nice for the kids. Bike riding, swimming, games, etc.. Room service is limited. We only had our trash and towels changed. Not sure if you can get complete room service. I do know that food services are not available in your room. Great golf courses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    124
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
318
115
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We are DVC Members and we always enjoy coming to Disney's Hilton Head Resort. The rooms are large and clean. Most have nice views, especially those in building 31. The pool and access to the beach and ocean are great. A shuttle runs from the resort to the beach and its great having the beach house to relax in and get a drink or food without having to come all the way back to the resort. The only drawback is that the shuttle stops running at 5pm even during peak season. We really do love it and visit 2-3 times a year.

Room Tip: Building 31 has the best views. Top floors have less noise (otherwise, people, especially those with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

For a non-beachfront property, this resort has a lot to offer. The staff are very welcoming, the rooms are quite spacious, and the views are great (even on the marsh side).

Though our group didn't take advantage of all of the family activities offered by the resort, seven of us shared a two bedroom villa for less than the cost of two or three rooms elsewhere, which was perfect for our needs as we were there for a marine corps graduation at nearby Parris Island.

The resort also offers bicycle rentals, private beach access (although the beach is about a mile away,) a fishing pier, and a nice pool with water slide. You'll also find hammocks strung up throughout the property, which are quite comfortable. The villas have a full kitchen with pots and pans, and a washer and drier.

My only complaint is that wi-fi is not included, but I would recommend the resort for larger groups and large families.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The end of a very long trip was capped off with our stay at Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort. Everything about our 2 day stay was simply wonderful. The fact that this resort is actually on a private island made it a quiet retreat from the world and the rigors of travel. Just to be able to sit on the porch in a rocking chair and enjoy the view and the quiet was wonderful. The rooms were large and well maintained with everything done to perfection "Disney' style. It truly was a "Magical' stay at a wonderful resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We checked in at 2pm, We had a Grand Villa (1622) room was not quite ready so we went to get some groceries. Less then 30 Min later we got a call the room was ready.

We....4 adults and 2 kids...had a great time. My Wife and I are DVC members so we stay on points.

This was the most relaxing vacation Ive had in a LONG time.

I know some people come here expecting BOOM Mickey and Donald and WDW kinda stuff. This place is 100% opposite of that. Relaxing, relaxing, relaxing.

Wear bug spray, or jeans and long sleeve shirt at night...as you will get BIT!!

I wish they would have a bigger pool and a good restaurant right on property. Yes Im aware there are plenty of restaurants on Hilton Head and Savannah, but one here would be great!

The couches in the Grand Villa were very uncomfortable, but besides that all was great!

Room Tip: top floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I wanted to sneak away for a weekend trip. We had some DVC points to kill so we chose this resort. I must say that I loved it. We chose a one bedroom villa. It is easily the most spacious of tall the resorts we have stayed at. The villa had the feeling of a lodge in the wilderness. The furnishings had a rustic feel. The villa had a massive deck off the living area to enjoy. The property was extremely clean and well maintained. The castmembers were top notch as they are at all things Disney. Try the breakfast at the counter service spot on property. I think it is called Tidewater. The portions are huge for the cost. Try the french toast. The property is set on the sound so the property provides transportation to and from the private beach house every thirty minutes. The beach house also has a counter service meal option. The best part of this property was how relaxing it was. We were there in off season so i am sure that helped. Go and relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a great resort for the exceptional service that comes with the Disney brand but without the crowds and chaos of the parks. There is just enough Disney in every corner of the resort from the outdoor movies, to the activities, to the life guards in their red shorts and white polos. However the place was quiet. Sitting on the deck at night it was amazing how quiet the entire resort was. The rooms were also some of the largest we have been in for a DVC resort.

Everyting inside the rooms and outside on the property made this our new favorite place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the marsh and avoid the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm home-away-from-home—fashioned after a 1940’s hospitable hunting and fishing lodge—combines Carolina charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun. Accommodations No matter your family size, there’s a villa to fit your needs. The Resort rooms and suites feature colorful décor, numerous amenities and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.