We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Magic is Aluve and Well at Hilton Head” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dekopps@aol.com
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“The Magic is Aluve and Well at Hilton Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Just spent 5 nights in a 2 bedroom villa at HHI. Loved the size and layout. Just like the 2 bedroom at Vero. I had a wonderful view of the marsh and was steps from the pool. Late October was a wonderful time to visit. Beautiful weather and low crowds.

The resort is more compact than I thought it would be. It shares common ground with Palmetto Dunes. The whole island of Hilton Head is gorgeous. I enjoyed the resort pool and the beach house pool. Nice and warm! The actvities at the resort were fun and many are free.

Disney's beach house is about 1.5 miles from the resort. There is counter service there. Pool bar closed this time of year. Beach is lovely and flat with lots of pretty shells. Loved the oak trees with Spanish moss. Great customer service. Wonderful place

Plenty to do on and around island. Savannah was 50 mins away and charleston was 2 hrs.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    128
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
326
120
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The only reason I'm not giving the Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 5 stars is only because of a problem we had with our keys. They have electronic door keys, and when we arrived around 10:30 p.m. at the hotel with our bunch of 15 (we had 2 condos reserved through a friend who is a Disney rep and had booked this reservation weeks before), it took about 30 minutes to get our keys ready. When we got to our rooms, only one of the keys worked in our room (the other keys worked for that room). They promised to have the keys ready for us the next day, and they were working really hard to accommodate us.

The next day they came to the room with all new keys - but unfortunately none of them worked, either. They worked hard to reprogram the key unit on our door, but they were never successful in doing so.

The next day they took the electrical unit completely off the door, replaced it with another one, reprogrammed it, and then were able to issue us new keys that worked.

We were not mad or anything, because 1 key did work the whole time, and they worked extremely hard the whole time to take care of us. All of the workers were extremely nice, and when they brought us our keys that worked, they found me at the pool to give them to me.

The facilities are beautiful! The rooms have a rustic feel to them, as the beds in our room had frames that were made to look like tree limbs that someone had carved out to make a bed, but the furnishings are nowhere near rustic. There was a whirlpool tub in the master bath that was big and very nice! Our group of 3 kids and 3 adults had plenty of room to enjoy everything (1 of the kids slept on the pullout couch each night, 2 of them slept in one of the beds, 2 adults slept in the master bedroom, and 1 other adult (me) slept in the other bed in the kids' room).

The pool area is big, and since we were visiting during the second full week of October, there was not a big crowd. We had plenty of room to play with all of our group in the pool, and the slide is a lot of fun, even for adults! The pool is 4 to 5 feet deep in its deepest parts, so it is kid-friendly.

We also had a great cookout in the main building using their grill and their eating area, and that is easy to use and large enough for an even bigger group. The game room inside next to it has a beautiful pool table and a nice TV viewing area.

The shuttle drivers were extremely nice and easy to talk to, and one of them made sure she came back at just the right time to pick us up so we would not be left behind (the shuttle ran from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. in 30 minute intervals).

They had a fun bonfire for the kids on Friday night, where a couple of the cast members had everybody sing around the campfire, do fun dances and enjoy being together. The trivia contest winner just happened to be one of the girls in our group, so they were treated to S'mores first!

There is a nice pier you can walk out on to see the view of the marsh area and to fish if you want to (fishing rods are available for rent, as is a small $2 bag of shrimp for bait). One family fishing at night was catching very small fish and had caught some larger ones during the day.

A fairly large washer and dryer set is included in the condo we stayed in, which was nice for our bathing suits and towels that were too wet to dry.

I commend Disney for taking care of us well with the key situation - it wasn't a big bother, but they did all that they could to get them made for us as quickly as they could. That's the absolute only reason for a 4 star review instead of 5 - but they deserve 5 for their efforts! We would definitely go back due to the great area to stay and enjoy time off. Thanks, Disney, so much for the fun trip!

Room Tip: Condos are huge for a group, especially if you use the foldout couch for a smaller person or child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My family stayed here for a week over Easter Break in 2011, and it was just the best experience ever! We had plenty of room for my husband and I, two teenagers, and my parents in our beautiful and well equipped two bedroom villa. Even though the resort was full, it was very quiet and peaceful, and our balcony had a spectacular view over the salt marsh. The river was also in back and we were able to watch the dolphins play next to the dock in the afternoon. There were plenty of well thought out activities for the kids, as well as two pools, and a shuttle to the ocean side pool and beachhouse, so there was no need to drive to the beach and fight for parking. Although there was no real restaurant on site, there were plenty within walking distance and a very short drive to the grocery store so you could stock your fully appointed kitchen. The staff was always polite, helpful, and went out of their way to make your stay special. The Disney Magic is everywhere, in all the little details, and you can really get spoiled staying here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Got down to Hilton Head about 2 hours before check-in and decided to see if it would be possible to check-in early. No problem, we gave our name at the gate and by the time we got to the check-in desk they had our reservation information and within 5 minutes we were checked in. The 2 bedroom was in Unit 14 which had a deck facing the marsh with a picnic table and 2 rocking chairs on the main deck and a separate deck for the other bedroom so that bedroom had privacy also. We also had a front deck that faced the marina so you could relax and watch the private boats coming and going thru-out the week.

The pool was not huge but it was never really that full at the time we were down. The lifeguards were very friendly and were willing to give any information that you needed.
They had activities everyday for children, crafts and the like, and adults, kayak trips, dolphin cruises etc.

The resort is not on the beach but the beach is only about 10 minutes away by the shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. They had a beach house that contains a restaurant and a pool with plenty of beach chairs for this time of season. It is just a short walk from the beach house to the beach. The beach was not crowded and you could walk for miles on the hard packed sand. Bicycles are a normal mode of transportation and come in very handy.

I must mention one of the shuttle drivers that gave us some great information and went out of his way to get some additional information that helped us plan our trip to Savannah a few days later. We asked Doug, the young man driving the bus that day if he knew of any good places to eat in Savannah. He mentioned the Pirate House, and Paula Dean's Restaurant but other than those two had nothing else. When he came to pick us up he had asked around and had a few others including the Bohemian Hotel on the waterfront, which had a rooftop pub that overlooked the river. It was a great place to watch the cargo ships sailing in and out of the harbor and what a view of Savannah. Without the information he provided we probably would have never found it. This attention to pleasing guests is what we saw the complete week we were there. This is not something that you find at other resorts or hotels.

I would recommend this resort to anyone. Even though it is a Disney resort it is not your typical Disney resort. You don't have the Mickey characters and in fact they really aren't all that prominent in the decor as in other resorts but it is not that kind of resort. If you want a place to relax and just unwind this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week in September and thoroughly enjoyed the vacation. The amenities were excellent and the rooms were very well appointed and very clean. The washer/dryer was a pleasant surprise and came in very handy We stayed in the building next to the main lodge and it was very quiet and faced onto the back lagoon. We used the beach house/pool on a couple of occasions and enjoyed the beach and pool. I would have not hesitation recommending this resort to anyone; we hope to be able to return another time with our kids and grandchildren and make it a family vacation. Just a side note, a rental vehicle is pretty much a must have when vacationing anywhere in Hilton Head.

Room Tip: My wife and I wanted a quiet room so we stayed in a building away from the pool and found it excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My family stayed here for vacation with my parents. We drove up from Savannah, but they came down from New England. We had a well equipped two bedroom villa. There was one large balcony off of one bedroom and an even larger balcony that was shared with the kitchen and master suite, complete with rocking chairs and picnic table. Our villa looked out over the marsh, and we had a lot of fun one particularly stormy night watching the storm travel across the marsh. When we went the place was flooded with marsh crabs, which were more abundant than spiders, we couldnt walk anywhere without crushing one. The campfire night was fun (tacky) and my son loved all the songs! The docks were always full of people fishing and the kids were catching tons of crab and baby black tip sharks. I wish the rental place was open later than 5pm, and I'm not a fan of the beach house location in Palmetto Dunes. At that point it is just as easy to go to Colligney Beach. I suggest that all visitors buy groceries before getting to the resort, as the nearest Piggly Wiggly will rob you dry.

Room Tip: Request a marsh view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have been here several times and my only comment or suggestion would be to have coffee tables in the studio units. There's not enought table space for eating, playing, or just reading the newspaper or using the computer. I did ask the front desk if they could give us a coffee table and they did not have one. Other than this, it's a good location with plenty to do on the island. If you come here make sure to venture out to Savannah, Beaufort, Bluffton and other communities and check TripAdvisor first for places to eat. Fiesta Fresh is great if you're on a budget!
PS If you have rooms above you, it may be noisey from them walking around. Get a top floor if you think this might bother you. It's not as convenient getting to and from your car but at least you won't be bothered by noisey neighbors above you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort

Address: 22 Harbourside Lane, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm home-away-from-home—fashioned after a 1940’s hospitable hunting and fishing lodge—combines Carolina charm with simple pleasures and outdoor fun. Accommodations No matter your family size, there’s a villa to fit your needs. The Resort rooms and suites feature colorful décor, numerous amenities and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Disney Hilton Head Resort
Disney Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Island Resort
Disneys Hilton Head Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.