We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Main Street Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Main Street Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Main Street, Hilton Head, SC 29926   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Odum, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 5 nights, the week of 7/15. I was in town for a conference, which was being held at the Westin Resort. I didn't want to shell out $234+ dollars for rooms at the Westin! We loved the staff, and the ambiance of this hotel. Our breakfast was included, as well as 2 free drinks during happy hour each night. Our room was generous in size; very lovely & large bath. Beautiful courtyard area. Downside-pool is really a lap pool. If you have kids that want to swim all the time, this would not work for you. Yes, it's the South...in July. After having significant rain for the past 3 months, mosquitos are out in full force! Take your bug spray to enjoy sitting by the courtyard. The hot tub was not working. The pool really needed some cleaning; algae growth was beginning. However, it was just very slight. It is quiet & romantic. Lovely living room area with baby grand piano; sofas, etc. The daily newspaper available there. Full hot breakfast, in a lovely dining room. Again, I was very, very pleased. Only minor things to point out. Atmosphere is southern romance & relaxation. 10 ft ceilings with crown molding in the rooms; lovely armoire, writing desk, mini-fridge with icemaker, coffee maker in room. TV was TOO small, however. Even though we weren't watching alot of tv, it needed to be much larger.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is not a five star hotel by any means, but it is an excellent value on the island. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts (included) are very good - much better than a typical chain breakfast. The rooms are a bit modest, but comfortable and clean. There are a variety of good restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthboundEventually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I came to the Main Street Inn and Spa for our Honeymoon last month. It is a beautiful property, but it is not being well managed. Our room looked fine at first glance when we checked in on a Sunday night. However, the next morning my wife woke up with bug bites that she did not have when we went to bed. The second night, in the middle of the night, my wife screamed waking me from my sleep. She said that she had been bitten by a bug of somekind. She was soon experiencing a considerable amount of pain. Not just itching....pain. We looked under the bed to see if we could see the bug that bit her and although we did not find any live bugs, the area under the bed was a virtual burial ground for lots of dead bugs of many types. After a few minutes, her pain got got bad enough that she asked me to take her to the emergency room at the local hospital. We grabbed our jackets and left for the ER. When we got there, she started to put her jacket on which had been in the closet in our room, when she saw a very large centipede crawl out of the jacket. We believe that this is what bit her. After treatment at the ER, we went back to the Main Street Inn and requested a new room. Later that night when we returned from an excursion on the island, we thought we should look under this bed. Sure enough, it was also littered with dead bugs as well as one live bug. We went back down to speak to the night manager and requested to look at another room. Eventually we looked at 4 more rooms and all had lots of dead bugs under the beds and one even had broken glass from a light bulb laying on the floor. We were so disgusted and tired from moving from room to room, that we asked the night manager to find us another place to stay on the island. The night manager did book us a room at the Hampton Inn and we spent the night there and then decided to cut our honeymoon short and head home.

This is a beautiful property, the architecture and the landscaping create a great combination, but the rooms are infested with bugs. We will not be going back and would not recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Look under the bed before you move into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pecten56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Each year we stay at the Main Street Inn and each year is as good as the previous one. The Inn in one street off the main Hilton Head road (278) which means very little traffic noise. The rooms are lovely and come with evening wine and cookies as well as breakfast. The Inn is across the street from a small shopping center which has some excellent restaurants. So we just walk across the street to eat rather than getting in the car. Our favorite restaurants are Wise Guys and Frankie Bones. Both have early bird menus that are great bargains on Hilton Head.

Room Tip: We have had rooms in several locations and have not found a bad one. Sometimes if there are children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Room wasn't ready when arrived.TV is 30 years old & shows mostly snow on it. No bar to speak of. Pool is 6ft x30 feet. Jacuzzi is broken & vial. Lobby is small and uninviting. Hours of community areas are till dark. Free wine & beer are given for 2 hours when most people are out eating dinner 5pm-7pm. Some animal is out screaming by the pool people are opening their doors and barking hoping to scare it away. Do yourself a favor and spend your money on the ocean, this dump is a complete waste of time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiseeye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were delighted with the romantic atmosphere and the beautiful room, but the area rug in our room was in serious need of being cleaned. Happy hour and breakfast were great, but the front desk staff weren't very hospitable. That being said, we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Quaint place in need of an overhaul. Jacuzzi still out of action 3 months later.

Gave us room 204 which was damp as anything. When mentioned they said yes it is damp and gave us another room.

Lots going for it but ruined due to lack of care and mostly due to rude surly front desk lady. T who works there is great but the front desk ice queen should not work in the service industry. Rude and unhelpful is the half of it.whole place needs some love and care. Fixing jacuzzi would help.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonmattyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.3 mi away
Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort
7.3 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#13 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#17 of 27 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn & Spa

Address: 2200 Main Street, Hilton Head, SC 29926
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive in every detail, Festiva's Main Street Inn & Spa represents a time-honored tradition of luxury, enhanced with the most lavish amenities found in a modern premier hotel. We pamper our guests and constantly anticipate their needs. Our excellent concierge staff will help make your days most enjoyable - from arranging theatre tickets, tee-times and massage treatments to making reservations for gourmet dining in any of our over 200 fabulous local restaurants.A tranquil enclave awaits each guest. High ceilings, detailed moldings, heart-of-pine floors and European decor create a peaceful, relaxing ambiance. Each of our thirty-three guest rooms is appointed with exquisite period furnishings crafted in France. Your accommodations herald a night of pleasant dreams. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Hilton Head
Main Street Inn And Spa
Main Street Hilton Head
Hilton Head Main Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing