We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Main Street Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Main Street Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Main Street, Hilton Head, SC 29926   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is not a five star hotel by any means, but it is an excellent value on the island. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts (included) are very good - much better than a typical chain breakfast. The rooms are a bit modest, but comfortable and clean. There are a variety of good restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    45
    16
    14
    3
See reviews for
21
97
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I came to the Main Street Inn and Spa for our Honeymoon last month. It is a beautiful property, but it is not being well managed. Our room looked fine at first glance when we checked in on a Sunday night. However, the next morning my wife woke up with bug bites that she did not have when we went to bed. The second night, in the middle of the night, my wife screamed waking me from my sleep. She said that she had been bitten by a bug of somekind. She was soon experiencing a considerable amount of pain. Not just itching....pain. We looked under the bed to see if we could see the bug that bit her and although we did not find any live bugs, the area under the bed was a virtual burial ground for lots of dead bugs of many types. After a few minutes, her pain got got bad enough that she asked me to take her to the emergency room at the local hospital. We grabbed our jackets and left for the ER. When we got there, she started to put her jacket on which had been in the closet in our room, when she saw a very large centipede crawl out of the jacket. We believe that this is what bit her. After treatment at the ER, we went back to the Main Street Inn and requested a new room. Later that night when we returned from an excursion on the island, we thought we should look under this bed. Sure enough, it was also littered with dead bugs as well as one live bug. We went back down to speak to the night manager and requested to look at another room. Eventually we looked at 4 more rooms and all had lots of dead bugs under the beds and one even had broken glass from a light bulb laying on the floor. We were so disgusted and tired from moving from room to room, that we asked the night manager to find us another place to stay on the island. The night manager did book us a room at the Hampton Inn and we spent the night there and then decided to cut our honeymoon short and head home.

This is a beautiful property, the architecture and the landscaping create a great combination, but the rooms are infested with bugs. We will not be going back and would not recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Look under the bed before you move into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Each year we stay at the Main Street Inn and each year is as good as the previous one. The Inn in one street off the main Hilton Head road (278) which means very little traffic noise. The rooms are lovely and come with evening wine and cookies as well as breakfast. The Inn is across the street from a small shopping center which has some excellent restaurants. So we just walk across the street to eat rather than getting in the car. Our favorite restaurants are Wise Guys and Frankie Bones. Both have early bird menus that are great bargains on Hilton Head.

Room Tip: We have had rooms in several locations and have not found a bad one. Sometimes if there are children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Room wasn't ready when arrived.TV is 30 years old & shows mostly snow on it. No bar to speak of. Pool is 6ft x30 feet. Jacuzzi is broken & vial. Lobby is small and uninviting. Hours of community areas are till dark. Free wine & beer are given for 2 hours when most people are out eating dinner 5pm-7pm. Some animal is out screaming by the pool people are opening their doors and barking hoping to scare it away. Do yourself a favor and spend your money on the ocean, this dump is a complete waste of time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were delighted with the romantic atmosphere and the beautiful room, but the area rug in our room was in serious need of being cleaned. Happy hour and breakfast were great, but the front desk staff weren't very hospitable. That being said, we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Quaint place in need of an overhaul. Jacuzzi still out of action 3 months later.

Gave us room 204 which was damp as anything. When mentioned they said yes it is damp and gave us another room.

Lots going for it but ruined due to lack of care and mostly due to rude surly front desk lady. T who works there is great but the front desk ice queen should not work in the service industry. Rude and unhelpful is the half of it.whole place needs some love and care. Fixing jacuzzi would help.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Staff was not particularly friendly. Room could use a good cleaning…mildew on the shower curtain, dust in various places and the carpet needed to be vacuumed. Soap bar was never replaced and I was using a sliver after three days.

Breakfast was from 7:30-10:30am. If you didn’t arrive by 10, the staff wouldn’t put out more food. They would not only go above and beyond as would be expected at a place like this but they weren’t even going to do minimal.

Convenient location to shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Lap pool and garden area were lovely. The grounds are the best part of the stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in queen with balcony. Balcony connects to other balconys so we did not utilize it for lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn & Spa

Address: 2200 Main Street, Hilton Head, SC 29926
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Main Street Inn & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive in every detail, Festiva's Main Street Inn & Spa represents a time-honored tradition of luxury, enhanced with the most lavish amenities found in a modern premier hotel. We pamper our guests and constantly anticipate their needs. Our excellent concierge staff will help make your days most enjoyable - from arranging theatre tickets, tee-times and massage treatments to making reservations for gourmet dining in any of our over 200 fabulous local restaurants.A tranquil enclave awaits each guest. High ceilings, detailed moldings, heart-of-pine floors and European decor create a peaceful, relaxing ambiance. Each of our thirty-three guest rooms is appointed with exquisite period furnishings crafted in France. Your accommodations herald a night of pleasant dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Main Street Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Hilton Head
Main Street Inn And Spa
Main Street Hilton Head
Hilton Head Main Street Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.