We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in a Congested World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Main Street Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Main Street Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Main Street, Hilton Head, SC 29926   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Oasis in a Congested World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Impressed from the minute I pulled up. I realized it was off the beaten path and so quiet. I was there on business for one night but had a very restful evening. The flora and fauna was a relaxing view. The room with two double beds was plenty for one or two. Very spacious bathroom. Wonderful mattress. Wish I could have taken advantage of the spa. Small TV but it was all I needed.

Room Tip: I had a first floor patio. Easy access. I felt very secure and safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sailawayaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Good:
Overall the property is nice. The staff was very friendly even at 2:30 am when we checked in! They were helpful in every way possible. It is a beautiful entrance to pull into and the garden is picture perfect as well. Very large bathroom. Coffee was excellent.

The Bad:
The outside hot tub and pool (or whatever they were called) was very small. As beautiful as the garden was, it was very small and once we went past a gazebo entrance there was nothing there but woods. The shower in the King suite was small, I guess due to the whirlpool tub, when taking a shower you can barely turn around and you are standing directly under a shower head that will not move. The breakfast was a full breakfast but not many selection and even at 7:30 am it was still stale tasting. The parking area was on gravel which just did not go with the building appearance.

The Ugly:
There was two parking areas and one one side by the woods there were pet food dishes so that animals could eat. Now I have pets of my own and love them but imagine coming back late and parking and having an animal shoot by after eating. That will scare the crap out of you especially since there is no lighting in the actual parking lot!! It surely freaked me out! Above the shower is a small entrance that reminds me of an attic entrance, each day in the shower there were black droppings that I am sure came from that entrance which can only mean one thing! The paint was chipping off the walls in both room as well as the furniture. The room was in serious need of dusting and as much as I paid for that room I would have expected more than a 13 inch box tv that you could barely see in the armoire. There was very little storage place for clothes. When I booked originally, I booked at double but the lady at the front desk suggested a king suite because it had a private balcony area with a firepit. And yes she said firepit!! There was not fire pit, just a small container on the table with a small opening that had a flame the size of a candle that could come out of it. The area was in serious need of cleaning and the vines and grass area back there was so bad that we were actually scared to go out there. The space is so small that I'd wish I had kept the double. To me, the king suite was not worth the money paid. The bed was HORRIBLE. Although the sheets were very clean, the pillows were flat and the bed mattresses were old and worn out and instead of replacing the mattresses, they bought one of those paddings to go on top of it but it did not cover the whole bed so it made the bed very lumpy and awful looking even when the bed was made.

Did I complain of this to the management? Some of it I did, some of it I did not because I travel enough to know that it would not help or get me my money back.

Will I stay again? No. This is not a resort, and the spa was not good at all. Although it was nice "overall" it should not cost as much as it does until they invest in several repairs. To each his or her own, but I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bella_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Tucked away off Main Street, a short drive from Palmetto Dunes and equidistant from Caligny Plaza and the Tanger Outlets, this is Inn is perfectly positioned for all the fun activities Hilton Head has to offer. Main Street Cafe is just across the street and is also the most popular lunch spot among locals- featuring a Lobster Grilled Cheese and Lobster Salad Roll. Aside from the location, Main Street Inn has wonderful features that make its guests feel right at home. My boyfriend and I stay every time we are in the area, which is monthly. There is a large Southern-Style hot breakfast every morning with multiple dining areas that give the comfort of one's own kitchen. Additionally, a complimentary Happy Hour is served every day from 5-7 with a maximum of two generously poured wines or beer if you prefer, and fresh baked cookies. We are consistently impressed with the accommodating nature of the staff, and attention to detail with bookings and vacation questions.
As for the suites- there is not a bad room in the house! All suites are private and unique with gorgeous features. Beautiful beds, crisp duvets and sheets, Ipod Ihome outlets in every room, two plush robes, an armoire that holds hang-ups and a television, and a great French double-door marble floor bathroom. Courtyard and Pool views. The lap pool and hot tub are refreshing after a long day of work, or fresh from the beach. Come stay with us at the Main Street Inn! The value is unbeatable, (around $139 a night, and for a 4-star place you won't find much else under $200) and you'll have a lovely vacation experience.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house! All locations are private and unique with gorgeous features. Beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great small resort. Off the beaten trail for the tourists yet the central island location is perfect for those that want to relax and unwind in comfort. The breakfast is great for the first few days but the scrambled eggs get tiring after day 5. Happy hour with wine and beer complimentary is a great way to segue into the evening. We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahAnneCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We come back here every time we visit Hilton Head. Every room is different, the grounds are lovely and the pool area so relaxing. No one bothers you, it is so tranquil. The breakfast is basic but laid back and you get the bonus of free drinks in the evening. There is a lovely old fashioned shopping area two minutes walk away where you can eat in the evening so no need to even drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imogenSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff is, for the most part, very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was fine - a buffet of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hash browns and biscuits or french toast. There were two types of cereal and several types of juices. Some pastries were also available as well as bread to be toasted. So, you could have a breakfast and it was filling. Of course, there was coffee and hot water for tea and oatmeal. In the afternoons, they offered wine (red or white) and beer (lite or regular) plus some cookies. Great location with two very good restaurants within walking distance - Frankie Bonz and Wise Guys. Frankie Bonz was our favorite. There are also some interesting shops and a Harris Teeter within walking distance.

Room Tip: The one problem we had was with the smoking areas. Our room was next to an area where there was a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mstein2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed here several times and always enjoy the peaceful ambiance of the inn. The inn is within walking distance of several excellent restaurants for lunch and dinner. The breakfast at the inn has enough of a selection from eggs to cereals to satisfy most people. The staff is very helpful and professional. The room is fine (not overly large) but the bathroom is quite roomy. It's a nice break from the "cookie cutter" hotels that you can stay in anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drsjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.3 mi away
Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort
7.3 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#13 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#17 of 27 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn & Spa

Address: 2200 Main Street, Hilton Head, SC 29926
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive in every detail, Festiva's Main Street Inn & Spa represents a time-honored tradition of luxury, enhanced with the most lavish amenities found in a modern premier hotel. We pamper our guests and constantly anticipate their needs. Our excellent concierge staff will help make your days most enjoyable - from arranging theatre tickets, tee-times and massage treatments to making reservations for gourmet dining in any of our over 200 fabulous local restaurants.A tranquil enclave awaits each guest. High ceilings, detailed moldings, heart-of-pine floors and European decor create a peaceful, relaxing ambiance. Each of our thirty-three guest rooms is appointed with exquisite period furnishings crafted in France. Your accommodations herald a night of pleasant dreams. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Hilton Head
Main Street Inn And Spa
Main Street Hilton Head
Hilton Head Main Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing