We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly a five star review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar

Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar
Coligny Plaza, 101 A/B Pope Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-689-2662
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Gastropub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bomboras Grille is located just off Coligny Beach. The menu is Low Country, made from scratch using the freshest ingredients. Both Lunch, Dinner and Late Night is served. Come in and see your beer fill up through the bottom and set your drink on top of a coaster that keeps your drink below 32 degrees. The servers take your order on IPods and IPads. Indoor and Outdoor seating is available. Come in and chill. Family Friendly! Voted Best BBQ Pulled Pork on Hilton Head with our BBQ Pulled Pork Sliders!
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nearly a five star review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is an underrated tasty restaurant with only a few drawbacks to keep it from being a five star review. First of all I am not a fan of the social plate fare .... in other words this is a trendy type of restaurant where you get several over priced smallish plates to share with others ... they recommend 3 dishes for two people .... I'm not a fan of that type of restaurant .... they DO have larger plate selections which saved it for me. We started off with cold beer which was quite cold. The pimento cheese appetizer was VERY good but there were not enough chips/veggies to finish the delicious and generous portion of cheese. We had to order more which got to us after our entrees came. My wife pieced together a dinner of a "social plate" with some sides and they were good ..... she got the steak and it was flavorful. I got the very generous "large" plate with tempura shrimp and fries and this is the best meal I have had yet ... delicious and the fries seemed hand cut. I seriously want to have this again. For some reason however they brought out the cocktail sauce in a small container that contained about a tablespoonful ... it was very good too but by the time I would have asked for more and gotten it I would have been finished. I substituted ketchup instead which was fine. This place tries to be a trendy bar and I guess it succeeds but in my opinion it succeeds as a darn good bar and grille without the "social plate" fare .... but to each their own. I would definitely go back

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    110
    41
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Crab Cake Slidders!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The location is convenient. The food was AMAZING!!! I had the crab cake sliders which were so tasty and our server, Sarah, made the already awesome experience even better by being so personable and friendly. If you're in Hilton Head SC Bomboras Grille is a definite "must do" restaurant.

Thank you Bomboras Staff-You Rocked!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Back for Thirds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our family has been coming back to HHI for years now. About 4 years ago we discovered Bomboras, and have been back twice since the initial visit. This time we took extended family for their first visit. It was a great dinner overall. The food is always on point and the service is great. All members of our family tried something different, ranging from the meatloaf to the fish, and all were very happy. We even managed to convert a non-fish eater to a Mahi Mahi lover. Our family personally enjoys the tapas style plates, but they serve full-sized entrees as well. The drinks were also made well and were delicious. The third time was definitely a charm, and we have no doubt we will be returning again. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a change in places to eat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“the bomb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Girls' night out and we wanted some lowcountry cuisine. This fab find offered a laid back scene, terrific service, live music and a unique fusion of fresh, local food served with a tasty flair. Do not miss the hush puppies or shrimp and grits. Kid's menu, diverse beer list, friendly service, nice pour and comfortable atmosphere inside (--sports watching on their big screens would be awesome), and their outdoor dining area right on Coligny Circle all charming. It happened to be a decent evening to sit outside for a cocktail before we migrated inside for AC. Had a great dining experience at reasonable prices (for HHI). Ask for Matt -- he's the king of service there!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It's a Cincinnati Bengals Bar!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

So, what's not to like? Marvin drinks here in the off-season. On game day, it's a Who Dey crowd! Great to root for the Bengalis in t-shirt and shorts!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bomboras Grille & Chill Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.