We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club to your Saves list
Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club
3 Avocet Road, Hilton Head, SC 29938   |  
Hotel amenities
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Not a bad place to stay. The location is great for going to the beach and Coligny Plaza. The rooms are not generous but doable. Worked out okay for 3 kids especially with bunk beds. The kitchen is tight but Not bad. I really wish each unit had its own washer/dryer that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
39
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Kentucky
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We returned from a weeks stay at the Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club on 2/24/2013. I was impressed with the condition of the two bedroom unit. Everything was in good working order, the beds comfortable, and the place was tastefully furnished. The big screen tv was welcome on the two days that it rained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were pristine. The location is just a block or so from the beach, and there was Easy to shopping, restraunts, grocery stores, etc. We would stay there again. I would give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Close to beach, shopping, restaurants, grocery store, bike rentals. Amenities perfect for the type of vacation we like (ability to eat in or out, catch some live music, watch sunrise and/or dolphins at beach, ride bikes safely on trails/beach, golf, relax by the pool and read/sleep etc).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! This property is disgusting. I knew going into it that this property was a bit outdated, but I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. The office smells horrible of cigarette smoke. They obviously smoke inside which is illegal. They should not be subjecting their guests to this at all. One morning we awoke to a partially eaten banana! (which was never opened...something chewed right through the peel!) Disgusting!! We told the office and she actually laughed it off that it must have been cold that night so a mouse came in and enjoyed our food. WHAT??? She said she would have someone set traps under the fridge and the stove...but of course, nobody ever came by. And I checked and there were never any traps set. And who wants to stay somewhere that you would have a dead mouse in a trap...or worse, it still alive and screaming until the poor things dies or someone removes it??? The sheets on the beds are like sandpaper! There are only two good things to this property...the location, and the fact that the water heats up instantly. But I would bet that you could find somewhere else much nicer in the same area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Sea Crest is an older timeshare property in Hilton Head. The units are spacious with plenty of room for 4 people (1 bedroom with loft). The property is definitely old, but it's convenient to the beach, and directly across the street from Coligny Plaza. You will either get a parking lot view, or a pool view. The pool is open late, so beware if you are sensitive to noise. Grocery store is in Coligny Plaza, very convenient if you want to cook your own meals.
The only downside for us was that we were next to the elevator. Voices echoed loudly because of the layout of the centrally located concrete and steel stairs and elevator. Hard to sleep when a group is visiting by the elevator.

Room Tip: Wonderful view of the sunset from rooms facing the pool. Get here early if you are checking in on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a week and had an good time. The location is great as it is close to the beach, although the weather was most beach-going conducive on the day before we left, of course. The check-in office reeks of cigarette smoke and that is just disgusting, but the front desk ladies were very nice. The pools are nice, but the back pool was closed while we were there. Our unit was recently renovated, so there were some nice new appliances and new carpet, and a decent mattress on the bed. HOWEVER: one of the kitchen cabinets kept coming off it's hinges when I opened it (even after the maintenance guy came "fixed" it) and bonked me in the head when I bent down to get a pot to cook in, the hall closet door came off it's track rollers when I tried to open it to get a blanket out (they did fix that properly) and the cable tv would go fuzzy for no reason from time to time. We rented a couple of DVD's while we were there, but no one gave us instructions on how to play the dvd! (i.e. which buttons on the remote to push to get the tv and dvd player to talk to one another - which we tried to figure out on our own but eventually had to call the maintenance guy AGAIN - and even HE had a hard time figuring it out but eventually did!) A side note about the older maintenance guy - he asks where I'm from and then proceeds to say how he hates everything about California (nice customer service, dude!) and tries to engage me in a battle of words. Since I could tell he was an ignorant idiot, I disengaged and went to the grocery store - especially after he tries to tell me that whoever he votes for in the presidential election will beat the person that I am voting for (I guess he knew I was a liberal based on a few of my comments to him before I realized that I was engaged in a battle of wits with an unarmed person!)...I should also mention that the people upstairs were sooooo noisy and kept opening and closing their slider to their balcony every few minutes and stomping around. The noise transference from upstairs to downstairs units was annoying, to say the least.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reminderville oh
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Been coming to the Sea Crest for the last five years and it has always been great. The staff is very nice and helpful. and is the best location on the Island.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 3 Avocet Road, Hilton Head, SC 29938
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club!!A great family resort, the place to be for the best location on Hilton Head Island. At the Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club you will find 3 Swimming Pools, one of which is heated, an outdoor Hot Tub, 4 Tennis Courts & a coin operated Laundromat. The Resort has WI-FI in each Condo and at each of the Pool Areas.There is a courtyard area with shuffleboard, gas and charcoal barbeque grills, picnic tables and a playground for our little friends. On site there is also an activity center where books, games and various other items can be signed out.Guests have access to a third pool & deck overlooking the Beach, here you will find a junior Olympic size Pool, Kiddie Pool, Snack Bar (Seasonal) & Restrooms.Sea Crest accommodates each reservation with one parking spot. A parking pass for your car is passed out at check in. This pass needs to remain visible in your windshield at all times during your stay. Anyone with an additional car is welcomed to find public street parking.To those of you visiting the Sea Crest for the first time, may we offer a special WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Crest Surf And Racquet Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.