We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay - Good Location. A few details need work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hilton Head Resort
Save Saved
You added Hilton Head Resort to your Saves list
663 William Hilton Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Cleveland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Stay - Good Location. A few details need work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Summary: HHR had all the necessary accommodations to make a great family vacation. We stayed a week in July and the whole facility seemed mostly full. HHR consists of 4 different buildings with 4 floors each. It's apprx. a 1/4-1/2 mile from the beach depending on which unit you stay. And the walk to the beach is over a boardwalk across a creek marsh.

Positives: Each of the different four HHR buildings had a different feature (outdoor pool, tennis court, indoor pool, sundeck, etc.) which was accessible by anyone staying in any HHR building. Good variety. Enjoyed the outdoor pool in building 1. Had a small grill and bar, music playing, and a more festive atmosphere. We gravitated toward the outdoor pool near building 4 which was nice, but more low key. Walk to the beach was over a marsh which was a pretty walk, albeit lengthy. They have shuttle service for the boardwalk too (and the shuttle drivers are very kind). Security staff is also friendly and makes sure they're on top of things. HHR has plenty going for it to make a family vacation happen. We even saw a bunch of couples and a newlywed duo there. It all works.

Needs Work: We were located on the 4th floor which was hard to haul two toddlers up and down. Elevator was slow which didn't help. Cleanliness of our specific room was average. I personally like the smell of bleach in the air indicating a sanitary room. Didn't have that. HHR overall was average clean. Pools could have been cleaner. Little too much sunscreen collecting in them.

Overall: Enjoy this place as friends, family, or couples. It meets every need. But if you're looking for exclusive and top tier, this isn't it.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 1 are closest to beach access. And secure a balcony. It's a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Head Resort. All units are individually owned and we found one through VBRO at the last minute. Resort itself was a little dated but no problems. They could use more luggage carts and there is only one elevator in each building which is slow and hot. The boardwalk to the beach is about a 10 minute walk but they also have golf cart shuttles running in the morning and afternoon. If you have rolling coolers and beach carts it's not too bad. Beach itself was the highlight of the trip - keep in mind the beach is quite wide so we learned quickly to set up near the dunes so not to have to constantly move with the tide. We also enjoyed Coco's - my kids played beach volleyball and we could get snacks (typical bar food - fries, burgers, etc.). We stayed in the building with the large pool in the middle which was a good location and closest to the beach. Other buildings have indoor pool and track, tennis courts and sundeck. We had no issues with noise as I had seen in some of the reviews. Short drive to the grocery store was a plus. Pretty much a family beach resort and we will come back.

Room Tip: book in advance and search on VBRO; quieter rooms will be in Building 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ok Hilton Head was not the beach for my family. Felt like I needed a Lamborghini!! The resort it was ok. We got there and there was no luggage cart to be found then had to wait on the elevator was like ten mins. The temp in the elevator was crazy hot too. Got to the home and it was small. The internet was not working. The beach is like a mile away and YOU HAVE TO WALK TO IT. There's a golf cart that makes trips lol every other hr to the beach that I never got to ride. This Resort has pools that were great for the kids pretty clean rooms and great help from property owners office to fix the internet and dishwashers. Want be going back to Hilton Head. No where hardly to fish. Nice beach to drive to down the road. Great place to golf. Restaurants, break out that Gold Card!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo in building #3. It was great because this unit was in the building with the indoor swimming. Our boys had to take a flight of stairs to get to the pool. They were loving it. If you desire to swim outside they have 2 other pools. One of which was connected to the outdoor/indoor grill and bar. They may have been short on help, but the individuals sure knew how to multitask extremely well. The bathrooms everywhere on site were updated and very clean. They have a shuttle that runs at different times during the day that takes you down to the ocean. The beach is very clean. If you need to get to a bathroom quickly while at the beach you can drop in at Coco's, where you can have a bite to eat and drink a fruity beverage. Our unit was undated and clean. It was great for a family of 4. You will have a full kitchen, so if you don't want to eat out you have this option. The only downfall of the unit was the fan in the main bedroom could be mounted correctly so it doesn't feel like it will fall off of the ceiling. Would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Head Resort and had a great time. The resort overall looks a little rundown from the outside, but all the amenities were clean and worked great. The workout room had all new equipment and all the pools were well maintained. The prices at the deli onsite were reasonable and the food was good. The walk to the beach on the boardwalk was great as you walk right over a large marshland that changed a lot with tides and the private beach was clean and not crowded. There is a restaurant at the end of the boardwalk called Coco’s that was reasonably priced and lots of island drinks available. We rented a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo and it had plenty of space in it for a family of four. Ours was renovated and had a nice beachy feel to it. The resort is about 5 minutes from Shelter Cove and 10 minutes from Coligny Beach if you want to go to a public beach. Shelter Cove has nightly entertainment for the kids with Shannon Tanner. He was very good with the children and our son even got to go on stage and sing.

There were a couple of minor issues. While no smoking signs are posted in all the pool areas, there were a few guests who regularly smoked in this area. The amount of staff there is small so there wasn’t anyone really to enforce the no smoking areas. Also, the hot tub was just for those over 12 years old and they did enforce that rule hard. A little silly to have the age so high, especially since the younger kids will be with adults at the pool anyways. This is the first resort I’ve been to that had such strict age enforcement on the hot tub.

If looking for a reasonably priced condo for your vacation look no further. Pools & beach were great and resort is not overcrowded. Everything on the island is a short drive away as well.

Room Tip: Vacation rental by owner website (vrbo.com) listing # 352452. Condo was nicely renovated with a beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed at one of the condos rented out by owners. It was a lovely condo, clean and comfortable with the amenities you would expect from your own home. A well-appointed kitchen with pots and pans and a stove / oven and fridge , microwave , toaster, coffee maker. Wi-fi was strong and flat screen TV and DVD player provided entertainment. Condo was about 10 min walk to the beach. Lots of parking. Need to drive to attractions. Went parasailing and just relaxed. Great place for a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, VA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Hilton Head Resort in a condo and was thoroughly pleased. Loved the indoor and outdoor pools, indoor track, fitness rooms, tennis courts, and beach. There is a boardwalk to the beach with a restaurant actually on the beach, Coco's. Loved their funky monkey and crabby patty sandwich. Great little place for sandwiches as well as at the grill near the outdoor pool. Gated community so felt secure and the condo was just perfect, 2 bedroom, 2 baths worked out perfectly for us. Staff and resort personnel very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Resort

Address: 663 William Hilton Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;