We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book it again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilton Head Resort
Save
You added Hilton Head Resort to your Saves list
663 William Hilton Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Book it again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I must admit I was a bit apprehensive as the rate was so much better than other locations we checked into. We were traveling with 4 adults in our party so a condo vs 2 hotel rooms was perfect. We were in bldg 1 with a pool view and close to the boardwalk. Room was not picture perfect but very comfortable and suited our needs. The pool and the deli/bar staff were fantastic and loved the pool and boardwalk. It was worth setting the alarm and getting out to watch the sunrise over the ocean! We Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We (me, wife, 2yr old) stayed for a week. We didn't really use a lot of the things that the resort offered, but we found the staff to be OK and the facilities to be in relatively good repair. This isn't a swank resort, but it has a lot of fun stuff for families to do.

The boardwalk is about 200yds...I mention this as photos don't really show you what to expect. You cross a salt water marsh (which is cool to see fill / drain with the tides) and is not bad at all. If you're shopping VRBO, note that building 1 and 2 will offer potential for a view...3 and 4 are parking lot views. We were on the 4th floor of unit 1, looking directly at the marsh / beach. Awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the hilton head resort 2 times it's wonderful! Not fancy but nice! We really like it because it is mid island and the beach is private! Meaning only guests at the hilton head resort have acess to the boardwalk to get to the beach and there are not any real close public beach access points that are close! So the beach is usually pretty quiet! With my 4 kids that perfect! They also have an awesome beach bar coco's! Right on the beach! They have 3 pools 2 outdoor 1 indoor that are all clean! A few tennis courts and a gift shop/ restaurant that have decent food! The security is really good also they have a 24/7 security gate!
The first time we stayed we had a 2 bedroom in building 2 with a great view! This time we stayed in 3221 it was a 3 bedroom decorated beautifully! It also had a in Suite washer and dryer which is a must for us with 4 kids! Although there was not a real nice view it was nice to have a screened balcony in the evening! Building 3 is the indoor pool building so when in the kitchen or dining room it was sometimes loud from the pool but not horrible! Great place great value!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just got back from Hilton Head Resort for spring break. We rented a two bedroom unit in building 2 from VRBO. Our experience was perfectly fine. It certainly is not a 4 or 5 star place, but was perfect for what we paid. It shows age and needs some upgrades. It was however very quiet, great location, and security was great. The boardwalk to the beach was an easy walk. Our lazy 5 year old did not even complain. The view on the beach side of building 2 was nice. The kids enjoyed the pools. Only real complaint was the on-site fitness center. That was the biggest pile of broken yard sale junk ever.

Room Tip: Boardwalk side is nice. The building with the indoor pool seemed noisy and smelled of chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great room, great owner. Very well decorated with beach furniture and accessories. My only problem was that the building decided to rent out all its tennis courts during Easter Week/Spring Break to a college tournament; it is doing maintenance on its hot tub as well as maintenance on the elevators in our building.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our experience at this resort has been very good. We love the central location of this resort. We've stayed numerous times in different villas in different buildings. Each unit is individually owned so the degree of updates, renovations and supplies inside are unique for each villa. Some owners have done total overhauls while others have done the minimum - usually the higher priced villas are the nicest and are furnished best with nicer decor, dishes,pots, etc. Some even provide beach chairs, umbrellas and stuff - some do not - so ask! We were just there and found some nice updates to the resort amenities too. They have resurfaced all the pools which all look brand new. The boardwalk which I believe was only a few years old has had a total revamp with trek material or whatever that expensive stuff is called - anyway made it's 5 - 7 minute walk to the beach even nicer. They also have multi-seater shuttles that run back and forth so that's nice if you don't want to walk. All the elevators were in the process of being upgraded when we were there- different ones each week for a month or so I think they said - probably finished by now. The deli and beachbar was closed for off-season but will re-open in March. They've added a beautiful granite bar at the deli's new bar with stainless barstools outside by the large pool and it looks spectacular. We have been several times, winter, spring and summer and unlike some of the other posters have never experienced any bugs, mold, fire alarms. And the "secret entrance doors" another posted mentioned actually are marked "Do not PROP open fire door" - NOT "do not open fire door" as that poster said . (I specifically looked at them after reading the other post).....so consider the source for some of the not so great reviews. None of the villas we've stayed in have had "popcorn on the walls" but then we've always paid a good bit more than $700 week - at least in the summer. I think the Hilton Head Resort is like most places - you get what you pay for. We expect the best, we're willing to pay for it and we've always gotten it at this resort. We will return again and again. :)

Room Tip: Choose a villa that has been updated and ask about anything that is important to you. Check reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are used to the Westin, walk away. Yes they have upgraded the indoor pool area. Be prepared for the world's slowest elevator and a lot of walking-either stairs or the 1/2 mile boardwalk trek to the ocean. As the only three people on the 4th floor it was nice and quiet. Be sure to ask the owner what is included in a "fullly stocked kitchen" we were short a hair dryer, pizza cutter, odd things that should be there were gone. We had an 84 year old and a 2 year old, frankly not very convenient. My favorite aspect upon arrival are the secret entrance doors that are all marked "Do not open Fire door" Yeah those are all the doors you need to use and to get anywhere. Supposedly there is an onsite market, let me know if you find it. We were regulars at the Fresh Market deli just down the road. This place would be better for a hot summer stay on their beautiful beach that goes for miles. Once out there it is gorgeous. Oh and beware the
Gator pond, the little one went for a swim, oops! Bird watching is phenomenal , we saw a bald eagle, egrets, herons, oh my! The standards are South Carolina/Steinmart with popcorn on the walls to hide sins. Don't pay more than $700 a week and you won't be angry.

Room Tip: Call the owners and ask what is included, if you think it should be standard or obvious ASK anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Resort

Address: 663 William Hilton Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.