We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST when eatting out in Hilton Head” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Lowcountry Backyard

A Lowcountry Backyard
32 Palmetto Bay Road, Suite 4A, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-785-9273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and oil lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A MUST when eatting out in Hilton Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Loved every thing about this place! The meatloaf with mashed potatoes and lima beans and chocolate cream pie for dessert !!! Ate inside but the outside backyard
looked welcoming also. Amy was our waitress and she was always smiling and
cheerful! There's a cozy bar in a small room with a couple of tables. The Chef's wife
is helping out and eager to please. No wonder this is rater #3 on Tripadvisor!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,236
    317
    91
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wow. Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have been here before. My kids loved it last time. Now it's just me and my husband. Still amazing! The shrimp and grits are the best I've ever had. My husband doesn't even like grits and he loves these. Cathy our sever was awesome! She was so friendly and gave us great service. This will be the one place on the island we visit every time we come! You can not get a bad meal here it's just gnat good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
1 review
“I will definitely go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I just got back from having an excellent meal. I had the Seafood Purloo and it was fantastic. My wife had a salad with grilled shrimp and we both had the shrimp bisque, both very tasty. The atmosphere is great, the staff is friendly and helpful, an overall great experience, we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a fun dinner at Lowcountry Backyard. The moonshine cocktails served in mason jars was a great start to the evening. The shrimp and grits were outstanding, as were the fried green tomatoes. Several people in our group had the BBQ meatloaf, which was very tasty, but it arrived cold. The server was very apologetic and took the plates away immediately to return with hot food. Despite this glitch in the food, we would definitely eat here again.

We went to this restaurant two nights in a row. The first night we were told it would be a minimum of a 45 minute wait, probably closer to an hour. We put our name on the list and made a phone call to another restaurant, since it was already 8 pm and we didn't really want to wait an hour to be seated. The other place could take us immediately, so we left. The hostess called our cell phone in 15 minutes with an available table. C'est la vie, we'll try again tomorrow. The next night we were told 30 minutes and it ended up being almost 50 minutes before we were seated. Different hostess but it didn't seem that either of them had a good handle on wait times. Be prepared to be flexible!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This place lives up to the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had Sunday brunch and really enjoyed this place. We will be going back on the next visit. The waitresses were enjoyable and even entertained our kids. This place has its own style and excels at it. Don't hesitate to try this out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Lowcountry Backyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.