We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THESE REVIEWS ARE SOOOO TRUE!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Lowcountry Backyard

A Lowcountry Backyard
32 Palmetto Bay Road, Suite 4A, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-785-9273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and oil lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Crescent Springs, Kentucky
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“THESE REVIEWS ARE SOOOO TRUE!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have been coming to the Issland for 15 yrs....This time I spent alot of time looking on Trip Adv for the 'out of the way, places. This is a Great Find. I had the crab cakes..OMG the are the best!!!! And believe me, I have ate these at many places....:-)
My husband had the grits and shrimp and said they were the best. The servings are very big...The service was awesome.....Definitely a keeper!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,239
    317
    91
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great low country cooking in a country feeling backyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went for Sunday brunch and loved it! I had the seafood omlete special and my wife had shrimp and grits. Both dishes were delicious and nicely presented. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed. It felt more like dining with friends and family than a business. Best to get their early or you could face a long wait as it is a smallish place and does not take reservations (many places on Hilton Head don't take reservations). There is some inside seating but the outside is much nicer. It is on the same side of the road and just down from the Red Fish which we have not tried yet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the trip.....if you only eat out once- do not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

After 3 visits to Hilton Head Island - we found the best! Lunch was fried green tomato BLT, with the creamiest grits on the planet! Hubby had Shrimp BLT salad & we both agree - fried green tomatoes that are superb. Mmmmm! We are returning for dinner before we leave. Need to try their banana pudding.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“Cozy, easy with a twist.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose to eat dinner inside, which was also very cozy and relaxing, I recommend the fried green tomato appetizer, and the rest of the menu was a good sampling of simple yummy food. The atmosphere is down home, to be sure, and the honeysuckle drink delivered in a mason jar glass capped it off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

While traveling with friends to Hilton Head we have been using and reading reviews on trip adviser to find places to eat and thinks to do.

I read the review for this place so we decided to stop for lunch! Great choice. The sandwiches we had were great. Three of us had the fried green tomato sandwich and one of us had the flounder sandwich. Excellent choices. Seems you also couldn't go wrong with the sides that were available to pick from.

All in all the place was clean, decorated very nicely and the food was fantastic. Our server was ok, not the friendly type that we had experienced other places but she was not bad. Just very matter business like.

I would recommend everyone visiting Hilton Head visit this place. We plan on going back and trying this place for dinner also.

There was a bar there so a nice glass of wine would be awesome with something off the menu.

If I can add the pictures I took I will. Quaint place!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Lowcountry Backyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.