We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRUNCH!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Lowcountry Backyard

A Lowcountry Backyard
32 Palmetto Bay Road, Suite 4A, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-785-9273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and oil lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Springfield, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BRUNCH!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Oh my, oh my, go for brunch. We've been here for dinner which is delish, but the brunch is so good I could go there every morning if that was an option.
I get the backyard eggs Benedict, however I do ask for a fried egg instead of poached which is no problem for the kitchen to accommodate.
We have tried many places for brunch but Lowcountry Backyard is by far the best!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,131
    292
    81
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Finest comfort food around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A trip to Hilton Head would not be complete until you visit the Lowcountry Backyard for at least one meal. My husband and I went here for a late lunch during our stay and will be back if we are ever in the area again. Hubby had the shrimp, sausage, and cheesy bacon grits, while I had the peach barbeque potato chip meatloaf with mac and cheese and collard greens. Absolutely yummy!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good southern, home cooked meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were craving some good southern BBQ style food and this place did not disappoint!

The staff was amazing, treated us like long-lost family!

We started off with a moonshine tasting, it sounds scary, but they were surprisingly smooth! Make sure you try the White Lightning!

We had a party of 4 and a baby, we all got something different, and we all loved our choices! You wont go wrong here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Grits are Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We returned to LCB last month because of the great meals we had in May. This time, I manned up and tried the Shrimp and Grits for dinner. I sampled their grits in May and vowed to give the full meal a try. I am so glad I did. The dish was fantastic! I loved all the flavors that blended so well in my bowl. Shrimp, sausage, and bacon cream were wonderful. My wife had the fried Flounder sammie and really enjoyed it. There are other dished on the menu that I look forward to trying. I can't wait to return next year! For lunch on our second visit I had the BBQ Chicken/Bacon/Pimento Cheese sandwich. Three great things on a roll, what's not to love!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Hilton Head, and no trip is complete without a visit to A Lowcountry Backyard - or two! Their shrimp and grits are the best we've had anywhere ... So much so that I have a hard time even considering anything else on the menu. My husband does order other dishes and has never been disappointed. We are on the Island now and are already planning our second visit during the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lowcountry Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A Lowcountry Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Lowcountry Backyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.