We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Gotta Go There, Again !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Earle of Sandwich Pub

The Earle of Sandwich Pub
1 N Forest Beach Dr. #44, Hilton Head, SC 29928
(843) 785-7767‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We Gotta Go There, Again !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I arrived late to the party at Hilton Head, so the vacationers had some spots picked out from previous visits, and from an earlier lunch on this trip. After a vigorous round of miniature golf, the kids had THEIR lunch plans finalized BEFORE we asked "where shall we go for lunch?".

It was a warm, sunny day, with temperatures in the mid-70s. Who in their right mind would go INSIDE for lunch? With the waitress/bartender's (same person) help, we readjusted the height of a few beach/sun umbrellas at the outside tables, moved them together, and ordered. Everybody ordered their favorite drink, and lunch, and started talking, laughing, and just enjoying the moment.

The food was great, and - served in bountiful amounts. Some of the bread was reserved to feed the guppies in the pond just behind our seats, much to the delight of the really young children, but we should have saved a little of it to feed the huge carp (koi) just around the corner in the same pond. (Way better photo opportunity with the kids).

Parking was plentiful for both the pub, and the attendent shops. Great value for the meal. And, we didn't try to split the check. The old geezer (me) treated the whole mob to lunch. After all, they HAD to go to the beach, and I could say I really, really needed a nap to recover from the miniature golf.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but know your setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed this place. We may not have gone had we read some of the reviews here, but now that we've been we actually have had a good laugh at a number of them.

First, It's a small,dark PUB, with mostly just 1 person managing the tables. If you take 15 seconds to look around at the stuff on the wall, and another 45 looking at the comments on the menu, it should become immediately clear that you won't get 5-star service by whining! They really don't try to hide anything, so if you ask for separate checks after reading 22 times that they don't do that... well, I'm gonna laugh at you when you complain about it and they get kinda snippy with you. Granted, families eat together on vacation a lot and split checks would be easier, but they don't do it, they make it clear, so don't ask. :^)

Bottom line: We had The Earle and the Chicken Finger sandwiches. Both were fantastic. Good enough, in fact, that we've noted it as a place to come back to for lunch on our next visit to HHI.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very small place and great for a quick lunch. The chicken salad was delicious and they make their own potato chips. The corned beef sandwich was very lean and packed with meat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ask for the pasta salad for your side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great location in Coligny Square and moderately priced. My only complaint was no orange slices for the Blue Moon (a must have!!!). I had a burger with the pasta salad and everything was perfect. I think every table was full and our server was actually the bartender and she did a great job looking out for us and covering the bar...Will definitely return on my next trip...just with an orange in hand :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food, quick service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We ate lunch here and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and speediness of the service. The pasta salad is by far one of the best I have ever eaten. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Earle of Sandwich Pub also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Earle of Sandwich Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Earle of Sandwich Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.