We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and wonderful croissants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe

French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe
430 William Hilton Parkway, Suite 201C, Pineland Station Shopping Center, Hilton Head, SC 29926
843-342-5420
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: A cozy seating area, reminiscent of European cafés. Please stop by and enjoy our fine food, ambiance and soothing music! Our goal is to provide a taste of the finest things Provencal life can bring to the island through our French menu items, baked goods and table linens. We are committed to continuing our positive relationship with both local residents and visitors to the island and we encourage our customers to let us know how we are doing.
Exmore, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and wonderful croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This little cafe is such a treasure! The staff is extremely helpful and obviously dedicated to providing super attentive service. The almond croissants are unbelievably delicious and their coffee is also excellent. This goes on our list of "musts" for every trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Ran across ad for this bakery. The menu sounded good so we decide to try it for lunch one day. What a great find. Service could not have been better. Food was great. Really good bread is what makes a great sandwich and they definitely have it. Sandwiches are great. Quiches were really good and pastries were wonderful. We even called in an order on our way out of town. We felt it was worth a second meal there. You gotta try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Almond Croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Enjoyed the Bakery for breakfast in the rain. Had bacon, egg & cheese croissant (not on the menu, but available). The large almond croissants were great as well. Good cappuccino and coffee.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pastry Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The French Bakery and Courtyard Café is a hidden gem in a shopping strip. We stopped in to see what pasties they had and they had a bunch. After careful contemplation, we picked an apricot scone, cherry turnover, and apple pecan braid to take back to our hotel as an evening treat. All were very good with the cherry turnover being the best of the three. What a nice sweet to enjoy with a hot cup of tea

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a find! Great lunch and dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We weren't really sure what to expect but left very pleased. We all had something different and all dishes were superb. Sandwiches are very simple but uses fresh items and tasted great. The farmers sandwich, the chicken salad on specialty bread and the turkey were what we had. The bread was very similar to what you would find in Europe. Soup was great as were the two quiches we tried. We tried a sampling of desserts all were wonderful. The apple Danish was my favorite. The kids loved the brownie w cranberries and walnuts and the chocolate pastry. The chocolate moose was good but very rich! This isn't a boxed bakery like panera or Atlanta bread co. This is very much like what you would find in Europe. Service was extremely friendly. Treated us like family!! We will go back for sure!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.