We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch times 2!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe

French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe
430 William Hilton Parkway, Suite 201C, Pineland Station Shopping Center, Hilton Head, SC 29926
843-342-5420
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: A cozy seating area, reminiscent of European cafés. Please stop by and enjoy our fine food, ambiance and soothing music! Our goal is to provide a taste of the finest things Provencal life can bring to the island through our French menu items, baked goods and table linens. We are committed to continuing our positive relationship with both local residents and visitors to the island and we encourage our customers to let us know how we are doing.
Jonesborough TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch times 2!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We enjoyed lunch at The French Bakery two times on this trip to HHI. Staff is very helpful, joy in each other and their future is contagious! Lunch combos both days were hearty and satisfying. Took out dessert to eat later and it was yummy, even after a day in the fridge!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A denfinite yes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The French Bakery has excellent service and very fresh baked goods that are delicious. You can eat outside in the charming courtyard or inside the cafe. The pastries are so good that we take a few home with us and share them with friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,374 reviews 1,374 reviews
913 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 213 cities Reviews in 213 cities
2,620 helpful votes 2,620 helpful votes
“The breads and deserts equal the finest breads and pastries in various parts of France (including Paris.)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The French Bakery & Courtyard Café is located in Pineland Station Shopping Center in Hilton Head. We summon OnStar for directions, and upon entering the Pineland Station Shopping Center, OnStar sings out, “you have arrived.” Well, not yet. The French Bakery & Courtyard Café is near the main entrance and is near the “duck pond.”

To be clear, the French Bakery & Courtyard Café is not a five star French restaurant. The French Bakery & Courtyard Café actually is more of a self-serve excellent French bakery with 7-8 interior tables as well as outside courtyard seating. My wife “requires” several trips a week for French pastry carry out. The breads and deserts equal the finest breads and pastries in various parts of France (including Paris.)

The breakfast and lunch menus offer clever European meals at a fraction of the price. Expect Quiche Lorraine, Café Latte, Signature Grilled Chicken Panini, and various soups and salads. The French Bakery & Courtyard Café does not offer wine or beer, but does offer soft drinks.

The French Bakery & Courtyard Café is fine for kids if their parents can skip McDonald’s. The French Bakery & Courtyard Café’s tariff is quite small for the fare

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old fashioned delicious baked goods!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

What a great find. Outstanding breads and other baked goods served in a cute little shop. Delicious loaves of bread to go. Good coffee and cheerful service. Nice spot to chill.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This little gem is hidden away in one of the shopping plazas along Wm. Hilton Hwy. My husband and I went there for lunch one chilly day on a recent visit to HH. We ordered at the counter, practically drooling at all the beautiful pastries and cakes on display. I wish I could have taken some with us.
I had the wonderful zucchini ratatouille soup, which was just excellent, full of zucchini chunks and other veggies, served with a piece of French bread. He had the chicken salad on multigrain bread and said that the chicken salad wasn't anything special, but the bread was great.
This is a tiny place with a pleasant, friendly atmosphere. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Bakery & Courtyard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.