We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, sunset, and music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 17

Bistro 17
17D Harbourside Ln, Shelter Cove Marina, Hilton Head, SC 29928
+1 843-785-5517
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, sunset, and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We sat outside and were able to enjoy one of the best sunsets we've seen on Hilton Head. We went on a Thursday evening and there was a wonderful musical group (Target?) that was playing in front of the marina. They played songs from the 50s through today. Great voices and music. We had an excellent meal with great wine. My husband had the rib eye and it was huge - enough left over for two lunches. Service was also very good. It was just a perfect night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    80
    27
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Sunset Dining great here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

These folks used to own the successful Santa Fe Cafe so they are no strangers to the F&B business. They are going Frenchy this time in a cute little bistro with covered outdoor seating and menu. Pricey but delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“France by the Marina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

With wonderful views of the Shelter Cove Marina we were treated to a wonderful meal starting with mussels for me and escargot for my wife, she had the duck and I the filet au prove. Both of our meals were great for all courses. To add a little more romance to the evening, they had a piano player who really set the mood for us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at this gorgeous restaurant overlooking Shelter Cove Harbour. Staff were polite & curteous. Food was amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Food-Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The card looked a bit European, so tasted the food. We had a '3 salad on green' with tuna-, chicken- and shrimpsalad on a green salad with a real (!) italian balsamico vinegrette. It was fresh, large and (most important) EXCELLENT at a moderated price of $ 16.
Service was friendly snd speedy.
Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 17 also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bistro 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.