We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hilton Head location, possibly the perfect family vaction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Walk Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Captains Walk Villas to your Saves list
Captains Walk Villas
21 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Hilton Head location, possibly the perfect family vaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Captain's Walk is in a perfect location, in a quiet and lush plantation preserve that's covered with biking trails and canals, and in an area where the beaches are wide open. These villas are past a guard hut where access is restricted, so no public beach access, which makes it even quieter and nicer. None of the beaches in Hilton Head are really crowded, but this is still one of the better ones. It's mid-island so has great access to either side - within minutes of most of the restaurants and stores. We rented bikes several days and it was a great location to start from.

The complex is older, and perhaps some units might feel older, but we stayed in a condo that was newly remodeled and decorated and had luxury furnishings, easily as nice as a JW Marriot would. And even though the building is older, it didn't feel old. The pool is nice and spacious and well-kept, the grounds are lush, no complaints (no fitness center, perhaps only complaint).

We found Hilton Head to be perhaps the perfect place in the U.S. for a family vacation and stayed two weeks. The surf is mild, the water is warm, the beaches are perfect for toddlers, and it's 45 minutes to Savannah and two hours to Charleston, some of the neatest cities to explore for history buffs. And Hilton Head is quiet and uncrowded and exploding with greenery - it's a little more pricey than other areas on the SE coast, but well well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was our first trip to Hilton Head Island and we will definitley return. We rented 423 Captain's Walk direct from the owner but collected keys etc from the Vacation company. Oceanfront , 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. Very clean, with a balcony overlooking the beach and pool. Superb location at the heart of palmetto dunes between the Mariott and Hilton.
Inclued in the price was the use of the tennis courts at Palmetto Dunes tennis centre for an hour a day. Very good facility , within walking distance of the condo, although I would recommend hiring bikes as they are so useful for getting aroudn the plantation due to all the bike trails. You can also cycle to Plantation centre and Shelter Cove both of which have restaurants or use the free Palmetto Dunes buggy up to 9pm.

Great shopping at the Tanger outlet mall, including Abercrombie and Fitch and Hollister much to the delight of my teenage children.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Captains Walk in Palmetto Dunes. We stayed in the middle building of the 3 buildings on the second floor. Our 2 bedroom unit was advertised as having a "partial ocean view", but we had a great view of the pool and only slightly obscured view of the beach through some palm trees. We actually liked the trees as they gave us a lot of shade on the balcony. The grounds were beautifully landscaped. There was plenty of parking close to the building. The pool was a good size for the complex and well maintained. The pool area was cleaned and straightened up every morning. Best of all, we were steps away from the beach. Although we didn't use them, there were beach chairs/umbrella rentals very close by. There was also a nice shower/ hose area near the pool to wash all the sand off on our way back from the beach. Our unit itself was roomy, nicely furnished, although not lavish, and well appointed. It was comfortable and clean. I saw no bugs anywhere in the unit or even outside, other than a few ants on the walk towards the beach. We rented through Sunset rentals and had no problems.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Nice clean villa. Bike rentals from the Yankee Ped allowed us to explore different areas of the island and Palmetto Dunes. Made it easy for our 14 yo son to get to the tennis complex each day. Sun, sea, and a good book = a nice vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.4 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Walk Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Walk Villas

Address: 21 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Captains Walk Villas Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Walk Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.