We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Some drawbacks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Walk Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captains Walk Villas
Save Saved
You added Captains Walk Villas to your Saves list
21 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice place. Some drawbacks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Nice place. Pool not cleaned too well. Kind of a long walk to the beach for a place that is "on the beach."

Walking path is murder on bare feet. Couldn't they use something better on the feet? Slippery, steep wooden walkway carries you to the dune. They need to do something to make it less slippery/steep. My kids fell on it.

Had to walk through a dune to get to the beach. The dune was absolutely INFESTED with ants, and THEY BITE! I was bitten nearly every time walking to the beach, and my kids were bitten to the point of tears several times.

Kitchen sink clogs easily. Stopper for bathtub drains are filthy. Pieces of the blinds are missing. Come on! Can't they keep that in good repair? It just makes the place look dumpy to have some of the pieces of the vertical blinds missing.

King mattress is really hard, even with added pillow top to try and soften it. Made it hard to sleep at night.

But overall, we had a decent stay. We won't be back. We'll look for a better place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield Twp Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed a week in unit 459. We stayed on the ground level of the building to the right of the pool (if facing the ocean). We could see beautiful landscape and some ocean from our deck. Staying on the ground floor is a trade off. You can walk straight out but if you stay up higher you get a better view of the ocean. The middle building definitely is better if you want to walk straight out to the pool. Wear shoes because the cobblestone sidewalks hurt your feet. The beach area in front of the resort is perfect. At low tide the beach is very big. We rode bikes on the beach and through the resort areas. My family loved that. Big trees with lots of Spanish Moss makes this a beautiful area. We also rode to the putt-putt courses and to the general store for ice cream.
Not much fishing to be had, much to the dismay of my husband. You couldn't keep your boat at the condo either.
We did see a number of sting rays, HUNDREDS of sand dollars and a few horse shoe crabs. On the last day we saw a box jelly fish.
The condo we stayed in was very nice and just right for a rental. Aside from maintenance noise at 8am (which the rental agency took care of for us) it was a good unit to rent.
There were lots of ants on the walkway from condos across the dunes to the beach and I don't know why. Don't stand still though because even though they look like 'picnic ants', they start biting as soon as you stop moving.
Rent bikes before you go...they bike company will deliver them to your unit and they'll be waiting for you when you get there. Very nice. They picked them up the last day too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground level of the building to the right of the pool (if facing the ocean). We cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a great 2 bed/2bath unit. The shower and tub could have been a little cleaner (scum mildew build up) and the a/c return air vents were almost totally covered with dust, but the rest of the condo was very clean. Very well furnished and totally updated. Great oceanfront view, unobstructed. Beautiful sunrises. Huge wide beach. Very nice pool. Was there in September 2011 and that is a perfect time of year to go if you do not have kids.

Room Tip: When staying at Captain's Walk, make sure your unit has an unobstructed view. Some of the units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My 3 girls friends and I chose Captain's walk Villa in Palmetto Dunes for our home away from home over the Labor Day weekend. We stayed in #467 (rented via ResortQuest) and were pleasantly surprised. The photos on the resortquest website were EXACTLY what we walked in to! great ocean view, nice kitchen, comfortable living space, very nice balcony (where we spent most of our time it seems). The decor was perfectly chosen...it felt like a home and not just temporary housing. We did have a toilet get stopped up but that was resolved in less than 30 mins after calling maintenance. And the maintenance guy also fixed a slow leak in a sink that he noticed while there. if i have to "complain" about something it would be that the master bathtub could use some refinishing to match the rest of the updates. the air didn't seem to blow as forcefully in the 2nd bedroom as it did through out the unit and maintenance told us just to turn the thermostat down until it was comfortable so that was resolved. on the day of our checkout, we received a knock at the door before 8am and someone inquiring about when we were leaving (assumed it was the cleaning folks) and then someone knocked again around 11:45am. We had arranged for a noon checkout so i'm not sure why that wasn't communicated to cleaning staff. the reservation office gave us their sincerely apologies about that disturbance. All in all, this was a great unit, a great property and it was conveniently located to everything.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Overall, we enjoyed our first trip to Hilton Head and stayed in Captains Walk #468. The 3BR/3BA unit was spacious, had a nice view, and since it is an end unit, nice privacy. I will say, though, the unit could use some updating. The kitchen and bathrooms (except for the master bath) were a little rough. The staff at Sea Turtle (property management company) could not have been nicer. Crane really took her time when we checked in to tell us all about the activities on the island and was very responsive throughout the rental process, from initial reservation through check in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here with 2 teens for a family vacation and found it perfect. Great beach views, quiet, well-furnished. Beach access is great: rental chairs and umbrellas available, although our unit had chairs available. Beach is very clean, soft sand, shallow water, enough waves for boogie boards. Villa is spacious, W/D, blow dryer, well stocked kitchen, movies and games(more for younger children) TV in every room. Nice pool area with plenty of lounge chairs, for a change from the salt water. Palmetto Dunes is a great location on HHI, not too far from anything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We rented from Resort Rentals and did not have a good experience. My family and I stayed in 2 units: 440 and 478. 478 had a great view but the villa desperately needed updated. The kitchen and bathrooms in particular were very old. When we got there there 2 bottles of cigarette butts were left on the balcony for us that we had to throw away. The picture they listed for unit 478 on the broker's website showed a beautiful oceanview when in truth, the only view we had was of trees. There was a tiny speck of blue ocean you could see if you tried really hard to find it, but not at all whe we paid for or expected from the pictures. (Resort Rentals has since removed the picture from their website after we told them it was misleading and they got defensive and combative with us). 440 was a very nice unit in terms of decoration and it being updated, but it does not have an oceanview. I would definitely recommend Captains Walk but not renting any villas through Resort Rentals/HHI Vacations. We have gone to HHI for over 30 years and love it but we certainly received poor customer service through this broker.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captains Walk Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Walk Villas

Address: 21 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Also Known As:
Captains Walk Villas Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Walk Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.