We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captains Walk nice but #468 could use a facelift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Walk Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captains Walk Villas
21 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Captains Walk nice but #468 could use a facelift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Overall, we enjoyed our first trip to Hilton Head and stayed in Captains Walk #468. The 3BR/3BA unit was spacious, had a nice view, and since it is an end unit, nice privacy. I will say, though, the unit could use some updating. The kitchen and bathrooms (except for the master bath) were a little rough. The staff at Sea Turtle (property management company) could not have been nicer. Crane really took her time when we checked in to tell us all about the activities on the island and was very responsive throughout the rental process, from initial reservation through check in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here with 2 teens for a family vacation and found it perfect. Great beach views, quiet, well-furnished. Beach access is great: rental chairs and umbrellas available, although our unit had chairs available. Beach is very clean, soft sand, shallow water, enough waves for boogie boards. Villa is spacious, W/D, blow dryer, well stocked kitchen, movies and games(more for younger children) TV in every room. Nice pool area with plenty of lounge chairs, for a change from the salt water. Palmetto Dunes is a great location on HHI, not too far from anything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We rented from Resort Rentals and did not have a good experience. My family and I stayed in 2 units: 440 and 478. 478 had a great view but the villa desperately needed updated. The kitchen and bathrooms in particular were very old. When we got there there 2 bottles of cigarette butts were left on the balcony for us that we had to throw away. The picture they listed for unit 478 on the broker's website showed a beautiful oceanview when in truth, the only view we had was of trees. There was a tiny speck of blue ocean you could see if you tried really hard to find it, but not at all whe we paid for or expected from the pictures. (Resort Rentals has since removed the picture from their website after we told them it was misleading and they got defensive and combative with us). 440 was a very nice unit in terms of decoration and it being updated, but it does not have an oceanview. I would definitely recommend Captains Walk but not renting any villas through Resort Rentals/HHI Vacations. We have gone to HHI for over 30 years and love it but we certainly received poor customer service through this broker.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Captain's Walk is in a perfect location, in a quiet and lush plantation preserve that's covered with biking trails and canals, and in an area where the beaches are wide open. These villas are past a guard hut where access is restricted, so no public beach access, which makes it even quieter and nicer. None of the beaches in Hilton Head are really crowded, but this is still one of the better ones. It's mid-island so has great access to either side - within minutes of most of the restaurants and stores. We rented bikes several days and it was a great location to start from.

The complex is older, and perhaps some units might feel older, but we stayed in a condo that was newly remodeled and decorated and had luxury furnishings, easily as nice as a JW Marriot would. And even though the building is older, it didn't feel old. The pool is nice and spacious and well-kept, the grounds are lush, no complaints (no fitness center, perhaps only complaint).

We found Hilton Head to be perhaps the perfect place in the U.S. for a family vacation and stayed two weeks. The surf is mild, the water is warm, the beaches are perfect for toddlers, and it's 45 minutes to Savannah and two hours to Charleston, some of the neatest cities to explore for history buffs. And Hilton Head is quiet and uncrowded and exploding with greenery - it's a little more pricey than other areas on the SE coast, but well well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was our first trip to Hilton Head Island and we will definitley return. We rented 423 Captain's Walk direct from the owner but collected keys etc from the Vacation company. Oceanfront , 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. Very clean, with a balcony overlooking the beach and pool. Superb location at the heart of palmetto dunes between the Mariott and Hilton.
Inclued in the price was the use of the tennis courts at Palmetto Dunes tennis centre for an hour a day. Very good facility , within walking distance of the condo, although I would recommend hiring bikes as they are so useful for getting aroudn the plantation due to all the bike trails. You can also cycle to Plantation centre and Shelter Cove both of which have restaurants or use the free Palmetto Dunes buggy up to 9pm.

Great shopping at the Tanger outlet mall, including Abercrombie and Fitch and Hollister much to the delight of my teenage children.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Captains Walk in Palmetto Dunes. We stayed in the middle building of the 3 buildings on the second floor. Our 2 bedroom unit was advertised as having a "partial ocean view", but we had a great view of the pool and only slightly obscured view of the beach through some palm trees. We actually liked the trees as they gave us a lot of shade on the balcony. The grounds were beautifully landscaped. There was plenty of parking close to the building. The pool was a good size for the complex and well maintained. The pool area was cleaned and straightened up every morning. Best of all, we were steps away from the beach. Although we didn't use them, there were beach chairs/umbrella rentals very close by. There was also a nice shower/ hose area near the pool to wash all the sand off on our way back from the beach. Our unit itself was roomy, nicely furnished, although not lavish, and well appointed. It was comfortable and clean. I saw no bugs anywhere in the unit or even outside, other than a few ants on the walk towards the beach. We rented through Sunset rentals and had no problems.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberton, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Nice clean villa. Bike rentals from the Yankee Ped allowed us to explore different areas of the island and Palmetto Dunes. Made it easy for our 14 yo son to get to the tennis complex each day. Sun, sea, and a good book = a nice vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captains Walk Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Walk Villas

Address: 21 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Specialty lodging in Hilton Head
Also Known As:
Captains Walk Villas Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Walk Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Captains Walk Villas to your Saves list